We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great price! This was a super short hotel stay for me - arrived in the middle of the night and left around 11am. The bed was super comfortable. The room was neat and tidy. The shower was average - was one of those tiny shower heads which shoots into your body not above your head.

Free WIFI and space to park. So close to the airport which was the reason for our stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    49
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
44
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Didn't really know to expect when I booked this motel when I arrived I pleasantly surprised. Checking in went smoothly and we were upgraded to one of their newer 'European' style rooms which was clean and well maintained.

The front desk manager Moe was very friendly and called in to check on us after we settled in to make sure that the room was up to far and that we didn't need anything else.

I had booked 4 days, but I had to cut my trip short and leave early. Moe was extremely helpful and told me that he would refund me the unused days and within a couple of mins everything was taken care of.

Great service from my personal experience, clean rooms, and close to 405 so you have easy access to the freeways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was slightly nervous when we booked this room because i have had bad experiances with Motel 6 before. We were traveling with 2 dogs, and this wasn't too far from the beach and the price was great. We stayed 3 nights. When we checked in they weren't really friendly at all. Which was disappointing. Our room was on the first floor next to the pool; the pool was small but clean and well kept. Our room was just redone and it was lovely. Very modern rooms, fresh paint and new beds. Loved to room, the floors were wood lamniate which was nice with the dogs. The room as a whole was clean and neat. The room was big which was nice as we had a place to put the dog beds. My only complaint was that they would only give us 2 towels at a time and 1 wash cloth. When we walked down the hall, you could go down a few steps or use the elevator the get down to the little grass area they have for your pets. It was huge but it 100% did the job. I have an older dog so i used the elevator, as it was easier on her. I was glad that they had that. They lady who checked us out was much nicer then the guy at check in. I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: We stayed down stairs next to the pool, but only one person used it during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The newly renovated rooms are not what I expected from a Motel 6. We got a great rate (under $60) and were pleasantly surprised with the modern room decor. It was a little strange not having carpet (pergo floors), but we got used to it. You can't beat the price and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Clean, big rooms. Budget-friendly. Helpful staff at the reception. Bad location, next to the freeway (noisy) and far away from everything, okay for 1- 2 nights. Extremely slow wifi, annoying when you're on vacation and want to check sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed two nights across a weekend, in two separate rooms, and we were very pleasantly surprised! The rooms were better than we expected for the cost, and having WiFi, pool, and access to a laundry room thrown in was also nice. We got there right at check-in time, so our room wasn't ready, but a cleaning lady was quick to clean it up very well. Staff was helpful and cheerful, and for a 'roadside motel' kind of place, it was very nice. Definitely worth the low price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for two nights and were disappointed. Our reservations were waiting and check-in was no problem. However the first thing that greeted us in our room was no carpet on the floor. The place was reasonably clean, but bare bones. The big problem was a HORRIBLE smell from the bathroom. It permeated the room and we had to close the bathroom door to escape it. Really BAD. It looked clean, but must have been plumbing like a bad seal between the toilet and the floor. We complained and should have changed rooms, but it was late and we didn't. We also had trouble with our room keys not working the second night. I have to say the linens were clean and the beds were comfortable, but should have gone to the Ali Baba motel next door.

Room Tip: Look at the room and smell it before you commit, and rooms near the road have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.