We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Great Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during comiccon. great to be away from the madness of the city, but still convenient by ferry, car or bus service to the convention center. House keeping worked non-stop noit just on the rooms, but also the sprucing up the patio , landscaping etc throughouit the day. Breakfast room was somewhat standard breakfast buiffet fare, but you can tell an effort is made to keep offerings fresh and varied ( i was pleasantly suprised to find tamales which may be standard for SoCal but a treat for this Florida boy.) Front desk was very friendly, courteaous and accomodating.
One down side was the tight parking spaces, but there was ample parking. It would have been no problem had guests parked compacts in compact spaces, or kept their cars in one space insead of using1.2-2.0. When I complained to the front des k late one evening he offered me a space reserved for management then politley called the most egregious offenders to correct their errors. They also accomodated me lack of planning on chgeck out day when I found myself stuck in traffic and unable to clear the room by checkout time by giving me complimentary late checkout.
Those people seeking the beach may prefer to be closer to the west end of orange, but there is a complementary summer shuttle that runs to island. This hotel is closer to the bay and the ferry landing, but has nice restaurants and grocery shopping within minutes by foot.
All in all a very good value on a nice destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
85
57
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Perfect for my business trip to San Diego. Free parking, free in-room internet, free full breakfast, close to restaurants, shopping and public transportation. Room included mini-fridge and microwave. Clean facility and friendly staff. Only thing missing was a fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Colleagues and I stayed at the Best Western Coronado due to its convenient and prime location to Naval Base Coronado. We had a great experience and enjoyed our stay. Customer service by the front desk was impeccable. We will be staying here upon our next visit to the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was disappointed by the fact that we were put in a room that had a nasty damp smell. This was obviously known to them when we were directed to the room, as the door had been kept open with a door stop.
There is no reason that the hotel could not have put us into a room with dry carpet, and no smell.
The hotel was under major renovations, we were thank fully not disturbed by any construction noise.
We regularly stay at Best Western Hotels, this was not the worst but for a PLUS rated accommodation it didn't come close to the high standards we have enjoyed at other locations. We are not the type to make a fuss when we stay places, we probably wont go back though.

Room Tip: Call first to make sure that the renovation is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

There was construction taking place the entire five nights we were there. Jack-hammering and equipment being moved room to room at 0730 in the morning. Then to top it off two days (with no notice except the night before if you happen to use the elevator) NO water for several hours (1100-1500).

Room Tip: Always get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. For us it is ideally situated on Orange Ave near restaurants and grocery stores. The only drawback at the moment is that the hotel is undergoing renovation, but disruption to guests is minimal. The biggest drawback was them having to shutoff the water between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. three days in a row. For most people it probably wasn't a big deal if they're out doing things during the day, but we go there for the biking. We start out in the morning and like to come back to the hotel around 1:00 or 2:00 p.m. to get a shower and get cleaned up. So, for this trip that was an inconvenience. Had we known the hotel was undergoing renovation we simply would have come at a different time. But it is still a very nice hotel and with the room renovations it will be that much better. We had a recently renovated room, so recent it didn't have the coffee maker or hair dryer in it, but that was rectofied immediately by the housekeeper. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.