We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Reasons to Stay!
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, rooms always clean. there are many parking lots available.
Free internet and breakfast. Great locations, many restaurants and places to eat in this area.
Proximity to Irvine and major shopping centers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    198
    50
    19
    13
See reviews for
220
136
45
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Ayres Costa Mesa over the 4th of July weekend. We were very impressed! What a beautiful place and for such a reasonable price. The ambiance has a European flare with beautiful paintings on the wall and chandeliers on the ceilings. The hot breakfast was one of the best I 've ever had at a hotel that was included in the price of the stay. They used traditional plates, glasses, and napkins - no paper products, which added a nice touch. The bacon was very crisp, which I like. They also had scrambled eggs, potatoes, french toast or pancakes, oatmeal, fresh salsa, cut-up fruit, cold cereal, muffins, bread, pastries, OJ, cranberry juice, apple juice, hot chocolate, and milk. Please make sure and bring some dollars, as tips are appreciated for the breakfast crew. The courtyard was a nice place to eat breakfast and very inviting with the running fountain. The pool area is really nice as well. Our king room had a gorgeous, heavy, dark wood headboard with upscale bedding. The bed and 4 pillows were very comfortable. We both loved it and slept like babies. The carpet was nice and we also had a nice leather sofa in there as well. We really liked that there were two sinks - one in the bathroomand and one just outside the bathroom, which both had nice granite counter tops. It was really conveniet while we were both trying to get ready in the morning. Our room had a small fridge in it as well. The hotel was in a very conveniet location for the beaches - it is mid-point to Newport, Huntington, and Laguna and very accessable to the freeways. It is also only 6 minutes from the John Wayne Airport, so if you're flying to there, this is the place to stay. The staff was very nice and helpful and our room was always made up and very clean each day! I can't say enough good things about this place. We loved it and will definitely be back! Small minor annoyances (hardly worth mentioning) were the one-way street in front of the hotel, the air traffic noise from the airport (only in the day - and only once in awhile), and the room air conditioner, which was a little noisy, though no different than other free-standing ones in other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the courtyard have a nice view. Ask to stay in the main hotel rather than the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

From check-in to check-out, we had a great first time experience. Recently updated, quiet, great restaurant. Great value. The location is terrific. It's close to the airport, but also near Knott's Berry Farm, Disneyland and a short drive to Legoland. It is ten minutes from the great beach areas. Every staff member was helpful, knowledgeable and courteous.

Room Tip: Stay in the courtyard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We travel to Europe quite often and so when we walked into the lobby of the Ayers Hotel and Suites in Costa Mesa, I was amazed! I don't think I've been to very many (if any) hotels in the US that have truly captured the essence of Europe quite as well. The antiques and accessories in the lobbies, halls and our suite were authentic and well chosen and what a treat to listen to classical music while having a lovely hot breakfast. It was so much like a morning in a hotel in Europe that we vowed to stay at an Ayers Hotel whenever we can! If you need a Euro-fix but can't get-away for more than a few days (and want to be about 15 minutes from the beach), we HIGHLY recommend a stay at Ayers Hotel and Suites in Costa Mesa!

Room Tip: The hotel is near John Wayne Airport in Irvine which is a plus for travelers but may not be as quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The overall experience was great due to the comfort and cozy feel of the rooms. The service was fantastic. The pool atmosphere - for me- would have been better without the kids. So, if you want peace and quiet, perhaps not the hotel for you in the summer. If you're looking for kid friendly and a more high energy environment, the pool area was great for that.
You will hear the planes from the nearby airport, but there is a curfew at John Wayne for air traffic after 10pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stay at this hotel all the time...4 - 6 times a year or more. But this stay we decided to use the pool that is outside of building #2. There were no towels at the pool...we had to go ask twice for towels and the furniture at the pool is so uncomfortable...wrought iron table and chairs and cheap plastic lounges the we're so uncomfortable you almost couldn't use them. I know this isn't a resort hotel but they could make the pool area A little more resort like and inviting. Hotel is still a good deal considering the location...down the street from Newport Beach zip code.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Pamela -

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and for your continued patronage. I am terribly sorry to hear that your pool experience was so disappointing. We definitely understand that comfort and service with this particular amenity is a must and will look into what we can do to remedy any issues with furniture. I also encourage all of our guests to visit the pool in the building next door as it has been recently remodeled and has a beautiful cabana area and lush greenery. I am pleased that this experience has not soured you on our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Super friendly staff, great breakfast (plus free wifi and parking included in the daily rate). Very clean and nicely decorated, and an easy drive to the beach. My one and only suggestion is to include conditioner along with the shampoo. Many hotels are going to the one bottle of conditioning shampoo, but that doesn't work for us long haired gals:)! We plan on staying here next year because it was such a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Pam -

It was a pleasure welcoming you recently. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for allowing us to welcome you. We are very pleased you found value in your stay and your accommodations comfortable. Your conditioning shampoo comment is quite timely as currently we are in the process of reviewing various separate shampoos and conditioners as a possible option for amenities. Perhaps when you next visit they will be on the counter. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You’ll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Milestone Internet Marketing, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.