We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and It Will Get Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good and It Will Get Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. For us it is ideally situated on Orange Ave near restaurants and grocery stores. The only drawback at the moment is that the hotel is undergoing renovation, but disruption to guests is minimal. The biggest drawback was them having to shutoff the water between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. three days in a row. For most people it probably wasn't a big deal if they're out doing things during the day, but we go there for the biking. We start out in the morning and like to come back to the hotel around 1:00 or 2:00 p.m. to get a shower and get cleaned up. So, for this trip that was an inconvenience. Had we known the hotel was undergoing renovation we simply would have come at a different time. But it is still a very nice hotel and with the room renovations it will be that much better. We had a recently renovated room, so recent it didn't have the coffee maker or hair dryer in it, but that was rectofied immediately by the housekeeper. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
38
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was in San Diego for a conference and all the Hotels downtown close to the Convention Centre were booked so I took a chance at this Best Western on Coronado Island and am I glad I did.

Pros:

•Excellent location , its centrally located on Orange Avenue within walking distance of the Ferry pier , restaurants ,supermarkets .Rent a car and in 5 minutes you're at the beach close to the Naval Base and the Hotel Del Coronado , another 10 minutes you are at Silver Stand Beach.
•Getting to Downtown San Diego was very easy, if your schedule doesn’t allow you to take the Ferry, it’s a 10 minute drive to the Convention Centre across the Coronado Bridge, very easy and straightforward and an amazing view driving over the bridge.
•The Hotel is very quiet and peaceful, take a suite on the third floor, those are decent sized and the beds are surprisingly comfortable.
•The rooms are also pretty clean, the décor is dated but the location and the efficiency of the staff more than makes up for that.
•The breakfast was good, sausage, eggs, bacon, cheese, fruit, cereals, coffee, tea, orange juice; served 5AM-9AM, more than adequate for either vacationers or businesspersons.
•Free parking was an added bonus, pretty spacious underground garage.


Cons:

•Free Internet is nice but it’s definitely NOT high-speed and it’s an open unsecure access point, I would definitely advise against online banking or passing of sensitive material over that connection.
•Location of the swimming pool is bad, its right on the corner and in plain sight of passing traffic since the hotel is on an intersection, also the pool is 3.5 ft deep and about 12ft in length so its usefulness very limited
•No gym nor fitness centre : if you’re on a dedicated vacation and are planning to do a lot of sight-seeing then this isn’t an issue but if you’re on business and usually workout in the mornings or evenings then this can be inconvenient


That being said I enjoyed my stay there, thanks housekeeping, you’re far more efficient than some high-end hotels I’ve stayed, four thumbs up.

Room Tip: Suites on the third floor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We re-visited Coronado Island, California... a favorite destination. We were able to book this Best Western at a very reasonable price. The room was bright,clean and had a kitchenette. the best part was the location, walking distance to the ferry landing,small shops,and our favorite
food store "Boney's" bayside whole foods store.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was attending a conference at the Del but they were booked up when I decided to attend. The Best Western Plus cannot compare directly with the Del but it was a great value and alternative. The walk to the Del was about a mile and very pleasant and just a couple of blocks in the other direction took me to the ferry with many restaurants and a great view of the city.

I did not take advantage of the free breakfast but the bed was very comfortable and the room in the back and on the third floor was very quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overseas, Best Westerns are a well kept secret. I often look for them when I travel internationally, as they are usually a decent 3 -4 star boutique in great locations (E.g. London, Paris). But in the US Best Westerns are a little more touch and go, --- usually reliably clean, but by no means upscale.
This BW is one of the best. Simple rooms, clean and comfortable, nice little courtyard for breakfast, coffee in the lobby and snacks all day. Parking was also a breeze, which is a big deal in Coronado. Location was excellent. Though it was not smack in the middle of the main drag, it was a nice little walk, less than a mile away. We rented bikes and cruised all over the island.
The best part.... having racked up a few nights at BW's in London and Washington state - this stay was free! We splurged on dinner at the boat house instead. So do join the BW frequent traveller program, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: great value and great location in a pricey touristy town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.