We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Environment great, food not so great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
(619) 437-4237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
“Environment great, food not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The environment, the staff and the service was great.

I was very disappointed with the food, but my wife is from Mexico, so I have been tainted with authentic mexican food.

The salsa was not good. Tasted manufactured and not home made. The rice with my dinner tasted like it was out of a box. The beans were soso. I ordered carne asada with my meal. The quality of the meat was not very good and I was looking for some Miguel's special seasoning and I did not find it.

It was our last meal on Coronado island as our vacation ended. I am glad I experienced Miguel's. Maybe next time I wont eat dinner, just drinks and an appetizer or dessert. Great fun place to hang! Just dont excpect a lot from the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    200
    79
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My whole family, even the kids loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were trying to find something to eat late on Saturday night, chose this fr trip advisor reviews, and were glad we did. You have to pay close attention or you will drive right past this place. We are from Texas and our favorite Mexican resturaunt is Chuys. We would rate this with that. Everything was tasty in our opinion and after that for the next three days in San Diego our kids kept asking to go back. So before leaving we ended up at the one on Old Town area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have eaten at this location previously, but its been a couple of years. Ordered the shrimp burrito, was so so. Husband had his usual order of beef taco and cheese enchilada. He was satisfied. Chips were ok, salsa ok. Did like the cheese dip but needed extra "punch." Service was very good but noise level on the patio grew to be annoying. Place does get very busy and very loud!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but did not enjoy our meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Miguel's has a great atmosphere, both indoor and outdoor seating. Chips were fresh and hot and salsa was good. Quesadilla appetizer was great. Unfortunately neither of us liked our dinners. I had the chef special shrimp tacos...the shrimp tasted frozen and I couldn't eat it. Hotel concierge recommended it but we did not enjoy it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Patio dining in a pretty courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We went with friends and sat outside in the courtyard and had a very pleasant dinner. The food was very good. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel's Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.