We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R rated - walls are paper thin and you hear EVERYTHING!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marin Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marin Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marin Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Corte Madera
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“R rated - walls are paper thin and you hear EVERYTHING!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

First room:
Bathroom door didn't close
TV didn't work (they fixed it)
Lamp didn't work (didn't ask for them to fix)
Ironing board broken.....

Looked like menstrual blood on sheets.....

Brought us sheets (which didn't fit bed) as no housekeeping to change bed.

2nd room

Lamp broken
No lock on bathroom door
TV broken
You could hear in detail the people having sex upstairs. Luckily it was over quickly......poor woman :)

They did swap rooms for us quickly into a bigger room, and gave as a discount very quickly so can't fault the service once we got to speak to duty manager......hence why not bottom rating.

Simply for the price, DO NOT USE.

The place is very tired and old and over priced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    135
    61
    37
    26
See reviews for
152
68
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable prices and a convenient location. If you're looking for modern, upscale, go elsewhere or don't complain. If you want a nice place to stay, this is the one. No air conditioning, but good fans and wonderful bay breezes. Close to shopping centers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Shabby, dirty, rude people at the desk, unhelpful staff. This place reminded me of the cheap hostels I stayed in when I backpacked around Europe many years ago. Even now I'm sitting waiting for a cab to the airport in the dirty "lobby" worried I'm going to be late--because they never called to book it. Even though I asked them last night and again this morning. The room smelled like a hospital, with a worn rug and a metal door. No place to get a bottle of water, food, etc. there's a kitchen but I didn't arrive with my own supplies. The location is off a busy road, behind a strip mall. Creepy exterior that the person who dropped me off didn't think could be the entrance. It is!
This place is really more of a motel--rooms ringed around a decent sized pool, where people frolicked till late last night. I guess if you are temporarily relocated, or if you are traveling on the cheap like I did for that long ago backpacking trip, it might suffice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corte Madera hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The location was very good, easy to find with a number of restaurants and shops near by. The room was very large, however quite tired. We didn't use the kitchen area, but it was clean and had everything you would need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a decent stay at Marin Suites, The rooms are certainly spacious, though the bathrooms are small with little counter space for personal items. Essentially, it's a very basic motel--no lobby, bar, restaurant, lounge or otherwise. That said, the pool was nicely heated and good for an exercise swim. The major downside was noise--from other rooms (thin walls) and from the pool area. Voices really travel up and most of the rooms open onto the pool--so your stuck with noise until they close the pool at night. Never found the "gym," so can't comment on it. Also, we didn't see any eateries or coffee bars within walking distance--so you'll have to drive everywhere. Probably will look for something better the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Get away from the pool, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I travel frequently for work and typically stay in chain hotels (mostly for the points accumulation). So when my manager approved me to stay overnight in Marin County, I immediately looked at the chain hotels for a room, all of which were over the per-night budget I'm allowed. In my search, I came across Marin Suites Hotel, read some reviews, and booked it, as it was in my company's budget.

I'm always wary of independently owned hotels, since you really never know what you're going to get - I've stayed in some real dives. Upon checking in, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice and modern (well, it's not the Aloft but fairly modern) the hotel is! The front desk clerk was very nice and check in was a breeze.

My room was near the lobby, up a short flight of stairs. I booked the smallest room, as it's just me and I'm only here for a night, but the smallest room is still quite big by hotel standards. There's a queen bed, desk and chair, dresser, full size closet, small dining room set, and kitchenette. The room was clean, and I think I landed the quieter side of the hotel, based on other reviews - I can't hear the freeway at all!

Parking is free, although slightly limited, and finding the lobby from the parking lot is a little confusing. My only complaint is the lack of A/C in the room. Granted, it's October and fairly cool outside, but I'm from the Central Valley and like my air conditioning. :-) Cracking the windows and turning on the ceiling fan (yes, a fan in a hotel room) helps a lot.

There's a few neat features at this hotel I would love to use if I was here longer - barbeque grills near the pool, an open-air "sanctuary" room with nice seating and a fireplace, a fire pit, saltwater pool and spa, laundry room, and a breakfast room.

Overall, this hotel is a great value for the price, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice hotel in Marin County!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

it is always difficult to book a family vacation when you have a budget in mind. you want something nice and reasonably priced but you also look for the right amenities to keep every one some what entertained and enough space so your not on top of each other. the Marin suites hit it out of the park! the staff was great very friendly and helpful, the outside space and court yards were comfortable and inviting. the pool and hot tub were perfect. don't let the salt water scare you away, it is very mild and nothing like the ocean. if your expecting 5 stars stay somewhere else. it was very family oriented, the rooms were comfortable and clean. the worst i can say is the kitchen had very limited silverware and dishes but the staff did get what we needed when we needed it. although we did not use them they also had 2 large gas grills in the courtyard for cooking out. over all on a 1-10 scale i would have to give it an 8.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte Madera
Independent Hot...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#2 of 6 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Free internet...
Show More
5.2 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Cou...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Suites Hotel

Address: 45 Tamal Vista Blvd., Corte Madera, CA 94925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Corte Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Corte Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marin Suites Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury all-suite hotel located in the heart of Marin County, Marin Suites Hotel, is uniquely defined by its spacious and comfortable hotel suite accommodations. Just 12 miles north of San Francisco, a short drive from the wine country and minutes away from numerous attractions in the Bay Area, Marin Suites Hotel is the perfect choice among Marin County hotels. Bordered by sprawling hills and waterways, this unique town features a refreshing blend of outdoor culture with a cosmopolitan feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Marin Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Hotel Corte Madera
Marin Suites Hotel Corte Madera, Marin County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marin Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.