We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have picked a better motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Newport Beach to your Saves list
Motel 6 Newport Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Should have picked a better motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for two nights and were disappointed. Our reservations were waiting and check-in was no problem. However the first thing that greeted us in our room was no carpet on the floor. The place was reasonably clean, but bare bones. The big problem was a HORRIBLE smell from the bathroom. It permeated the room and we had to close the bathroom door to escape it. Really BAD. It looked clean, but must have been plumbing like a bad seal between the toilet and the floor. We complained and should have changed rooms, but it was late and we didn't. We also had trouble with our room keys not working the second night. I have to say the linens were clean and the beds were comfortable, but should have gone to the Ali Baba motel next door.

Room Tip: Look at the room and smell it before you commit, and rooms near the road have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    54
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
52
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Motel 6 was sufficent, basic, but very dirty outside... Dog feces all over the parking lot planters. clear as it could be... I ignored it but it was gross... The outside was neat, painted but dirty... It needed a power washing. My children hated the place and requested to go back to a "better" place..The inside was clean but not decorated homely. The beds were basic and hard.. but what do you want for a Motel 6. I told my son..okay we will go elsewhere tommorrow night...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This motel is easy to locate, right on Newport Blvd. However, it actually is in Costa Mesa, not Newport. Close to restaurants, with a good little place right next door. We had a large, clean room. It is bare bones, no shampoo, coffee maker, breakfast, etc. However, the room had a microwave and fridge. I stopped staying at Motel 6s years ago, but due to good ratings, tried this one. Not disappointed. We went back and stayed again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is the best motel 6 that I have seen! Very clean. It is in a quiet neighborhood. It is near the airport. It is very updated. Nice tv and bathroom. Linens were very nice.
Front desk guy was patient when I had a problem with the key.
The bad:
Internet didn't work. Nothing is very close.
If the Internet worked I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We drove up from Carlsbad for a Friday night family get together and rather than driving back that night we decided to stay close to Balboa/Newport/Lido Isle to take a walk down memory lane when we were kids vacationing on Balboa. This Motel 6 is one of the refurbed in the way of European efficiency units at Paris CDG. They have done a good job and the rooms are above average in size. We found a French bistro just down the road in Newport and had brunch on the water overlooking Lido Isle back of Villa Nova on Sunday morning. Pool, Jacuzzi, flat panel tv and wifi..walking distance to the Orange County Fairgrounds too.

Room Tip: They have an elevator so any floor is good. We were on the level above the pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I found a great deal here via Orbitz. When I arrived, the very polished manager, MAC, offered me a free room upgrade as well. YAY! The newly remodeled hotel is very Euro-deco--loved the lines and colors-- and my room 341 was spacious...I could even do yoga. Everything was spotless.
I had both a fridge and microwave.

Then there were laundry facilities, underground parking (shade) and a pool with hot tub.
Generally quiet at night, too. Strategic location for my class in Corona del Mar.
Thanks, Mr. Mgr. MAC, for being so gracious. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get up top and into a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The manager and staff have been very gracious and friendly. After a long trip on the road from Wilmington North Carolina it's nice to be treated so nice. We will defenetly recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.