We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Newport Beach to your Saves list
Motel 6 Newport Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted a clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay in Costa Mesa for a couple of nights and this place fit the bill exactly!
Rooms are minimalistic but big, beds are comfortable and the bathroom spacious and practical. There is only a simple coat rack to hang some clothes; I would have liked a chest with drawers to put some things away. Now, I kept most of my things in the suitcase on the floor, which was just OK.
We asked for a room at the 3rd floor in the back, so we had no noise from the highway. But indeed the walls are paper thin. Our neighbor came to ask if we could turn the TV down a bit, because they had to get up early in the morning. So, be mindful of your neighbors with noise!

Parking was convenient; because of the subterranean garage, our car was always cool.
There is a laundry room, but the two machines were most of the time occupied and there is no machine for change. The receptionist is not very eager to give you change, so come prepared with quarters if you need to do some laundry.

Location was good, with a supermarket and some small restaurants within walking distance.
And last but not least: at reception there is a coffee machine, where you can get your daily dose!
All in all, this place is good value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back, preferably 3rd floor, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
52
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow, I was SHOCKED at how great this place was. The room was huge (we had enough room for our blow up bed on the floor), I stayed there alone with my two sons and felt safe in this location, in spite of its freeway proximity. It is very close to Huntington Beach, only about 10 minutes, which is why I chose it. Also very conveniently located near any kind of shopping/restaurants you might want. The only problems: Our fridge didn't work (we had a cooler, I just kept filling it with ice from their ice maker, I didn't even tell them about it until the night before we were leaving and, to their credit, they came up right away and tried to fix it), and, bizarrely, when I went to do laundry, they have no quarters on hand! The guy in the office told me to go to the liquor store on the corner to get some... I think not. My kids pooled their change and we scraped together enough to finish one load and went to the bank to get a roll of quarters the next day. We were here for 4 nights (10 minutes from the beach, remember, with free parking and fridge & micro) and total bill was less than $300 (about $280, I believe). Outdoor pool was pleasant, kids enjoyed that the first day but then we were at the beach all the other days so didn't really use it again. Only other drawback was that the walls were really thin, we had a baby next door to us the first night and I thought we'd be treated to four nights of crying, but I think they checked out the next day because the noise didn't bother us after that first night.

Room Tip: We were on the top level in back which probably cut down on noise, also had nice big window overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My first time at a Motel 6. I booked based on good reviews as I looked for a simple place to spend a couple nights. From check-in on, my experience was perfect. I could tell immediately that my room was super clean, plus the grounds and pool were as well. WiFi worked perfectly, so did TV, frig, microwave and the key cards. Not one single problem. Pure pleasure, I was in and out in no time, slept really good, felt completely safe... and was close to everything. The staff is super-friendly. All around highly recommended.
I did know that there will be no coffeemaker or shampoo/conditioner, so I came prepared. In all honesty, I'll take a clean and friendly place as this motel 6 without coffeemaker & shampoo over an unclean one with those things any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

the room wasn't a typical motel 6, it was very modern looking, clean good service. i was very surprised on how clean the rooms were. However we ran into a couple problems. 1. We encountered many extremely slow internet connections during our 3 day stay. 2. Our room key did not work a total of two times and that means we had to walk all the way to the front office (which was quite a ways from our room) 3. the walls are paper thin and can hear people outside. If motel 6 fixes their internet problems and making sure room key works i will come back but i won't be coming back for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First of all, remember this is a Motel 6, so do not judge it or expect it to be something it isn't. No amenities - but good price :) This particular Motel 6 is very clean, very comfortable, newly remodeled. The person (I believe may be the manager) who helped me a couple of times pre-trip and was also there to check us in the afternoon of arrival, was extremely helpful and pleasant on the phone and was very friendly when we checked in. Immediately offered anything we might need in the way of extra towels etc. We did not find any needs and our requests were all met pre-arrival. It is also nice that this Motel 6 has fridge and microwave. The TV screen was good size and the beds were very comfortable. The traveler pics on this site look very true to life. The floor is not carpeted, but a material that looks a bit like hard wood floors. I like this very much because it is easier to expect a very clean floor surface upon arrival, and I traveled with my cat, and it is easy for me to sweep up any tracked litter before I left, so the room is left in good condition. Our trip was a overnight mini-vacation and the property was very convenient to Newport Pier/Beach were we wanted to go, as well as to dining. It is also a very easy exit off of Hwy 55. We decided to check out South Coast Plaza and the property sat equal distance between the Mall and the Beach so this was also a pleasant surprise. All in all, I would recommend this Motel 6 to others desiring a similar visit to the Costa Mesa/Newport area. On additional pleasant surprise was the parking on site was very good and the property looked well maintained.

Room Tip: I was very please with the room that was given to me at random. I would think upstairs rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Newly refurbed motel, about $10 dollar taxi ride into Newport beach area. Had to ask for more pillows. The fixtures and fitting are above standard for motel 6, overall a good base. For a great dinner try the blue water grill in Newport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Within a short driving distance to Newport Beach. Very clean room with fridge and microwave. Great value for money. Free wifi and parking. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if staying for a few nights in the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.