We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rate for a lot of room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marin Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marin Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Corte Madera
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great rate for a lot of room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. It was an awesome rate for basically a 2-bedroom apartment. A huge plus for us since they allow dogs- we have two. Marin County in general is very limited with hotels. The location is central to lots of shopping. This was really a good find for us and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Terrific full range continental breakfast with amazing waffle batter! Fully stocked kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a nice review. Yes, our 2 bedrooms does give you a lot of space to enjoy. We also appreciate you mentioned that we are Pet Friendly. We do have an allotment of rooms that we set a side for our guest with pets. Our location has so many different trails near us to take your dogs out for walks.

The waffles are very popular and you would be surprised on how much batter we go through.

Thanks for staying at the Marin Suites and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    139
    63
    37
    26
See reviews for
157
71
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I needed a place to stay for one night while in Marin. Chose this hotel because of its proximity. The front desk staff I dealt with on check in and check out we're courteous and helpful. The room I was in was renovated and very comfortable, complete with a kitchen, dining area, living room, separate parade bedroom and bathroom. The included breakfast was decent for a free continental breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel if you need a hotel in this area at a reasonable price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really are so close to so much. We appreciate that you enjoyed the changes we are making in the rooms. We do have very spacious suites and believe we are very fair priced in our market.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I can't believe we got such a great deal! My husband and I stayed for an anniversary getaway. We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious accommodations (1 bedroom suite), beautiful grounds (even after the winter freeze), pool and spa were immaculate, breakfast was good, staff very friendly and helpful, gem of a movie theater within walking distance (older but well preserved), and so close to bay area sites. It was a bit noisy at times but not enough to detract. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side...beautiful view of the pond and hills plus no highway traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Happy belated Anniversary! We appreciate your insight and such a positive review. We really are so close to so much with our location. It's nice to read that you took advantage of the area and had such a wonderful experience.

We hope to see you every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My son and his wife and children have stayed at this hotel several times in recent years while visiting family in Marin. Most recently, they stayed in a suite for two weeks over the Christmas holiday: two bedrooms, livingroom, kitchen and bathroom. Having a kitchen is important, as the children are young, their stay is often extended and they don't want to have to eat all of their meals out. It would be impossible to duplicate anything similar for the price. Adjoining rooms in other Marin hotels, although there would be the additional convenience of two bathrooms (no kitchen), would be double the price.
The first floor suite they have occupied before has been upgraded recently with new furniture and large screen TV, and everything was clean and well cared for. The staff is always very pleasant and helpful. Service was prompt and extra towels were well supplied.
I noticed that one reviewer mentioned the overflowing dumpsters and huge pile of empty boxes in the parking lot. I noticed that too when I was there. I could see they were remodeling a room nearby and tossing boxes out the windows. I didn't like that either, nor did I appreciate some of the litter on the ground around the entrance to my family's suite leading from the parking lot (cigarette stubs, child's shoe, bits of paper, etc).
The older children enjoyed the swimming pool, and the courtyard and grounds (with the exception of the parking area) definitely appeared to have been improved and better cared for than when they stayed three years ago.
Overall, everything worked out very well for my family and we probably will use Marin Suites again when they visit in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are happy that you came back after three years. It's nice to know that you that we are your choice with lodging in Marin. Yes, we have been going through a major remodel. We are almost finished except for a few tweaks here and there. We apologize that you had to experience the parking lot situation. It does not meet our standards right now and with the holidays, it became even more of a challenge. No excuse regarding cigarette butts, that should be swept everyday. As soon the remodel is complete and we can remove the containers we are going to repave the whole lot to make it more attractive. Unfortunately it was not completed during your visit. We are being diligent to get our project done so we can continue to improve the property for our guest. After the remodel, we be replacing all interior windows as well as the parking lot.

Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here with my family and another family next door each in a one bedroom. We overlooked the courtyard, space was great for letting the kids play outside, breakfast was convenient and pool area/Sanctuary were fantastic! This was great value for the price that we payed to have a private bedroom and a kitchen to light cook in. Very comfortable. Our friends complained to us of upstairs noise from a barking dog locked in the bathroom all night, but in all fairness they didn't report it and we left the next day so these things happen. Good location, clean, comfortable, would stay again anytime. I didn't pay a value price expecting 5 star style, but was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It's nice to read that you and your family and friends enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central , Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here with my son for a few days over New Year's. I'm actually typin this review in the room. Overall the property has some nice features, the room is clean and location is very close to the 101 and traveling into SF is very easy. The pool and whirlpool spa ae kept very warm and it is nice to sit in a hot tub when it is 45 degrees out.

However, and there is always a however, the walls and ceilings are very very thin and it is far to easy to hear activity in the room next to you or above you. Earlier I heard the television in the room above like I was there and certain adult activity has just concluded. Things I do not wish to hear. Also, this is not as offensive, but the the noise from the pool can be a bit annoying and it travels very far.

Overall, given my druthers, I would not stay here again, simply because of the noise. If you do stay here, ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard, not the pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate that you would stay here again and recognized how we are so close to so much. It is unfortunate with the building being built when it did, did not think of the walls and floors for sound. This is something that we are trying to improve. We are in the process on changing our windows this year to help with the sound. We also installed a padding under the carpet that is suppose to help absorb sound. We apologize that for the sound and we hope with our efforts that the next time you stay you will notice the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado County
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Pros: Pet friendly (rare) in the Bay Area (good location). Nice counter staff. Rooms include kitchens & living rooms (spacious). Close to freeway, shopping & quality reataurants. Facilities appear nice on 1st glance. Small gym area. Towels & linens appeared clean. Conti Breakfast supplied (did not partake).

Cons: Former apartment complex environment- crowded living area. A "sketchy" long term resident lurking about- e.g. smoking in parking lot at night. Parking spaces too small & limited. Overflowing dumpster in back. Appeared to be boxes & packing materials (not garbage). Nevertheless ver unsightly.

Housefly & spider found/killed in the room. TV had very poor picture. Remote to TV did not work & required a call to room service. Pay per view never did work with the 2nd remote. Room was not completely clean IMO. Stains visible on sofa pillows. Coffee supplies not complete (no tea or decaf) and were old & dusty looking. Furniture scratched & well worn in places.

Walls were paper thin & if you have noisy neighbors you will hear them. We were treated to noise 'til past 11 pm due to a loud group nearby.

Only stay here if you have a pet in which case it is endurable.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Director of Sales at Marin Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We appreciate your insight and acknowledgement of our staff, being pet friendly, spacious rooms and how we are so close to so much.

Yes we were originally a apartment building and was changed a to a hotel a long time ago. We are currently finishing up a full remodel which has a lot of boxes being delivered daily. The holidays we have unfortunately have not have our regular schedule pick ups. We apologize that you had to witness this. We also take very serious if our rooms are not up to standard. We are constantly inspecting our rooms and we fell short to yours and our own standards.

Again, thank you for the feedback. We are continuing to work to improve the hotel and exceed our guest expectations. It is comments like yours that we need to keep working on our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marin Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.