We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Custom Burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Counter

The Counter
201 Corte Madera Town Ctr, Corte Madera, CA 94925-1208
415-924-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Corte Madera
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
LAUREL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Custom Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The portions were large, the choose your own toppings list was even larger. The veggie burger were amazing as were the parm fries. The prices were reasonable and service was great. Blake was a fantastic waiter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Burgers and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great place to have a nice lunch-
i had a beef burger - my wife had a turkey burger -
both were great and paired with a nice wine -
we were there during happy hour - try the onion rings and sweet potato fries combo - for 1/2 price!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The slide down, down, down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've been a regular since it opened. Twice in 11 months I have been abandoned by the waiter. Tonight the order slip was placed at 7:20pm on a quiet night. I ordered a simple turkey burger and small fries. At 8:04pm after a reminder to a different waiter, my burger appeared. It was cooked through but not warm enough to melt the thin slice of cheese. The fries were lukewarm, warmer than the burger, and what I asked for on the side was stuffed cold above the cheese. I was not offered a refill on my empty water glass. 3 waiters stood around chatting up the cute collegiate hostess behind the cash register, that's how busy it wasn't! I had to go inside and ask another waiter for my bill. The service is generally slow and often inattentive, but this being the second truly bad experience and with a very unpleasant burger, I am not inclined to return and I am inclined to tell people that a once really good burger joint is now just a joint worthy of by-passing. Sad to say!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A good place to grab a burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good, as you like it, fresh burgers...even their veggie was yummy, and not a dry slab of grain. I'm not jazzed about the ambience but they have the diner thing going.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slider Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Unique, tasty hamburgers (& other food) with great presentation. GREAT shakes and fried to top it off. Also wonderful grilled veggies. Love when they have the special of 4 different sliders w/beer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

Corte Madera, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 
Corte Madera, Marin County
Corte Madera, Marin County
 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Counter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.