We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved and hated it at the same time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marin Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Marin Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
SARATOGA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved and hated it at the same time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Marin Suites turned out to be a very old hotel/motel that was recently refurbished and new furnishings and amenities added. The remodel had been VERY tastefully done, but some corners were cut and that in itself revealed the true condition underneath (ie. interiors doors had not been changed, HVAC/electrical not upgraded - although portable units were provided).

In actuality the pool was much less grand than how it appeared on the website. We (five adults) also arrived when several small children and families were in the pool, picnicing, and BBQing (loud & messy). So the first impression was bit of a OMG. Luckily we got a suite on the garden side and noise was not an issue when the windows were closed. The garden is nicely kept.

The sofa bed, although new, was one of the worst I've ever slept in; the springs made a lot of noise at every move. Luckily we were able to move into a 2 bedroom suite the next day with a total of three beds and no one had to use the sofa bed. (Beds were super comfortable with plush comforters and pillows).

Towels were nice and plush and white.

Breakfast was the standards plus waffle maker and boiled eggs. Coffee was Seattle's Best (great). We avoided the mixed fruit salad; it didn't look appetizing. Breakfast room didn't look like it was part of the remodel; it's decor did not match the upscale amenities that were added in the suites and the other common areas.

My sister used the jacuzzi and went back to it the second day (in the white robe provided in the closet).

Later at night when it was quiet, we sat out by the fireplace in the area between the pool and the garden to enjoy a tranquil moment of family chat. The candles added a very nice touch.

Service was exceptionally good regardless of certain minor glitches (five people in an one-bedroom suite, they failed to save us a fold-out bed); we could tell that efforts were made to keep us happy and we appreciated it.

Dennis the night-shift on duty was exceptionally courteous.

Location is excellent for visiting both Sonoma/Napa and Pt. Reyes National Seashore.

In summary, for all its flaws, we would return for it's great value when all things considered...even when one bathroom really was quite a challenge for how many people the rooms could hold.

Room Tip: 511 is central but away from noise; 624 (two rooms) has three real beds, ceiling fans, and adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your feedback both the love and the hate. We are an older hotel built back in the early sixties. We continue to work on the remodel to upgrade the hotel. Most recently changing the double pane windows. We are now looking to insulate walls to absorb the noise. The rooms should stay up to date.

Our breakfast does offer a waffle maker, boiled eggs, Seattle's Best coffee fresh fruit, cereals pastries and mixed fruit salad. We are the process in purchasing a food warmer for omelettes additional and a oatmeal station. We did just replace the carpet and will continue to work on it to make it look more appetizing.

It's nice to read that a guestsat out by the fireplace in the area between the pool and the garden to enjoy a tranquil moment of family chat.

Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our guest service. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    167
    72
    39
    27
See reviews for
179
86
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It will come as a shock to no one that Marin County is expensive. Although this hotel is more than we usually prefer to pay, it is not unusually high for the area. It has some pros and cons.
Pros: 1) We stayed in a one bedroom suite (a true suite with two rooms separated by a door) which was quite spacious and had a kitchen with basic furnishings. 2) Conveniently and centrally located to most of Marin County. 3) Shopping center with grocery other stores nearby. 4) Guest laundry (but not free). 5) Comfortable bed. 6) Guest BarBQue grills in the garden area if that interests you.
Cons: 1) No air conditioning. It’s true that Marin rarely gets hot but any large building will generate internal heat so unless you don’t mind a stuffy room you will have to leave the windows open. And there will be no way to cool the room if there happens to be a heat wave. We left the windows in both rooms open and got a nice cross breeze that cooled the suite but at the compromise of security because all the suites face into an open air atrium so anyone walking by can look into your room or climb in through the window. 2) Very little security. Even worse, this atrium is not at all secure from the general public. Anyone can waltz right up to the rooms through multiple open air access points without having to go through the lobby. However, we had no problems while we were there and the neighborhood seems relatively nice. 3) Noisy. Half the rooms overlook the pool and the hotel is right next to the freeway. Ordinarily these common noise problems can be neutralized by closing the windows and turning on the AC except that – oops – there is no AC. Our choice was a stuffy or a noisy room. I had to use ear plugs the whole time to drown out the noise of screaming kids and partying adults at the pool, traffic, slamming car doors, loud talkers, etc. The pool closes at 10 pm but until then it was noisy even though we were on the third floor. Half the rooms overlook a garden atrium which should be quieter. They refused to give us one of those rooms but perhaps you will be luckier. 4) Flimsy, cheap construction that has mostly not been updated. For instance, many of the wall plugs are the old two prong design so we had to get adapters from the front desk just to use them. The cheap construction also contributes to noise because a couple of nights we heard someone’s TV blaring all evening but hard to tell if it was partly due to everyone having keep the windows open. Much of the hotel is shabby but it was relatively clean.
Would we stay there again? Perhaps, given the lack of affordable options in Marin. Or maybe next time we’ll just bypass Marin.

Room Tip: Get room overlooking the garden atrium instead of the pool. Don't go there in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. It might be a shock Marin County is expensive, but if you were to look around the Bay Area you will find that as a county we are one the most economical when it come to lodging. Welcome to the Bay.

We are different with offering in spacious one and two bedroom suites, including kitchens Which we feel give more of a value than your traditional hotel.

We do not air conditioning and yes It’s true that Marin rarely gets hot. We have added evaporative coolers to help to get a cool air flow in the room.

Regarding very little security. We take this very seriously. We are sorry that you feel this way. It is true we are not an enclosed locked area. We are located is a upper middle class neighborhood with all our public areas very well lighted. We have staff 24 hours a day and never had a incident of a guest being harassed or approached. In your review, you did add that you had no problems while we were there and the neighborhood seems relatively nice. We will continue to keep an open mind and work at making sure all guest feel safe and secure.

We respect your opinion that you feel we are a mixed bag. We appreciate the fact that you mentioned that we conveniently and centrally located to most of Marin County, there is a shopping center with grocery other stores nearby.

If you do not choose to stay in Marin County again do to economics we understand. However, if you do we hope it will be with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a lacrosse tournament and were very pleasantly surprised at how nice and spacious the rooms were. The grounds are nice with BBQs, pool, jacuzzi and firepits. Plus a curtained outside sitting area with TVs, comfy outdoor furniture, etc. Great value. Great space for families. Decent a Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your endorsement. We host a variety of sport teams from youth groups to college teams. The spacious rooms are ideal having the sleeper sofa as well as 1 & 2 bedrooms. We couldn't agree more that are a great value and great space for families.

We look forward to seeing next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice hotel with good size rooms. We were 2 families staying here visiting San Francisco with only a short drive to the city. Ferries also available. Good neighborhood with shopping nearby. However some noise from the Highway. Pool / out door area good - with BBQs available for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and letting our readers see that we have good size rooms. How a short drive is to the city. We really are so close to so much.

We hope to see you again when you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Cons - NO CENTRAL AIR, backs to 101 which means lots of noise, the only green around is in the center courtyard otherwise it's mostly commercial properties. Walls are thin - when our neighbor shut his door the mirror in our bathroom shook and someone above was prancing early in the a.m., doors are hollow and not well fitting. Obviously this was an old motel that got a face lift.

Pros - rooms are spacious, plenty of space for a family. Our suite had been updated recently - new paint, furniture, bath vanity, carpet, kitchen floor. Convenient for those wanting to go to San Fran as well as locations north (Jelly Belly, Muir Woods, wine country).

Bottom line - I would not stay here again due to noise, thin walls, and older feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not back to the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We appreciate that you wrote about the pros and cons.

Yes we do not have any central air and we hope that you used our evaporative coolers in your room. We are right off the 101 highway along with a lot of hotels in the area. This helps us being so close to so much.

Regarding the walls being thin, we are looking at solutions to absorb sound that will be done in the winter.

We hope to see you again...

Thank you letting our readers know rooms are spacious, plenty of space for a family. That the suites had been updated recently - new paint, furniture, bath vanity, carpet, kitchen floor.

Being close to so much we convenient for those wanting to go to San Francisco as well as locations north (Jelly Belly, Muir Woods, wine country).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took a family vacation to San Francisco to see the sights and stayed at this property. It was a great value for the area and in easy access to public transportation via the ferry to SF. Good pool nice rooms and clean.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the freeway are noisy and do not expect air conditioning there is none, but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for letting us be your lodging partner during your family vacation to San Francisco area.

Nice to read that you also had time enjoy the pool nice and the rooms were clean.

We appreciate your feedback and happy to read that you had a great vacation with family. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a nice hotel very centrally located in Marin County. You are close to Muir Woods - and lots of national park hiking areas, as well as San Francisco. The trade-off is that the hotel is just of of the highway, and there is a LOT of traffic noise. While we requested a quiet room away from the highway, our request was not honored because we arrived later (our flight was delayed). We were able to move for the rest of our stay - and even at the the back of the hotel you cold here the highway with the windows open. And the windows had to be open because the hotel has no AC. And our rooms were quite comfortably cool. We loved having the kitchen in the room, esp since we wanted to eat breakfast before 7 am. The pool area is lovely. The grounds are very well maintained. The rooms are large and clean. The bed is a little worn. There was obviously some thought to design of the hotel and room interiors.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a quiet room away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for pointing out that we are nice and very centrally located in Marin County. Being close to Muir Woods - and lots of national park hiking areas, as well as San Francisco. We are so close to so much.

Our location is just of of the highway as a lot of the hotels in Marin County. We have recently replaced all windows to double pane. When open you can hear the noise around you. Having no AC is an obstacle, but we have put evaporated cooler in all rooms. It does make rooms comfortably cooler.

Nice to read that you loved having the kitchen in the room. We probably do not promote it enough.

Thank you for mentioning the pool area and grounds being very well maintained. Also, pointing out that the rooms are large and clean.

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marin Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.