We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs Yikes!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
cos
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs Yikes!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Trip to San Diego and had to book close to the stay. For the price, the room was spacious and was able to accommodate the 3 of us very comfortably. The room appeared to be clean. The breakfast was barely OK so we only ate in the hotel once. Parking was easy and free which was a big plus. On the down side: the room was a little worn, nothing too bad, BUT each morning I woke up with a bite or two on my legs and one morning with bites all over my lower back - first time in all my travels that I encountered bed bugs - I didn't realize it was bed bugs until the bites on my back the last night I stayed. There was no apology from the staff or show of surprise that I was so inconvenienced. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
44
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My sister and I met in San Diego for the Green Bay - Chargers football game and mini vacation. The pricey hotels on the beach would not accept a 3 night stay, but we were directed to the Best Western Suites who were able to accomodate us at half the rate of the pricey beach properties! Our expectations were overdelivered upon! Perfect location.....shops and restaurants with in a block, two blocks to the city ferry and a lovely 15 minute walk to the beach. Staff outstanding, room great (fridge), no disturbing noise (weekend with full occupancy), ammenities better than the Hiltons I stay at! We loved the location, and plan to bring back other family members to this hotel next trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Our only complaints were, we had arrived at the airport early in the morning and called them right away to see if we could check in early. They told us to call in the early afternoon. We could not check in until 3:00 PM. We felt that they should have been able to accommodate our request. We also stayed in a 4 star hotel in downtown San Diego and felt that it was better value, as it was less per night than the Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed the weekend here in a suite with one king and a pullout in the next room. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. There was a small fridge and microwave and they had very good soap shampoo and conditioner. Staff was friendly and they had a breakfast that was pretty good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I took the advise of Trip advisor reviews and booked the Best Western for our short stay on Coronado Island. Nice clean rooms, quiet and walking distance to the city and beach. However, if you need to carry a lot of beach stuff, you can easily drive and find FREE parking if you go early. The room was neat and clean. Nothing fancy, but comfortable for a family of 3 or 4. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleeson. AZ
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My family had three rooms at this hotel, all were clean and plenty of room for what we required. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly, there wasn't anything we asked that they didn't have an answer for. The location was close to the Ferry landing and Marketplace which had a number of restaurants and plenty of shopping. The hotel is conveniently located to the downtown (Coronado) area, everything including the beach is in walking distance. The location is very convenient to the bridge that takes you to and from San Diego. The ferry is a short 15 minute ride to the downtown area, drops you very close the the US Midway museum. This drop off point is also a short walk to the Gaslamp district.

If you are looking for fancy, go somewhere else. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, great price and an excellent staff you want to stay here.

Room Tip: We had all ground floor rooms, facing the courtyard, very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, NB
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very nice hotel at reasonable rates for the area. It's not on the shore but only a 5-10 minute walk away. It's in a very nice neighborhood with other hotels, residences, restaurants, shops all within walking distance. A little complex of restaurants and shops is by the shore just a short walk away. You get an amazing view of the downtown skyline from many of the restaurants. The rooms at the hotel are very nice, clean and quite spacious. There are choices of regular rooms, which are still bigger than normal or one bedroom suites. There is free underground parking and free breakfast. We never had any problems and would recomment this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island

Address: 275 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coronado
Coronado Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.