We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gym Meet Host Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Ayres Rewards Today!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bremerton, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gym Meet Host Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The room was clean but very neutral in color. As my daughter put it she liked the hot tub but thought the hotel was scary because it reminded her of the hotels you usually see in the horror movies. Especially the old style elevator. I am glad I did not have to pay full price for the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Poplar Grove, IL
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here due to the reviews. It IS good. The price is very fair. From the cookies at check in to the breakfast buffet in the morning, the food was excellent. The hotel lounge is nice but not so good a place to watch an NFL playoff game (too laid back). My room was in the "Suites" building. The room was wonderful but if you are elderly and have some difficulty getting into a tub you should ask for a shower or look for a different property because the tub in my room was a gigantic spa with very high sides. The exercise room is just off the lobby in that building. It is small and kind of basic. The wifi Internet connection was fast and reliable throughout the property..

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were in Orange County for a gymnastics meet across the highway from this hotel. The location was convenient. Everything was clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, the food was great. Kids had fun in the pool and we were close enough that we could go to Disneyland for the day and not feel like we were making a trek to get there. We will definitely stay here again when our travels bring us back to Orange County!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. When we arrived, we were told we had a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. The room was very clean, the wifi worked perfectly, There was a small balcony outside our room with privacy screening. The complimentary breakfast was delicious as well. the lobby had a fire going and comfortable seating which was nice as our daughter wanted to sleep in. We enjoyed our stay very much and will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelliott60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family from the East Coast came for a special occasion, and I booked them rooms in Ayers Hotel for a long weekend. They were all very pleased with their rooms and the service. The staff went out of their way to accomodate us by allowing us to gather in one of the lounges, while we waited for other guests to arrive. They enjoyed the beautiful compimentary breakfast, the free shuttle, and the quiet atmosphere.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you'd like, and they will do their best to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter works in Orange County but lives a few hours away so I normally have been staying at a hotel when I visit her. I have stayed at most of large chains and found them very nice and large but none that really stood out...unless it was a view from one of the windows. This past visit I stayed at the Ayres Hotel because of the location near the airport and the wonderful offer of no charge for parking, shuttle to and from the airport, and a full breakfast. I was not expecting to find a beautiful, comfortable, hotel with each staff member being pleasant, friendly, and helpful. From the desk clerk, to the bartender, gift shop sales clerk, the hostess greeting us before breakfast and someone who turned on the fireplace in the large lobby area in another part of the hotel just to show my daughter and me that part of hotel.. The small court yard and swimming pool spa area looked very inviting even though it was 9 p.m.! I also enjoyed looking at the historic pictures of the Ayres family and what Southern California looked like 40 years ago. Went well with the dark wood decor. And they also provide hot cookies from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm...Unfortunately, we missed that event but we won't on our next stay! Even though the hotel was not over looking the ocean, it was close to some of the major shopping centers, as well as, other site seeing sights. The best hotel experience that I have had and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Close to the elevator, pool or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Julie S -

What a humbling review! Thank you so much for your very kind words and for taking a chance on us. We absolutely revel in the opportunity to exceed a guest's expectations with our service and accommodations. To be called a guest's best hotel experience ever is absolutely amazing and we are so thrilled you had such a pleasant stay. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I Travel often and see a varity of Hotel-Motels. My Stay at the Ayres was perfect. From the staff that greeted us at the front desk, to the room, its cleanliness and the amenities that were offered
I would galdly stay at this hotel without reservation.. By the way, they have a very excellent restaurant the staff there was also excellent the selections were good and the cost reasonable... I had a wonderful Visit... Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.8 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
1.7 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing