We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while visiting San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marin Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Marin Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Cheshire, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while visiting San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took a family vacation to San Francisco to see the sights and stayed at this property. It was a great value for the area and in easy access to public transportation via the ferry to SF. Good pool nice rooms and clean.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the freeway are noisy and do not expect air conditioning there is none, but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for letting us be your lodging partner during your family vacation to San Francisco area.

Nice to read that you also had time enjoy the pool nice and the rooms were clean.

We appreciate your feedback and happy to read that you had a great vacation with family. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    151
    66
    39
    25
See reviews for
164
83
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a nice hotel very centrally located in Marin County. You are close to Muir Woods - and lots of national park hiking areas, as well as San Francisco. The trade-off is that the hotel is just of of the highway, and there is a LOT of traffic noise. While we requested a quiet room away from the highway, our request was not honored because we arrived later (our flight was delayed). We were able to move for the rest of our stay - and even at the the back of the hotel you cold here the highway with the windows open. And the windows had to be open because the hotel has no AC. And our rooms were quite comfortably cool. We loved having the kitchen in the room, esp since we wanted to eat breakfast before 7 am. The pool area is lovely. The grounds are very well maintained. The rooms are large and clean. The bed is a little worn. There was obviously some thought to design of the hotel and room interiors.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a quiet room away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for pointing out that we are nice and very centrally located in Marin County. Being close to Muir Woods - and lots of national park hiking areas, as well as San Francisco. We are so close to so much.

Our location is just of of the highway as a lot of the hotels in Marin County. We have recently replaced all windows to double pane. When open you can hear the noise around you. Having no AC is an obstacle, but we have put evaporated cooler in all rooms. It does make rooms comfortably cooler.

Nice to read that you loved having the kitchen in the room. We probably do not promote it enough.

Thank you for mentioning the pool area and grounds being very well maintained. Also, pointing out that the rooms are large and clean.

Thank you for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great for a bigger family, and is just a hop away from San Fran's attractions. Their two bedroom suite is also ideal for two couples to stay together! Very reasonable pricing for the amount of space you get!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your support that we are great for a bigger family, and is just a hop away from San Francisco attractions. That we have two bedroom suites that is ideal for two couples to stay together!

We couldn't agree more that we are very reasonable pricing for the amount of space you get!

We looking forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California (USA)
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I agree with most of the other reviewers but we had a nice 3-day stay anyway. Nice pool area, outdoor lounge. Spacious suites, nicely done. Convenient walking distance to good dining and shopping. Handy location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for agreeing with most of the other reviewers and that you had a nice 3-day stay. We appreciate you feel we have a nice pool area, outdoor lounge. Spacious suites, nicely done. Convenient walking distance to good dining and shopping. Handy location.

Regarding the walls we are looking into some solutions this winter when it is slower to absorb the sound. We are not 100%, but your feedback helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

First, you can not pull out in front and check in. In fact, I had a really hard time figuring out where to go. I ended up pulling around the parking lot twice before securing the very last spot available way in the back of the property. Lugged all my bags through the property up and down multiple sets of stairs to the lobby which was of course closed. It was 11:30 at night and all I wanted was to go to sleep. After banging on the doors for a while someone pointed out the phone on the wall. I picked it up and it rang through to someone who buzzed me in and met me at the desk inside the lobby. Not before lugging my bags down the stairs (again) to get there. Room 422, okay. Take the elevator. Okay. Up the stairs with my luggage and out the door that slams and locks behind you to the elevator to see floors one and two. Back out to the phone to get buzzed in and down the steps to the desk to ask... um where is my room? Floor 2 room 422. Got it. Up the steps and out the door which slams shut and locks behind you. To the elevator, up to my room. All doors lead to the outside. Ugh, not sure I can sleep. But then I can't because the fire alarm goes off and everyone, at least in my building, vacates and waits for it to stop. Everyone back in and settled and then the fire alarm goes off again. I do realize that the property can do nothing about this but this gives you an idea of the severe beat down that I received by choosing this less expensive alternative.
The next morning and even that night, it was evident that many business people were using this as an inexpensive long term stay. Many seemed to know each other. Lots of camaraderie. Later that morning at breakfast, I noticed lots of families headed to SF and sightseeing for the day. All seemed to be happy to have found an expensive alternative to the high prices of hotels in the city. I can see how this could be an attractive option to either of these groups but as a single woman, traveling alone and arriving at night, it was just too difficult. And the beat-down, for lack of a better terms will not be forgotten. I checked out and checked into the Marriott Courtyard in Larkspur and it was the best money ever spent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback. When it come to feeling safe and secure, nothing is more important to us to correct that discomfort. We realize a lot of individuals travel alone and have late check in do to many factors.

We have met with our evening staff and have made a point to have them more aware of our late check ins and be looking for them. We will continue to work on better communication regarding parking. You can park in our white zone which is in front of the hotel. When it come to parking we realize although it is well lighted, it can be a little walk when we are full.

Many of our guest do know each to know each other through our corporate housing, frequent business travelers and families who visit us often. Yes, we do have lots of camaraderie. We feel that it makes us different for the guest experience compared to other hotels.

Thank you for mentioning that a lot of families were headed to SF and sightseeing for the day. We really are so close to so much.

Again, appreciate you taking the time writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Seriously stay elsewhere. The room is dated. The room had previous guests dirt left behind. The sheets and blankets are circa 1990. The towels about the same. The fitness room is disgusting with junk that does not work. If you want to walk barefoot on the carpet or relax this is not the place! Convenient to Muir Woods is the only good thing. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Marriott Courtyard instead.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We hope you are not serious about staying elsewhere. Compared to some hotels in the area the hotel is older than a few. We do keep the building updated and recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation.

Regarding having your room with dirt left behind. We wish you had called down to our front desk. We would had someone come up immediately to clean it or give you another room.We check sheets, blankets and towels. We apologize that you feel different.

Thank you for your support on how convenient to Muir Woods and so many other locations.

We respect your and opinion and appreciate that you took the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corte Madera hotels

NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I just left this hotel today. The parking lot spots are extremely narrow and i guarantee your car will be dinged or dented. The exterior appearance is average.

The rooms and layout are fine and the bathrooms are nice. The pool, spa, breakfast was all fine. Pretty average but no complaints. The bed wasnt very comfortable. Having a kitchen is nice if one is looking to save some money.

Location was great for my business trip. Theres an excellent gym less than a half mile away and a mall with good restaurants close by as well.

All of this however means nothing because this hotel does not have air conditioning. I never thought a hotel could even exist without AC. The rooms are like saunas. You will not sleep due to the heat. They have a ceiling fan in the room that does nothing to cool things off. They also have a ridiculous heavy in room fan hidden in the closet.

I will never stay here again and encourage everyone to avoid at all costs unless you are the type of person that enjoys sleeping in a sauna. Had it not been for this horrific misrepresentation of being a hotel i wouldve given a higher rating.

AVOID THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. You are correct wider parking spots would be nice.It is not made for large pick up and SUV's and we get more than our fair share like anywhere. It does become a challenge with space as each space can become more narrow. Unfortunately we of allotment of parking spots and want to make sure that every guest has a spot to park.

The hotel does not have air conditioning and it's not uncommon in our area do to the mild climate. We are not trying o hide the fan in the closet. We just believe that is the best place to keep for our guest. In fact we have added a evaporative cooler that is also stored in the closet. On exceptional hot days we now turn on so when you arrive your room will be cool. It's not air conditioning, but we are working to make all of our guest have a comfortable stay.

We appreciate that you write that the rooms and layout are fine and the bathrooms are nice. The pool, spa, breakfast was all fine. You like having a kitchen to save some money.

Thanks for the support on our location that it was great for your business trip and that there are couple of gyms less than a half mile away and a mall with good restaurants. We continue to make changes so your stay will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marin Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.