We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ayres Hotel at Costa Mesa-Newport Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off 2 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ayres Hotel at Costa Mesa-Newport Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Ayres at Costa Mesa is a very welcoming Boutique Hotel. with a family welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very cordial and helpful. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms look like they have been recently updated, The restaurant food was good and the service was very good. You get to know the familiar faces of the servers and they also get to know you. They provide Shuttle service to several local places, making your stay that much more comfortable. I recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area. It is close to many places of interest as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Adriana730 -

Thank you so much for your very thorough review of our hotel. It means a great deal to us that you found your hotel visit so comfortable. I am pleased you had the opportunity to experience every aspect of our hotel, from the warm service to the delicious cuisine at Le Chateau Restaurant. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    256
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
276
165
53
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very beautiful hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights and this hotel is simply immaculate. Very clean, serene environment. The staff is professional, kind and helpful. 5 star service and accomodations for a very reasonable price. Will stay here again and again when I visit SoCal. Thank you Ayres for a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view.. stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Ocean610 -

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel. We are always thrilled to have provided a guest with the ultimate in service and comfort, so I am pleased we were able to make your stay so exceptional. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and do hope to be your choice of hotel when visiting Southern California in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I chose this property because it was the best value and offered free parking compared to other surrounding hotels that aren't Motel 6. Location is a decent driving distance to Newport Beach and South Coast plaza.. And expect to be doing a lot of that, driving! Exiting this property only allows one way direction.. If you see something you like that is West, you'll have to find your way around the freeway to get there.. Stayed the weekend and it was near empty.. Definitely a weekday working (wo)man's hotel, and the fact that the weekday rate is higher confirms this.. The staff was very friendly, the room looked great!.. Leather sofa in a basic room was a nice touch..

My reason for rating just Average is because the few things that were an issue REALLY bother me: the A/C here sucks!!!! It didn't matter if it was set to 70 or 60 degrees, the room did not cool! I called the front desk multiple times and they apologzied and said maintenance would come up but no one ever came.. It got so bad I had to keep the window open the entire stay, luckily there was a cool breeze.. But now this place is right next to the airport so now with the window open I got to hear every airplane taking off--total buzz kill for a pleasant and relaxing stay here.. The other thing is the shower has no water pressure.. :-/

I think next time I'm better off forking out a few extra bucks and staying at some place with better accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear GzyOnline -

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize if your stay was anything less than remarkable. While I am pleased you enjoyed the rooms and service, I am sorry if the issue with the air conditioner was not resolved promptly and efficiently and that it impeded the quality of your stay. We make every effort to ensure that guest requests for maintenance issues are addressed immediately so our guests can experience the most comfortable possible hotel visit. Again, I am sorry this was not handled to your satisfaction and have already shared your comments with the Maintenance Team so guests will not be made to deal with faulty air conditioners in the future. Thank you again for your review and I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed in a Jr. Suite. The room was very nice and the staff was great as well. I loved this hotel. The exercise room could be nicer and the pool leaves a lot to be desired but the rooms are great. I also enjoyed the restaurant. The service and food were excellent. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Sidney -

Thank you for your kind review and for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you as our guest. We love being able to provide our guests the very best in accommodations and service, so it is wonderful to know we were able to do so for you. I am also pleased you found the award winning Le Chateau cuisine so tasty! Your recommendation is much appreciated and we hope you will choose us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We tried to like this hotel during our most recent 7 day stay. My husband and I stayed at this hotel years ago and just loved it. I have to say though that we were disappointed during this trip. The hotel has become dated during these four years- the carpet needs cleaning, and there's just an old smell in the hotel hallways and elevator (which lingered in our clothes in our suitcases). Although they've kindly upgraded us to a suite after we alerted them of the fruit fly problem in our room- I'm afraid the room as just as dusty as the last. Sorry- we really tried to like the hotel for old times sake...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Kkw_123 -

Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. I am truly sorry that your experience with us was anything less than exceptional. We know cleanliness is key to a guest enjoying his or her stay with us and have very high standards for care and maintenance of the various areas of the hotel, so I apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused by what you describe. Please know that your comments have already been shared with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Teams to ensure each of the issues discussed is addressed immediately. We appreciate you visiting us for a second time and hope you will grant us another chance to provide you with a remarkable hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Flat, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent place to stay, great restaurant, very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were having a wedding on Newport Harbor and compared the hotels in the area. Although the Ayres was further away from our venue, it was a much nicer hotel and was less expensive.
We were able to get a complementary room block at a reduced rate. As it got closer to our wedding day, the internet price of the rooms had fallen to the reduced rate which we were previous quoted. The hotel adjusted all of our reservations to a rate which was now below the current internet rate without us having to ask for the adjustment.
The hotel is clean and well maintained. The common areas are elegant, which we used as we were a large group with out of town guests. The hotel provided a free shuttle from John Wayne airport which came in handy for the out of towners. The hotel also provides a complimentary breakfast. The breakfast is plentiful and varied. There is something for everyone in the buffet.
The bed was large and comfortable and provided for a good night sleep. The hotel staff was very accommodating and facilitated early check ins where the rooms were ready. As an additional touch, they left a fruit and cheese platter for the bride and groom.
I am extremely satisfied with my stay at the Ayers and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Blackcuda1 -

Congratulations on your new union! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of this very special day. We know that weddings can be stressful events, so it is very important for the hotel experience to be a comfortable and seamless one for all parties involved. I am very pleased that we were able to meet and exceed this goal in your case. We appreciate your very enthusiastic recommendation and send our best wishes to the bride and groom.

Safe travels,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You'll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.