We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Night in Coronado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Family Night in Coronado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It was a short distance from the beach and not by the really busy part of town so we didn't have to deal with traffic or crowds unless we wanted to head out to that area. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was spacious, quiet and very crisp/clean looking with modern decor. Breakfast was typical free breakfast - fine if you like toast, cereal, yogurt and juice. The hot items (eggs) were not that tasty. The pool looked fine though it is on the corner of a busy intersection and the weather was too cold for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
33
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

overall, a very nice place to stay. Comfortable bed, quiet...only thing was that there was no fan in the bathroom, or ours did not work...not a huge issue though...would recommend to others..perhaps the breakfast room could be a little bigger inside (was cold in the morning).. altough there were tables outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! This hotel has been renovated and is clean and family-friendly, with a nice breakfast selection. It's close to the Coronado action and nearly all of the island is within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

While the location is not right in the middle of the action and a couple of miles from the famous beach, that was perfect for us because it was quiet and had less traffic. It was also close to the ferry launch, which meant that we could go into downtown San Diego without taking a car. So, in one evening, we were able to experience the island and downtown, as well as seeing a stunning view of downtown from the ferry. The hotel was clean and the staff, from the reception area to the breakfast attendants, were all very nice and professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want to see San Diego the right way...stay at the BW on Coronado Island! From the early check-in, to the must-see suggestions BW employees had for me, what more could you want. I walked to lots of things, and effortlessly drove up to 30 miles away in any direction of the BW thanks to my hotel being perfectly located and easily accessible and friendly. I traveled alone but met up with family at Loews---I loved bragging that I had a hot breakfast daily (as soon as I left my room) Can you say "FREE parking"?!!! What more can I say:)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great stay over Halloween and the weekend! Very pleased with recent remodel. Rooms very clean, spacious and fresh. At check in Juan was very helpful in ensuring we had a non-smoking room away from the traffic/street side of the hotel. He was very accommodating and friendly. The hot breakfast was a nice plus. Many good choices and a different breakfast choices were served daily. Free parking was also a plus. Many hotels on the island charge for parking. Only draw back was for some reason all the rooms on the 3rd floor including ours seemed to be missing the sheer style curtain. The room only had the blackout curtain, so there was only a choice of dark or wave to people passing by your room. Would have been nice to have the sheer option for light and some privacy. That was very minor and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from 3rd ave, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place was actually a last resort option when I got to Coronado, but I was very well pleased with what I received. Even though it was last minute, the room was very spacious, nicely setup and the way that the hotel is designed is beautiful too. My room was built with two rooms in it, one for the bedroom & the other for a living room. Both had flat screen TVs, a couch, desk, one bar and a refrigerator. You can take the elevator from the garage to the floor of your room to save time of having to walk around to the front lobby. Military discount is accepted here!

Downside, there is a massive amount of traffic to deal with, most of the streets are one way streets once you get on the island, so it becomes a bit hard to get to this place. You can beat this though by trying to get here before 2pm PST. After that time, the traffic builds up from all the people leaving the base.

Room Tip: Rooms with good view are on the second floor on the west side. The breakfast room is on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.