We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you can do better elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Sail
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“you can do better elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

My family stayed in an executive suite March 18-23. We were attracted to Loews b/c of honors it had garnered for best family resort, etc. The property and its programs (or lack thereof) fell well short of my expectations. First off, you should be aware that this property is located far away from any other amenities on Coronada. Moreover, it is not on the beach. To access the beach, you catch a ride on a golf cart to travel to the other side of the road = you are on your own once there = no beachside service, etc. As for the pools, they are quite nice.

The overall property has a nice layout, though it is scrunched into small peninsula. We stayed in an executive suite. This room works well for familes traveling with small children b/c you can close the door to the adjacent room to allow for early bedtime w/o forcing the same for yourself. Note: the sleeper sofa is a joke of a bed, especially for an upper upscale hotel. Be aware as well that the front desk may assign you a handicap room w/o telling so--and the handicap room doesn't have a tub.

Be forewarned if you are choosing this hotel b/c Loews Loves Kids. This is marketing more so than truth. The Kids program did not operate during our stay (even though it is hyped on an info. page you receive with your morning paper) and no one there seemed to know why (or when it actually does operate).
Be aware, as well, that the property attracts business groups, which takes away some of the vacation vibe.


We had an unfortunate last night at the property. From 9 p.m. to just past midnight we had to deal with load noises from a crew loading trade show booths into a truck. The noise was excessive and disrupted our sleep and awoke our children more than once. We complained to the night manager more than once. He would claim ignorance of the noise and promise to get right to it, but it never played out that way. It is clear to me that management was intent on letting the crew finish their task and the guests be damned. So be forewarned: you are not a guest at Loews, you are a source of revenue.

One last complaint: I have to join others in complaining about the $17/night parking charge. There is no need for this charge; it is essentially a dishonest way of charging more for your room than the rate that you are quoted.

Conclusion: We moved on from the Loews to the Four Seasons Aviara. I expected Aviara to blow away the Loews and it did. But this was easy since Loews had set the hurdle so low. My reccomendation is to chose a different hotel than the Loews.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    570
    236
    127
    61
See reviews for
573
582
48
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

My husband, myself and two children (ages 6 and 9) stayed here March 14-18, 2006. Overall I would say it is not worth the price. There are five buildings, we were put in the fifth one which is a long walk to the lobby, especially with kids. Getting a quick cup of coffee or snack is very inconvenient. For $270/night we had a very small room with two double beds, not queen. Nothing out of the ordinary about the room. The pools, there are three, looked very nice, but it was too cold to swim and there was not an indoor one. The location of the hotel was an issue for us, it is not by downtown Coronado so you have to drive to restaurants etc. if you don't want to eat at the hotel. The restaurants are okay, but the food is over priced for what it is. The staff was very professional and helpful. If you are going in the summer when you can utilize the pool area and just want to relax at the hotel, I think this would be fine, but I would choose a downtown hotel next time for convenience to other destinations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

I stayed at this resort 3/8-3/12. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room felt a bit dated and worn out, but it was clean. It did not feel like a "resort" however, which is unfortunate because it is quite isolated. The rental car was vital! Just a short drive to the cute shops and restaurants of Coronado and an extra 15 minutes to San Diego. I ate at the "Market Place Cafe" and 2 out of 3 meals were good. Reliable, safe options for lunch. Don't try the calamari appetizer though! The waiter was kind enough to take it off our bill because we complained.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Yes - it's on Coronado Bay - and it's a Loews - but that's it.

The hotel is isolated. The restaurant and rooms are average. The fitness center is not free. And it's not truly a resort (it has a swimming pool and a dock to the bay).

The place does not have a "wow" factor either (lobby/pool)

The rooms are clean and the staff is polite. But I expect more from a "Loews" and a place that calls itself a "resort."

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

Based on a fabulous stay at the Loews Royal Pacific Resort (in Orlando, FL) my wife and I stayed at this location for four nights. Unfortunately not up to the same standards as the Royal Pacific. Quite a distance from San Diego and Coronado (a cab ride into central Coronado cost about $20 one way, we ended up saving money by renting a car after two days. If you enjoy isolation, this is the place for you. Very long walk from the lobby to our room (in building #5 of 5). Our room was at the end of a very long hallway next to the entrance that staff used to deliver newspapers in the AM. They need to be a little quieter and try to avoid running up the metal stairs from the outside and slamming doors. We could also hear every footstep of the guests upstairs. Nice room, great view of the bay, sunrise was very pretty (thanks to the newspaper staff ;-) ).

Service in the lobby lounge was mediocre at best, the server seemed to be quite inexperienced and quite slow. Service in the Market Cafe was quite frankly a disappointment, very slow, cold food and spotty and often surly staff. Just remember that you are pretty much trapped for breakfast as there is nothing else even remotely close by.

The fitness center charges $10 per use.

I'll give Loews one more chance because right now I've experienced the very good (Royal Pacific) and the mediocre (Coronado Bay).

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2006

My mother and I stayed at Loews Coronado Bay Resort to celebrate her 60th birthday and have a girls' trip. The resort was perfect. I enjoyed opening our balcony door every morning and watching hummingbirds in the beautiful flora of the garden. We took advantage of the spa treatments and enjoyed delicious breakfasts every morning in the Market Cafe. The pool area is beautiful, and the jacuzzis are a relaxing treat. We loved the location because it was secluded from San Diego and Coronado, but both were very close if you needed or wanted to see the sights.

We rented a car and enjoyed much of San Diego but enjoyed retiring back at the resort at the end of every day. The resort staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One day we rented mountain bikes from the resort and biked into Coronado and explored the town, which was fantastic! I highly recommend this resort to families, couples, and anyone who wants to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

We stayed at this hotel after a hectic week travelling around west coast. It was a beautiful hotel in a relaxing location but just too far from civilisation. The market restaurant which we thought would be low key was in fact more like an expensive restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful when it came to getting taxi's but unfortunately we had to do it far too often. The pools were great and the place was quiet. If that's what you're looking for it's ideal. The only problem with the room was that the hotel provides pet facilities and we were situated nextdoor to a noisy dog. Coronado is a fantastic island with a lovely town centre. San Diego is a great city if we went back we'd stay there and see more of it.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.