We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayres Hotel and Suite-A Very Nice Hotel in Costa Mesa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off 2 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ayres Hotel and Suite-A Very Nice Hotel in Costa Mesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

On a recent trip to Newport Beach, we decided to save some money by staying in nearby Costa Mesa. There are good reasons why this hotel is the #1choice in Costa Mesa on Trip Advisor. Our room was large, pleasant and well-appointed, with a separate counter with sink and small fridge. Our room even had a small gas fireplace. Prices are reasonable, and a full breakfast buffet is included. Rooms are grouped around two open spaces, one with the pool and hot tub, and the other the open plaza of the Courtyard Restaurant. Those around the pool can be a bit noisy. In addition, the hotel is on the flight path to the nearby John Wayne Airport. These minor points aside, this is a very nice convenient hotel, only a short drive from Newport Beach.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Martin R,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. It is truly pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind compliments in regards to the cleanliness of our hotel, services and amenities. We apologize for any noise inconveniences that may have occurred due to our close proximity to the airport and hope that this did not cause too much of a disturbance to your stay. In the future, we would like to kindly encourage you to please request a room located in a quieter part of the hotel. We try our very best to accommodate our valued guests' special requests. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    256
    72
    25
    16
See reviews for
276
165
53
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west hills, ca
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This weekend 8/16/,8/17. The pool area had over 100 people down there drinking and partying with coolers full of glass beer bottles and lots of kids(2 soccer teams). It was unsafe. They refused to all leave when security asked them to. We begged for towels for over 14 hours. They never came.Parking is free because you can't find a parking spot. We had to walk to a nearby shopping center about 3 blocks away. The front desk did try to listen and kept apologizing.It was like a college frat house. It wasn't good for families.

Room Tip: Not around the pool !!!
See more room tips
Green Features: housekeeping staff would check to see if anyone needed towels. We begged for towels for 14 hours and finally got them. More training is needed here. Other than that I did notice there are no screens on any windows. Is that dangerous?
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear francesca g,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important as it helps better service our guests, both present and future.
In regards to your recent stay, we are truly devastated to hear that you and your family found your stay to be anything less than remarkable. We pride ourselves on providing only the most comfortable and relaxing experience for our guests and I apologize that this was not the case during your stay. In regards to the pool area, we apologize for any disruption this you caused as well as for the lack of prompt service addressing this issue .Thank you for bringing this isolated incident to my attention and for your kind understanding. That being said, we would like to kindly encourage you to return to our hotel, perhaps at a time when it is more suitable for your family so you can truly experience our exceptional service to the fullest. Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a quaint, homey and lovely hotel. They were very nice upon arrival. The rooms are a nice size but there is only one sink in the bathroom which is annoying but its ok for a short stay. The rooms is clean, and there is a coffee maker which I love . They also have warm delicious cookies in the lobby in the early evening. The complimentary buffet breakfast was a great surprise. And not just Danish and coffee. I mean a full American breakfast with yummy eggs, sausage, bacon, toast,oatmeal, cereals, fruit, etc.They even supplied cups to go,if you want to take a cup of coffee to your room. I was impressed. I found there to be a lot of kids and families however but I think it was just because of summer so it was noisy at breakfast. On the plus side, they even gave us a complimentary ride in their van to the Performing Arts Center. I will stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid summer travel here on weekends. Lots of kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Thebestofeverything,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share about your recent experience at our hotel. In regards to your recent stay, we are pleased to hear you took advantage of some of our great amenities such as our complimentary full American breakfast as well as our freshly baked bookies. Thank you again for your generous recommendation and we will be patiently waiting for your return!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We very much enjoyed the Hotel. From our arrival, we were assisted by a polite, courteous professional who treated us as guest and welcomed us. The hotel was beautifully decorated and clean. We felt like we were in a luxury and very warm setting. We were very comfortable staying and enjoying the fire place, entrance area, restaurant, pool and spa area and our room overlooking the court yard area. We were amazed in the quality and prize of our stay. We will diffidently be coming back. We also enjoyed the fine dinning and recreation and amusement venues near by.

Room Tip: Overlooking the court yard area
See more room tips
Green Features: Gardening, quietness and cleanses. Energy saving lighting and conveniences in our room.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights to attend a wedding in Newport Beach. The shuttle arrived at the airport within 10 minutes. For those who are not familiar with John Wayne airport, the shuttle waiting area is outside the airport between columns 5 and 6. The shuttle drivers were courteous. I also took the 12pm shuttle back to the airport. The reception staff was welcoming. I arrived after 3pm and appreciated the cold drinking water in the lobby. There were cookies around 6pm on Sunday. Also The room was clean with a king bed and a large LG flat screen TV. There were a desk and leather chair, a drawer chest, a leather love seat, full length mirror, a coffee maker with coffee bags, a sink outside the bathroom and a small fridge. Towels were thick and clean. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Housekeeping staff was nice and courteous. The hotel got a swimming pool and a restaurant with a spacious and beautiful courtyard. Hotel is 40 minute walk to South Coast plaza. Breakfast was complementary with scrambled eggs, French toast or pancakes, potato, salsa, bacon or ham, fruits, plain yogurt, cereals, milk and juice. Restaurant looked clean with staff constantly cleaning or replenishing breakfast food. It also serves lunch and dinner with an extensive menu. Have recommended the hotel to family and they were pleased with their stay as well.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in the hotel part of this hotel and suites. The room had two comfortable queen beds, a large closet with lots of hangers (a rarity in most hotels), a small refrigerator and places for two to do their hair and makeup. Our section is built around two coutyards... One has tables, a fountain and flowers which is perfect for breakfast (complimentary). The other has a pool, jacuzzi and cabanas. This hotel is right on the edge of the John Wayne Airport so there is airplane noise but it does not start until 7 a.m. on Saturday and 8 am on Sunday. This is a very convenient place to stay for the Laguna Beach Pageant of the Masters you can avoid the Canyon and drive down the coast. Free Wi Fi is included.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family and I stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room was perfect for us as we could let our daughter sleep and still be able to relax in the living room. Everything was clean and well kept even for what looked to be an older hotel. The hotel staff was always friendly and willing to help. This is right next to John Wayne airport so you do hear jets flying by all day long but really isn't noticeable while in the room. The beach area is ~15 minutes away as long as you take back roads. If you take the highway it will consistently take much longer due to traffic.

Besides breakfast, we didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on their food. Breakfast was ok, would have liked a little more variety but it was decent and included so not much to complain about there.

Overall, this hotel was affordable and central to many of Newport's attractions and worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.