We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little off the beaten path but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
(619) 437-4237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Burley, ID
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten path but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This restaurant is back through an alley way but the food/atmosphere and service is all excellent. We went with a large family (7) ranging in age from 11 to 66. Everyone was delighted with the restaurant. The atmosphere was festive and fun. The service was "the best". The food was some of the best Mexican food I have had. I had the Enchilada's Suiza which is my normal request and Mexican restaurants. These were really good but the chicken could have been chopped a little thinner. The beverages were really good. The value was also very good. We
came for lunch and were in and out in less than an hour. If you are in the neighborhood of the Hotel Del. Drop in. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    199
    79
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Margaritas and chips with good neighbors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is ALWAYS a stop for us when we are in Coronado, a tradition going back many years. This time was to grab a margarita before my next door neighbor returned home to Scottsdale.

Staff is always attentive and the chips and salsa AND white sauce are perfect. The ultimate margarita is just that, enjoyed by all the adults.

We got there early, before the dinner crowd and we seated immediately. Always a great atmosphere in the open air courtyard.

Will probably return again later this week as, like a potato chip, you just can't have one.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This restaurant has a great environment. Very lively and fun. While waiting for a table, you can serve yourself chips and salsa. The food is average, it doesn't have that authentic Mexican taste but it's still good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Authentic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Enjoyed it completely! Excellent appetizers, margaritas and service. A place not to be missed. I will absolutely recommend it and cant wait to go back next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun Location and Average Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I ate at this restaurant last night with a large party (20+). The waitstaff was attentive and we were well served.

It is located in a charming courtyard retail area. A place that is kind of difficult to find, but has parking nearby.

The atmosphere was fun - a bustling restaurant on a Thursday night and the small rooms make it feel intimate.

The food was average Mexican fare with a few special items such as bacon wrapped shrimp which was delicious.

I would return for the atmosphere alone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel's Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.