We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had the best spa treatment ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and Sail
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I had the best spa treatment ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I've been to quite a few different spas and had quite a few different treatments. But I have to say that I really enjoyed my spa experience this last time at Sea Spa, the Loews Coronado bay Resort's spa. I had the Signature Treatment. It started with a sugar and coconut oil scrub, fantastic. Exfoilating all the dead skin cells on my body. And then was washed off by the vichey shower, an overhead 4 shower head streaming warm/hot shower, cleansing me and melting the sugar away for about 10 minutes. Then I was moved to another room where I had a hot stone massage that was wonderful that culminated with a warm parrifin wax treatment on my feet. WOW! It was incredible and I highly recommend it to anyone who really likes to be pampered. My spa masseuse was Julie and she was great!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    532
    223
    124
    54
See reviews for
544
517
45
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Some friends and I stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend, two of us had been to the hotel years ago when it was nice. We were very suprised at the condition of the hotel. nice on the outside and great location but inside """"whew.

I will start with the reason I had to review the hotel. I stay in hotels a lot for business and rely on the reviews for my decisions and I wish I had more reviews for this hotel. Wireless is 15.95 in the room and free in the lobby- Why?

The carpet inside the hotel walkways was out of date, shabby, they did have a sign to apologize for construction but they should have something on the website to let guest know that the Adult hot tub is out of order, parking may be limited due to construction. That the hotel is under construction - A whole wing was closed!

When we arrived the elevator was broke and we had to use the service (dirty) elevator but for a while there was no sign to indicate that it was not working. Saturday night they had a major event and we arrived back after a night out and there was no parking and all of the fire lanes were blocked (not good). There were prom and graduation events going on and parties/noise on our floor (where was security?). We drove around for several minutes to locate parking and could not understand why the hotel did not secure parking for its own guest.
Our room was nice not quite an ocean view but a corner view of water and this will do if you are from another state and will take anything but not if you are paying $200 a nite and $22 for parking.

They were overbooked and some guest we met waited until after 5pm on Saturday to get into their room.
Management should have done a better job of trying to make it right for customers who visited this weekend and paid more than they should have for less than acceptable accommodations.

The locations was nice and we did have a good time but the price we paid did not match the quality.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My family stayed at the Loews over Memorial Day weekend. We got a 2 for 1 deal which allowed us to book one King and the other with two double beds which worked perfectly. Our two girls (10 & 6) enjoyed having their own rooms and beds which was preferable over sharing a sofa bed in a suite.

We got there around noon, but we were able to check into one of the rooms, and when we the other room was available the front desk called us to let us know. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We also had a nice view of the San Diego bay from the rooms.

The hotel has three different pools, one for adults, one for Family's (which is the largest pool) and a kids pool. Since it was still early in the summer the pools were heated and were comfortable enough for the kids to spend pretty much all day in the pools. Also, they had a buffet at the pool which was all you can eat between 1-5 that was a decent value, but would have been better with either desert or sodas included (which they weren't). One nice thing that is that kids under 5 eat free.

On Memorial Day weekend the hotel has two nice events for familys at night. They had smores and a campfire on Friday night, and a "dive in movie" on Saturday where the pools are open and they put up a big screen and show a family movie (Hotel for Dogs this year). Our kids enjoyed both events.

We ate at the Market Cafe restaurant a few times. The meals weren't anything spectacular but they were fine, although the breakfast buffet on Sunday had a good selection. Again, kids under 5 eat free.

The one issue is that if you like walking places, the hotel isn't really super close to anything. It's about a 4 mile drive into the main area of Coronado, and the hotel is on a Marina as opposed to the Beach. It's about a 15 minute drive to the Zoo, and probably 25 minutes to Sea World.

Generally we had a great time at the Loews and plan on going back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Stayed at Loews for a few days during Easter Break.We had booked a marina/pool view room and paid extra.On check in we were allocated a room facing the car park and stacks of shipping containers.On stating that this was not acceptable the reception infomed me that this was an upgrade. I insisted on having my original room if this was an upgrade!! It took until the third room offered until we saw a marina/pool view!!!! The room was newly decorated to a high standard and we were happy with it.Dining in the hotel in the evening is an experience not to be repeated.One night we ate in the formal resturant (dreadful) and the next night in the informal resturant ( even worse). The cold pizza that eventually arrived was inedible and I sent it back to the kitchen. There was no acceptable level of staff service .We asked for a manager and got a full refund immediately.I believe the chef had given notice and left suddenly which would explain the chaos in the kitchen.We paid quite a lot of money to stay here and it was very disappointing because it could have been great.The Dell next time!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

I live in SD, but wanted a local getaway. This was $149/night on Travelocity for a Garden Room. We were top floor with views of the Coronado bridge, and downtown. Pool was great, but the best was the room. Looked recently remodeled...huge tub, glass shower, neat tile with bamboo accents. Really top notch. Hit up the spa while I was there...it was pricey...but it is a resort.

There is a $23 charge for parking that is unavoidable...but I knew that going in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

very nice room and excellent view. Staff very friendly and polite. We were given a $500 credit for food and drinks for staying over 6 days but we were charged for getting drinks and food from the gift shop. Manager wouldn't help out at check out and thought that was very poor customer service since we asked 3 different staff members about the gift shop. Other than that episode, we were pleased with our staying at Loew's.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed for 3 days at this resort. Its beautiful, the staff is very professional and the room and the view from the room was spectacular. The room was up to date in decor, it had a seaside theme and a flat screen tv , the bathroom was very big and spacious. We loved it. The only downside is it being so far from downtown coronado, we had to take a taxi every time we wanted to go into san diego or coronado. Next time we will rent a cab or stay closer to the mainland. Otherwise, our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.