We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
(619) 437-4237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

10 of us descended on Miguel's for a fast lunch and although there is a patio, we chose to sit inside where we could have a bit more privacy. We were next to the kitchen and quite frankly with all the friendly wait staff passing by our table, it just added to the atmosphere and our sense of welcome.

.We needed to eat lunch quickly and we had some kids with us but they had both of those bases covered. Not being familiar with all of the different choices of Mexican food, the staff was very helpful and their recommendations were perfect for everyone. Their local beer was great and the brave one among us who chose the deep fried jalapeno peppers found them suitably hot. We were in and out in less than an hour which suited us fine.

On our next visit we are going back there for an evening meal because the covered patio would be wonderful on a warm evening and it would be a great place to spend some time having a meal. .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    238
    94
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I shared the combo plate. The atmosphere is great, the food is wonderful and the service was top notch, We would definitely go again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was here on a girls trip for 7 days and we ate here 2 of them. They had a great menu choice and we're offering a happy hour special! Margaritas were great and the service was great also! The atmosphere was great, it's tucked back into a little corner. It's mostly outside eating but there's a cover! I Will definitely visit here again the next time I'm in Coronado!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ate dinner here 2 of the 4 nights in Coronado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Coronado from April 6-10 2014, and enjoyed 2 dinners here at Miguel's. We also found one in Old town and had dinner there one night....so 3 out of 4 nights in the San Diego area we dined at Miguel's. I guess you can tell we liked it!

I had the fish tacos 2 nights and the carne de asada the 3rd. My husband had fajitas, fish tacos and a chimichanga respectively. All were vert good.

The soups are excellent here as well. We enjoyed the al fresco dining in Coronado one evening and dined inside the other 2. I loved dining outside on the lit sidewalk, it was very festive.

Margaritas are also really good and are served with the shaker so it's a good sized drink.

We felt it was reasonably priced, our dinners were all large portions that were very well prepared, and the service was prompt and courteous.

If you are in the area and enjoy good Mexican food you'll like Miguel's Cocina!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious casual place across from The Hotel Del”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great casual place in Coronado. We have an infant so this place was perfect, the noice level was higher so a baby fits in great here. We sat outside, it felt like we were in Mexico! The food was good, I had the fish tacos. It was a nice change from all the more dinners we were having. I would recommend for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel's Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.