We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorial Day Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I booked the hotel because it was the only hotel on the island who wasn't requiring a 3 night stay or charging $600 per night for a room. The hotel location is convenient, walking distance one direction to downtown and the other walking distance to the ferry landing. O and the parking is free which was a huge plus. The hotel was very clean and the staff was professional. The courtyard in the middle is cute and if we would have had time, we could have hung out and relaxed. The beds were comfortable, the room clean, it came with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We were pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast, not just granola bars, but a whole pancakes and eggs spread. For the price and location it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
44
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

While this hotel is in a busy street & intersection we found it to very convenient. It is only 3-4 block walk to the Ferry Landing. There are 2 Grocery stores and many restaurants within walking distance. Being able to park your car and walk to things is very convenient in addition to the Free parking below the hotel in the parking structure. We did drive to the Coronado Beach in front of the Hotel Del as this was quite distance.

We stayed 2 nights and found the rooms modern & clean. The hotel is shaped in a C shape with a central court area containing the office & breakfast area. Our room did overlook Orange Ave. but with the Air/Fan on we didn't have any problems with noise & sleeping. Breakfast left a little bit to be desired but was enough to get us started. Pool is small, kids used it once. It is a little small but we weren't there to use the pool with the beach so close. All in all a great stay & would stay again as well as recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We came here after spending 3 nights in hotel hell. The staff was fantastic from the front desk to the extremely courteous housekeeping staff. Our room was very clean. We had the suite and our son had the standard king. I will say the bathroom of the suite was very small, especially in comparison to the king, and the bathroom vanity was outside of the bathroom itself with only one bowl and no counter space. But all-in-all this was a great experience and as a bonus we didn't have to pay for parking as you do with other hotels. We'll be coming back in four months and this is where we'll stay! Thanks Best Western!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is my 5th stay here in the last 3.5 yrs I come over from Phoenix to spend the weekend with a friend that works for a military based ship... all the staff over the years have been great. The breakfast is worth it to try..it is close to Ferry landing. This trip was first I used þe WiFi it was excellent..can't wait for my next get away

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My family and I were in San Diego for a few days to visit our son and we stayed at this hotel. It is a beatiful area, hotel was very clean, breakfast was good. Overall we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I am so impressed with this hotel. The staff was friendly, courteous and went above and beyond to make my stay a great experience. The hotel exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to return. It was a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, but they allow smoking in their interior courtyard, HBO was not connected while we were there, no water conservation program in drought ridden Southern California, , and no TV guide to channels. So while the place is clean, it is not the Plus you would expect. We asked for maps of the Island, not available. Printer and computer in the lobby for air flight boarding ticket, not working! ( but front desk did print them out for us, thank you Front Desk!) Breakfast was OK, but nothing to write home about, such as no plain yogurt, or oatmeal and only sugary cereal. Place was convenient, clean, but right off the Main Street, so a little noisy. Also, the doors only slam shut, no light touch there. No fitness center. Good parking.

Room Tip: I would ask for a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.