We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2005

Not at all impressed really. As British travelers, we expect a great deal less than the more discerning and critical American market and are renowned for declining to complain. We were actually put in a room where the bathroom was specially adapted for the Disabled! No-one had mentioned this to us but there was only a shower, albeit a large one with a fold-down seat. I think at least we should have been told this and the reasons for it. There was only one chair and a table on our cramped balcony - I requested another chair and the one they brought us was the filthiest thing I've ever seen! Really ingrained dirt and impossible to remove - it should have been scrapped years ago. The view from the balcony was really bad, though I accept that someone had to have it. Our friends who we travelled with hired a refrigerator and it also was very grubby and dirty - they actually asked for someone to come and clean it, which they did. Miles away from Coronado itself and really isolated - nowhere to walk to etc.
We had done a tour of the USA ending up in Coronado, where we have stayed before (at the Marriott which beats this hands down, believe me!). This was without doubt the most disappointing aspect of the holiday, which had otherwise been fabulous. I agree also with the prices of everything - I even spotted a packet of salted peanuts in the Hotel shop which were $9!
Loews has a long way to go on this and I am struggling to find much nice to say about it, sorry.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    632
    255
    136
    68
See reviews for
640
649
52
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

My husband and I stayed here from 18-25 June. I have travelled extensively all around the world and can honestly say I thought the hotel was lovely and can't understand all the negative reviews.

We had a deluxe room with bay view in building 2. Room was big and clean (nothing looked worn or old or threadbare), bathroom was big with lovely walk in shower and separate bath. Housekeeping was excellent.

The staff at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. We had the champagne Sunday brnch at the hotel which was excellent (especially if you like champagne!), we also ate lunch in the Market Cafe one day and dinner in the Azzura Pointe restaurant - both were excellent. Had room service breakfast one day which was also very good.

Pool was good - not too crowded when we were there. Plenty of sunbeds and food/drink very good from the poolside restaurant.

Yes, the hotel is secluded, but not a problem if you have a car. We had a really relaxing stay, but also managed to do stuff (zoo, Old Town, Gaslamp District etc.).

I can assure you, if the hotel was bad, I'd be the first to complain. Go and enjoy yourselves and don't go looking for problems.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband and 2 children. Checked into an Executive Suite on the 3rd floor of building 4 ( this hotel is sprawling ). We were not offered or given a map at check in. Upon walking into our room we were hit with a terrible mold/athletic shoe smell. My 9 year old said it "smelled like a wet dog." The views out our windows (room faces 2 directions) was fantastic. Realizing that the rest of the hotel probably smelled the same, be kept the room.

Rooms are very dated. Both rooms of the suite were quite large. Bathroom is large, but space is not used well. There was a very large tub in our suite, but an extremely small shower stall.

Carpet in room was thread bare.
Bath towels were large and nice.
Bed very hard, good down pillows.
Came home with lots of "bug" bites that we all got while sleeping.
Pool was nice but nothing special.
Food in all the restaurants and room service was just okay.
Lobby and hallways have dated technicolor carpeting.
Housekeeping very loud in hallways.

The beach is a good 10 minute walk. Hotel has a golf cart shuttle service.
My kids took surf lessons set up with the conceirge and loved it.

Self parking was "discounted" to $10 a day.
You must have a car at this hotel, as it is not close to anything else.

All said I would remain extremely neurtal on Loews Coronado Bay Resort and would try somewhere else next time we visited Coronado.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

We had encountered problems from the beginning- we had challenges making reservations a couple weeks ago, which we tried resolve with the reservations manager, but the more detailed questions we asked her, the more hesitant she became. We deicided to give it another shot based on the recent reviews on Advisor, and called later that night and spoke with the manager at the front desk, and we were given a little more help and booked somes rooms. As knowlegeable as he was answering all our questions- (we had a varying age group to please), the resort was not what we were expecting. We had ants in the room on our first night and the rooms were much smaller than we thought they would be for a "resort".
All the other Coronado/San Diego attractions are not as close as we thought they would be, and even though we thought we could get away with not renting a car especially with the gas prices,our teenagers were bored quickly, and that ended up being our only option. To get to the beach you have to go across the street by going under it, and it's not a quick walk. There are golf carts, but we had gotten tired of waiting, and ended up walking both days we chose to go.
The staff we encountered in the main areas were friendly and the pool was nice. The housekeeping staff was extremely helpful especially when we needed extra towels and such.
But this resort is one for those who welcome seclusion and do not really care to see too much more of San Diego easily. I do agree with the other reviewer that too many of the little things add up after you are paying their $200 rates. It was okay, but we thought we would get more out of the resort itself and less hassle for the money we were paying.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

I recently stays at the Loews with my family for a conference. The Loews Coronado Bay resort is a good choice for those looking to get away as it is secluded away from the main area of Coronado.

This hotel is excellent in all aspects but not truly outstanding in any. The lobby is beautiful and the grounds are nice. The rooms are good, but not great. The bathrooms are very large, but frankly, not all that impressive. They have a separate shower and a large tub (not jetted). They would have been better served to have made a smaller bathroom and have more space in the rooms.

There is a stocked mini-bar in the roon, but it is not cool enough to keep items like yogurt and milk that we needed for our toddler. So we had to request a separate refrigerator.

The service is professional, and friendly (though not overly so). We made a number of reqeusts - refrig, high-chair, socket plugs and all were taken care of.

The food in the hotel is excellent though as typical for this type of hotel, over priced.

My kids loved the pool - may have been the warmest pool i have ever been in - it was at least 20-25 degrees warmer than the air. I didn't make it to the fitness facility but others said it was excellent. They also had a game room with 11 video games. If you have kids request a treasure map. The kids fill it out and then turn it in at RRR's market for free icr cream or cookie.

If you want to go to the beach it is about a 10-12 minute walk or they will take you in a shuttle.

You will need a car if you want to go anywhere.

My one issue with the hotel, and it is typical of many of this class is the nickel and dime charges. When you are already paying $200+ a night, do you really need to charge for every little extra. To use the connection in the room was $13 per day. If you went to the business center it was $5 plus $0.40 per minute. Parking was $15 if you self-parked, $20 valet. THese are really unnecessary charges and are simply nothing more than price gauging.

Overall it was a good experience, not really worth $200+, but if you can get it good for that and went quiet, professional service this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2005

Went with another couple who ultimately chose this property for our weekend getaway. Good location; several pools with plenty of seating and tables; good service at the pool bar; good food at the pool bar; good breakfasts in the restaurants; great views from the rooms; complimentary parking. Our first room had a beautiful bath and an awesome view but double beds so we were promptly moved to a room with a king-sized bed. (NOT the hotel's fault, but our friends'.) The bathroom was "typical", nothing special, but we still had a nice room with a terrific view of the pools. Only complaint: the concierge's recommendation for a restaurant. Apparently she thinks "as expensive as possible" equates to "the best". In my mind, service and food determine quality; price doesn't.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2005

Loews Coronado is a beautiful resort for business travelers and adults. The hotel grounds were immaculate. The spa and fitness center were top notch! The pool area was quiet and relaxing.

We were traveling for leisure. The desk put us in a bungalow that sat right on the bay. The kayaks drifted by throughout the day and the Navy ships came and went throughout our entire stay. The view of the city was beautiful. But, our room was not clean - a dirty wine glass and undergarments were found on the floor - yuck! We had to ask management to send the maid twice before the items were removed!

The food in the restaurant was very good. The breakfast buffet was excellent!

If you are looking for a beach resort, this is not your hotel. The hotel is a mile or two from the town of Coronado and across the main road from the beach. It is walkable, but you have to go through security to get there. You must have access to a car to get anywhere.

Overall we had a fabulous stay. The town of Cornado was exactly as we expected it to be. A small town atmosphere only a few minutes from all the wonderful ammenities of on of one of the largest cities in the U.S.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.