We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large omelette, larger taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Night & Day Cafe

Night & Day Cafe
847 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2603
619-435-9776
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Large omelette, larger taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was in Coronado with a few friends attending a training when one of our group insisted we come to the Night and Day Café. When you first walk In you realize it has that hole in the wall feeling. It is very small consisting of a few tables against the wall and a bar like surface close to the grill and kitchen amenities. Although the Night & Day Café was small it conveyed a really laid back atmosphere. Our server was also our cook. I ordered an omelette and enjoyed the show of watching him cook everything right in front of me. It was quick, fun, and tasty. One thing I have to say about Night & Day Café is come with an appetite, the omelette I ordered was and still is the biggest I have ever seen served at any restaurant I have ever been to. With that being said Night & Day Café is a good place to start the day or even unwind late at night, and you could never go wrong with a place that serves breakfast all day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Microwave Meals!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I would love to give it a great review because it has the potential to be a home cooked diner, but this is not the case. I ordered the biscuits and gravy for breakfast and for more than $10 I would expect 1 small biscuit split in half that was taken out of the freezer, two sausage patties, again out of the freezer, and white gravy (no sausage in it) that came out of a microwave. Such a disappointment to watch this happen as I sit at the counter. There has to be better options out there on Coronado for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Big Breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went there twice during our stay. The first time we had the French toast and carne asada omelet. The portions were huge! The use Texas toast for their French toast which is always a good thing. The carne asada filling in the omelet is excellent, not sure what they seasoned it with but it's some of the best carne we've had. On our second visit we had the carne asada omelet and the carne asada burrito - both were delicious. Oh and they have some of the best hash browns around!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Delicious, glad we found it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were looking for a place to grab a quick lunch and saw this little "hole-in-the-wall" place. We decided to take a gamble and were glad that we did. We order some of their Mexican style lunches and were very pleased with the dishes. The service was great and though only one person besides the cook was working service was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great little diner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a great little place for breakfast! The portions are giant and the food is delicious. We sat at the counter so we could see the chef make our food, which was nice. The kitchen and the entire restaurant was spotless, and the service was fantastic. An overall great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Night & Day Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Night & Day Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Night & Day Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.