We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great Mexican” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Azul

Costa Azul
1031 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-3405
619-435-3525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not great Mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Try Miguel's instead. Neither my wife nor I was impressed by the food. My taco salad had too much guacamole and sour cream piled on top to really tell what it tasted like.
Apparently they were short on waiters because the manager was running around helping, but that didn't solve the problem.
Service was so bad they discounted the check.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    25
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stoxabc
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Reliable, good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Costa Azul has consistently been a reliable place for good Mexican food. It is large enough that they usually have tables available and you don't have to wait or wait too long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good dinner, friendly service, loud atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were just walking by, and saw their sign that said pulled pork sandwich. I did not want Mexican food, so that was perfect for me. My husband got a chicken enchilada. It was a lot of food! I loved the pork sandwich -- probably the best I've had! Chips were crispy & salty & good. I liked the thin salsa, although it was a bit different (almost a dark brownish color),

Our waiter was smiling and attentive, even though it was pretty crowded. As for the crowd: there were big parties of people, and they all seemed to be talking as loud as they could! It didn't bother my husband or me, but I can see how it might be irritating to some. If we had chosen the outdoor patio seating, this would not have been an issue.

Overall, a good dinner out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location is great in the middle of Orange Ave, public parking close by. The menu is different from most Mexican places. The drinks are strong and packed with liquor :). The selection of food is good with a good variety. The Fajitas are not the usual that you would expect, they don't come out on a skillet. The service needs some work, it took ten minutes to get our bill. They will take a res which is nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We could not get into Leroys on a saturday night so we wandered down the street and found Costa Azul. We had a good meal with excellent service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Azul also viewed

 

Been to Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.