We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off 2 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tx
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a 1 br suite and it was really nice having the two rooms with two tv's and frig. The breakfasts were wonderful and it was nice sitting out on the patio with a glass of wine.
I would stay here again If I was in the area. Location was good also. I didn't hear any street noise at all on 3rd floor in the main building.

The only issue I had was no makeup mirror. The mirror was so far from the sink and the lighting was so dim that it was hard putting makeup on. That would be an added plus I think.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Brannie -

Thank you so much for allowing us to welcome you and for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our one bedroom suite and the overall ambiance of the hotel. While we do not offer makeup mirrors, I will be sure to pass this idea along to our Quality Assurance department for review. We appreciate the suggestion. We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    237
    67
    24
    14
See reviews for
262
159
52
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was so looking forward to getting to a clean room. So tired could not wait to got to bed. Open the door to the room and the smell was so bad. I thought I was going to have an asthma attack. We walk to the bed and the smell was so bad, we had to leave the room. share our story to the front desk, did not care. So we went to the westen, and had a great time.

Room Tip: choose anther hotel. rooms smell, parking is bad, could not find my room, i
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear ddcornwell -

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. I am so sorry that your experience with us was anything less than exceptional. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the odor issues. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously and are always more than happy to move a guest to a more acceptable room should an incident like this occur and need addressing. I am very sorry that your needs were not met by the Front Desk team and have already discussed this with them as well as with the Housekeeping team to ensure against it in the future. We hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We actually stayed at another Ayres Hotel for most of our visit and decided to stay at the Costa Mesa hotel the night before we were leaving from the John Wayne airport because it was so close. We had a standard room for the night instead of a suite. The room was very suitable. Next time we will turn our rental car in early and take the shuttle that is offered at the hotel.
We were served by a delightful mixologist in the lounge and met a gentleman whose son's family lives in our hometown.
The entire facility is carefully maintained. Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear SwedeChrys -

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. It was an honor to have you as our guest recently even if only for a brief stay. To be described as "amazing" is just fantastic and it is wonderful to hear that you found each part of the hotel welcoming and even made a friend along the way. Your recommendation is most appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had a great experience staying at the Ayres Hotel and Suites in Costa Mesa with my son's baseball team. The hotel itself is just charming with a cute outdoor patio area for eating or working on a laptop. The free breakfast is perfect in terms of variety. The staff is excellent..everyone that I came across was extremely nice and helpful. It is within walking distance to many different restaurants to please everyone. It is close to the beach, the big fancy mall, Disneyland, etc. I would definitely come back and stay here again should the opportunity come up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Stacey -

Thank you so much for allowing us the chance to welcome you and your son during his recent tournament. I am thrilled to hear that the accommodations and service exceeded your expectations and, especially, that you loved our comfortable European-inspired courtyard. Many guests love this feature as it is a place to relax and recoup after a long day. We are very grateful for your review and hope you will visit again very soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was looking for a Hotel in the Costa Mesa area. was hoping to find one reasonably priced close to the ocean. Using Tripadvisor I couldnt find a decent one at a good price near the beach. I Settled on this Hotel due to the good ratings yet still within minutes of the ocean and close to the Airport. I Was shockingly . surprised when i arrived . It had the look and feel of a much more expensive hotel. the lobby was quite upscale and the staff very freindly and professional. The room was extremely nice for the price range and had alot of upgrades such as a jetted tub. although out room had a view of the Freeway the sound proofing was phenominal. The breakfast that was offered was above average. Not just your plain old self serve you normally get. If there is anything about the Ayers Costa Mesa I would mark down would be the pool area. Its too close to and in view of the Parking lot. other tha that I would highly recommend the Ayers Costa Mesa

Room Tip: the suites are just a few dollars more than the basic rooms , well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Todd -

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel and for taking a chance on us. We love hearing that we have surprised a guest with how comfortable a stay with us can be, so thank you for sharing your delight. It is always wonderful to hear that the guestrooms and various amenities exceeded a guest's expectations. We appreciate your enthusiastic recommendation and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I just came back from staying at the Ayres Hotel and Suites in Costa Mesa for 2 nights. We stayed in a junior suite that was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. This hotel is beautiful inside and out. It is located very close to the John Wayne International Airport (an easy six minutes drive) and convenient to the beaches. The hotel is like an oasis in the middle of a relatively busy area. It is located adjacent to a shopping area, a Shell Gas station, a 7-Eleven and a McDonald's. The amazing thing is that you feel like you are in a hotel somewhere in the Mediterranean. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The decor is traditional European and there are beautiful oil paintings and chandeliers everywhere. We really enjoded the decor, the calmness, the peacefullness, and the classical music in the lobby. The staff was courteous and helpful. They offer free shuttle service to the airport and to nearby areas. We arrived before the official check in time of 3 PM and they requested to expedite the cleaning of the room so that we could get in earlier. Breakfast was a lot better than we expected given the hotel's description as full American breakfast. We expected a self-service buffett but they actually cook and serve breakfast. There were two gentlemen working the breakfast counter. They do expect a tip and, although it is well deserved, a lot of people are not prepared to tip when they arrive for breakfast (specially us women who normally don't carry a wallet). We enjoyed the hotel so much that we took a lot of pictures of the hotel (inside and out) and were dissapointed we had to leave. One negative is that there is no safe in the room. They have them at the main lobby but they are very small and not very convenient. This would be an easy improvement for this wonderful property.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the main entrance and we did not have any problems with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Luzmarina -

Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you for two nights recently and for your very kind and thorough review. The Ayres family takes great pride in each hotel and is involved in everything from the decor to the day to day operations of the hotel, so it means a great deal to all of us that you found every aspect of the hotel so welcoming and comfortable. As to your comments regarding in room safes, we will take this under advisement for when we next revisit the guestroom amenities. Thank you again and please consider us the next time you are in the area.

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel second time when I visited Orange County again for a training. I must say that everything was again very nice including its helpful and polite staff from housekeeping to hotel managers. The location is very convenient, near John Wayne Airport, South Coast Plaza mall, 3 beautiful beaches within 4 miles of the hotel. Lots of good restaurants, with reasonable and affordable price. Room was super clean. Free breakfast buffet, free wifi and wires Internet and free shuttle service.
I would definelty recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Saadi_S -

Thank you so much for allowing us the chance to welcome you a second time. We love when our guests return and give us the opportunity to show them how consistent a stay with us can be. I am also pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient to so many local Orange County attractions. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back a third time!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.