We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel's Cocina

Miguel's Cocina
1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
(619) 437-4237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 81 restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very popular - a 40 minute wait (pager provided), but free nachos and salsa while you wait.

Standard Mexican fare - the margaritas lack bite and almost certainly are not made with fresh lime juice, despite their cost.

Overall the food filled a gap but we found it all a bit bland, but if you want Mexican food on Coronado there aren't many alternatives.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    209
    160
    58
    23
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very cool restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friend had already visited (and recommended) Miguel's, so we went there for dinner one night. SO glad we did! It's tucked in behind/amongst the buildings, so it's a little hard to find, but so worth the search! There was a pretty decent line/wait time and I was really hoping that meant it was a really good place to eat... well, turns out that's exactly what it meant! The food is fantastic! The queso dip is out of this world and the fish tacos are excellent! They have a margarita bar in front, so you can sip while you wait and also they have chips and salsa available to tide you over until you get a table. Great find!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The chips and salsa alone make it a must stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ate here on a Friday night - had to wait about 15 minutes - they served us "adult beverages" while we waited and we were able to snack on chips and salsa, too! Not a bad way to wait! The food was very good, service and prices were good, too! I liked this place a lot!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Took some out of town relatives there for lunch when we took the Old Town Trolley to Coronado. Lots of variety and good margaritas. A nice afternoon, not too busy, good atmosphere and nice staff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mediocre food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Our food was cold, waitress brought the wrong drink as we finished our meal. They should have offered to reduce our bill, but all we got was a weak apology. Cross this place off your list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel's Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.