We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Costa Mesa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Reasons to Stay!
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Costa Mesa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa on several occasions and the hotel accommodations, cleanliness, housekeeping personnel, front desk staff, and management are top notch. As a retired Hotel General Manager I tend to be a little more critical when staying in hotels and this one is at the very top of my list. We love staying in this hotel. It is convienent to most everything one would need in Costa Mesa, Irvine and Newport Beach. Can not recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    495
    197
    51
    19
    13
See reviews for
221
136
45
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We love this hotel! My wife and I spend considerable time in southern California and the Ayres Costa Mesa is one of our favorite stops... Always welcoming, no hidden costs and the best breakfast (and service crew) anywhere!

Room Tip: Standard room is spacious and funtional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved staying at this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The beds are perfect with a mountain of soft pillows to sink into. The breakfast buffet was much more than we expected and delicious too. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Always comfortable, customer oriented, and wanting to make everything a great experience! Restaurant offers hot breakfast. Easy to get around from this hotel.
Staff were very helpful, providing information about local travel, and accommodating our request to be on the ground level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Ayres Costa Mesa many times about 10 years ago and considered it our favorite "Get Away." At that time, we would have rated this hotel equivalent to any 5-star hotel anywhere. The "raised" Queen Anne style beds were so inviting when you opened the door to the room (they matched the decor of the hotel), they gave free drink and appetizer coupons at check-in; and there were fresh, gorgeous apples everywhere you could think of to take at any time of the day. Now, the beds have been changed to those that you would find anywhere in any hotel (boring); not more free coupons; and the apples have been changed out for cookies at the check in during the day.
The staff was pleasant and helpful (gave really good restaurant recommendations). The room, however, had an unpleasant - not fresh - smell to it and once we got into the bed between the sheets, we immediately began itching. We eventually pulled the top sheet up and slept on top of it which helped a bit but the scratching had already created several sore areas on our bodies. It was very late by the time we went to bed and had to get up very early so we chose to stay in the room for the night despite the itching. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone without a thorough check of the room (bed) and do not plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Diane -

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. While I am pleased you found the service welcoming, I do apologize for any guestroom issues. We are adamant in our desire to provide guest with comfortable and clean rooms, so what you describe is unacceptable. I have already taken appropriate steps with the Housekeeping Team so insure against this in the future. And while we no longer offer a Manager's Reception with drinks and appetizers, we do offer a substantial complimentary breakfast that most guests find very appetizing. We would be very sorry to lose your patronage and hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Ayres while in town for our daughters rowing regatta. The staff was excellent from the first phone call to make the reservations all the way up to checking out. The hotel was lovely, clean, comfortable, easy to find, and more than we could hope for. We will stay here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Frissy -

Thank you so much for your positive review. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and are thankful for your kind words. We love exceeding guest expectations and are thrilled to have provided you with such exceptional accommodations. You should definitely visit our on-site restaurant, Le Chateau, during your next visit!

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our second stay with our kid's rowing team. This hotel is wonderful, beautiful and so comfortable. Love staying here, just wish we had more time to luxurate in it. On this trip the only unfortunate thing was my room was not ready when I got there at 3:10 pm. I wanted to get checked in before the team got there and ended up waiting for 30 minutes for the room to be finished being cleaned. I was unhappy about that, but the room was very clean once I got in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Darcanfot -

It was such a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. How wonderful to know that you found your stay so exceptional. I do apologize that your room was not immediately available to you at our normal check-in time. There are sometimes delays due to late check-outs and higher occupancy. I am pleased this did not sour you on our hotel and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You’ll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Milestone Internet Marketing, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.