We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
1333 1st St, Coronado, CA 92118-1502
619-437-4911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Orange Ave.
Transit: Metrolink
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
Lemon Grove, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you are in the mood for romance, and/or good times with family or friends, this is your place. I'm in awe everytime we walk into IF, the ambiance here is a perfect 10!!! My husband and I have the pleasure of dining here to unwind from the hectic weeks we both have. I love their variety of wines, it's a special treat to try different ones. There is nothing like the fresh baked bread with the balsamic vinegar and olive oil We've tried a variety of their dishes, the calamari and carpaccio are some of my favorite appetizers. This past week we tried the flourless chocolate cake and it was so rich and delicious, I couldn't stop savoring it. The customer service is top notch by the staff and managers alike. Our favorite manager Julio always visit the table and checks on us. He's so charming with his big smile and makes us feel at ease. We work hard and when we go out, we want to go somewhere where we feel appreciated. This is definitely the place that will accommodate your requests and go out of their way to make sure you leave with a smile. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    102
    44
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views, Okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

You simply cannot beat the view of the San Diego skyline from this restaurant. On a Sunday afternoon, we were entertained by boats and paddle-boarders making their way across. The service was also exemplary. Mario took wonderful care of us. The food just didn't measure up to everything else. It's Italian, but without anything special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin , New York, United States
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good food; great location, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Il Fornaio, Coronado, is located at 1333 1st Street, in a water-side "mall", an area of many shops, right on the bay. Nice to walk around; great location for relaxing, even though this is a large restaurant and busy.
The menu is primarily Italian, but with some good alternatives, if so desired. The place has a "formal" feeling, but that is the staff and appointments, not necessarily for the patrons. Very "California" in that very casual attire was spotted throughout.
Friendly, nicely spaced service; only a touch on the higher side of pricing.
I ate an alfredo type pasta...very good. Good portions; well presented. Good timing for delivery.
Definitely a place to go when in the area. Parking is not particularly close to the restaurant, as the area is designed as a sprawling, walking "mall". We parked on the street and probably walked 100 yards to the restaurant. Of course, weather is "always" good enough for that stroll!
We had reservations and seated about 20 people. Everyone was able to eat together without much wait...
Recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greeneyes67
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food. Great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband & I ate a late lunch here and simply loved everything. We sat on the patio & had a great view of downtown San Diego & the bay. They start you off with a basket of a variety of warm breads, good olive oil & balsamic vinegar. My husband ate the beef carpaccio & grilled chicken breast. He raved. I had the tomato caprese salad. They grill the tomatoes & they have a wonderful smoky flavor. I also had a pizza. It was delicious.
We are already planning our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wedding Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had our wedding reception dinner at Il Fornaio, coming from Australia and relying solely on recommendations from our wedding planner and family in Coronado it was a lot of blind faith. Having been to Coronado before we knew where it was located and knew the views would be spectacular but not having eaten there it was hard to know how the food and service would be but Il Fornaio were amazing! Jennifer the events manager was so accomodating and helpful and just all round lovely. Mauro our main waiter on the night was fantastic! The food was wonderful. Coming from an Italian family with Italian guests making up a large contingent of the guests, serving them Italian food was risky but everyone loved it!! Il Fornaio truly helped make our night one to remember. We will head back there every time we go back to Coronado!! Thank you Il Fornaio!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.