We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Elegant Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Reasons to Stay!
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming, Elegant Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were so surprised and impressed with this property. It's in Costa Mesa, but very, very close to Newport Beach (which was our venue, so extremely convenient). The hotel is big enough to have everything you need, but small enough to be highly personal. The breakfast is in the restaurant and the best I think I have had for an included breakfast; just really nice. We were super impressed with the hotel, its amenities, the staff and the location. we would definitely recommend -- especially if one is looking for a boutique hotel -- and we would unquestionably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    202
    53
    19
    14
See reviews for
226
141
47
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Perfect location for shopping, beach, or theme parks. Friendly staff, very attentive to our needs. Room was spotless, bed so comfortable! Loved having the complimentary breakfast outside in the beautiful courtyard each morning. So much is included in the nightly room rate--no charge for parking, breakfast, and even complimentary cookies in the lobby each evening! We loved coming back from our day at the beach and being able to have a delicious dinner at Le Chateau (they don't mind beachwear attire at all!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

From the moment I was picked up from John Wayne airport to my departure I was given great services. The Shuttle arrived at the time that it was promised. I was greeted as I walked in the door. The rooms were immaculate!! I would stay here on every business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Right off the Highway 73 for an easy access to beaches. Spotless rooms and exceptional service on check-in and check-out. Really surprised by how right on this hotel was and the rate was great.

Slept like a baby. They gave late check-out with zero hassle. Good choice.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room in back away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Kyle -

We are honored to be your first experience with an Ayres Hotel! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. It means a great deal that you found the service so amenable and the accommodations conducive to a wonderful night's rest. Our rates are very competitive, so it is fantastic that they suited your needs as well. We hope to welcome you back to this Ayres Hotel or another in the collection very soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modesto, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The Ayres has been the choice for many meeting I've attended lately. It is close to the airport thus easy to get in and out of. Each stay has been excellent with very courteous staff. The food is always excellent and plentiful. Rooms are clean, nicely appointed, and comfortable. My only complaint is that the lighting isn't the best so reading in bed can be a challenge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Juy -

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. How wonderful to know that we consistently provide such exceptional meetings and catering! I am also pleased to know you found the accommodations comfortable and relaxing as well. I do apologize for any issues with lighting as I know it is important to be able to read and catch up on one's daily "to do" list when away on business. We are always happy to assist in finding a solution should a guest have any issue, so, in the future, please feel free to contact our Front Desk team so we can ensure the accommodations meet all of your needs. We hope to be a part of your future travel plans.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Great quick 2 day stay with my daughter. Pure efficiency combined with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great hotel close to the beach ( just down the freeway) Very clean and classy ! Quiet and safe neighborhood. The restaurant was fantastic - not your typical hotel food at all - it was WONDERFUL ! The service level was impecable - everyone was engaged and happy to help.
I will be returning here the next time I am in the OC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Karen -

We are thrilled to have been given the opportunity to welcome you. I am so pleased that everything from the cleanliness of the hotel to the service exceeded your expectations and that your stay with us was so remarkable. We do find that guests enjoy the cuisine at Le Chateau, specifically the Monte Cristo sandwich (which has received wide recognition in the area). Perhaps on your next visit you will get the chance to try it. We appreciate your recommendation and do hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach

Address: 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel awaits you! You’ll find all of the 284 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, MP3 radios, and hairdryers. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast.A stay at our Costa Mesa hotel means you'll be just moments from some of the biggest California attractions. Only just down the street, you will find the most prestigious shopping mall in Orange County, South Coast Plaza, with stores like Tiffany's and Bloomingdale's. For the theater buffs, the Segerstrom Center for the Arts is only 3 miles away and engages audiences with a broad range of productions in music, dance, and theater. The Orange County Fairgrounds, mere minutes away from the Ayres Hotel and Suites Costa Mesa, plays host to numerous festivals and fairs. The most famous is the Orange County Fair with tons of rides, attractions, and fair food which takes place every Summer. For those coming to California for its pristine beaches, Newport Beach is close by and absolutely breathtaking. Balboa Island is also a short ferry ride away from the nearby Balboa Peninsula and provides great family fun with fair rides and attractions. Explore everything Orange County has to offer when you visit our exceptional Costa Mesa hotel in the heart of the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Milestone Internet Marketing, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa
Ayres Hotel & Suites In Costa Mesa - Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.