We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Tickets to the Zoo
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Love this hotel and the service is stupendous one in particular was very friendly (Carlos Contreras) in The Market. The in room massage was really relaxing and the service was great. Suites have spacious jacuzzis.

Room Tip: The suites are perfect and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're so pleased that you loved the hotel and found our service to be "stupendous" -- notably from Carlos in the Market. We'll happily pass along your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    675
    268
    144
    77
See reviews for
685
690
52
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the end of a family RV trip down the coast. Wow - what a relief to find good rooms with excellent beds, a superb service and exceptional staff (Chuck the Bar Manager in particular)....he really made a difference to our stay. All in all, it's a good hotel with helpful staff, 3 good pools, fairly-priced food and a well stocked bar. I have noticed some negative comments and can't really understand how it could be such a different place to two families there at the same time but I guess it may come down to what you pay. If you can pay less than 300 bucks for the night then you've done well and I would strongly suggest you book a 3 night stay and chill.

Room Tip: We looked over the bay but the poolside rooms work fine as well.
See more room tips
Green Features: All good. They seemed to do their bit. We certainly filled the recycle bin every day.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you enjoyed your guestroom and experienced superb service from our staff -- from Chuck, in particular. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here as part of a wedding block. It is a beautiful hotel and resort. We had a little trouble with reservations. Found it was best to do online, but the staff and amenities were wonderful. The location was beautiful. Coronado is a beautiful place to vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and amenities, as well as found our resort and location to be beautiful. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Summer vacation brought us to coronado bay - Loews. We stayed for 10 nights at the end of July. The resort was beautiful - our room was clean and recently renovated. We dined at all the options at Loews - personally I loved the pool side mexican food. We didn't have a car and felt isolated at times. We did rent a car for a few days though right on site. Spent a day at the beach which was lovely - note they offer sand toys, umberallas, towels right at the beach so we didn't need to spent 125.00 at walmart getting beach gear. Would return - loved every minute.

Room Tip: Building 1 - has no animals and is closest to lobby/pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your summer vacation at Loews Coronado Bay. We're thrilled that you loved every minute during your stay and that you enjoyed our newly-renovated guestrooms, dining offerings and beach amenities. We hope to welcome you back to the resort during your next trip to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Was there for a work conference overall I thought it was very good:

Pros:
- Clean rooms
- Good sized rooms
- Lots of amenities: Pool, Hot tub, Basketball, Tennis, Yoga studio, fitness center
- Restaurant Patio that overlooks the water
- Rooms have patios
- Near beaches, bike paths, running
- walking distance and shuttle to near by community center (kayaking, sailing, surfing)

Cons
- Marketplace was expensive $4.32 for small bottle of water
- Wifi is slow (it is free so i can't complain too much) Also have paid - premium service.

Overall It was really good and I had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased that you found your overall experience to be very good, and that you enjoyed our newly-renovated guestrooms, resort amenities and restaurant patio. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband I had an amazing stay at Loews. We loved every minute of it. The lobby is breathtaking. We enjoyed the excellent food at the Market (Black bean burger and Salmon dish) restaurant and drinks from the bar. Our room was even more gorgeous than we had expected (Bay View king suite). The thing that we enjoyed the most about the resort was the location. Coronado island is incredible because of the beautiful city skyline on one side, and an ocean view on the other. We loved the secludedness of being on an island and the activities that the city (just 15 minutes away) provided. We plan to visit again in the future.

Upon arriving, we were helped by Callie - who we are quite thankful for. She was courteous, inviting, and efficient. We felt welcome to ask questions or ask for assistance. She was very clear in explaining the resort and fees, etc. This was very important to us. Because of excellent service and a beautiful location, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Bay view is definitely worth it for the gorgeous sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you and your husband loved every minute of your amazing stay at Loews Coronado Bay, and that you enjoyed our newly-renovated lobby, our delicious food offerings and location. It's also wonderful to hear that Callie provided excellent service and was attentive to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great time at Loews Resort! The kids loved the many pools and activities such as movie night at the pool and Smores night. These were great activities for the kids.
The concierge's were absolutely awesome!!! (I wish I could remember their names) They were so helpful in getting places to eat, surf boards, and getting tourist attractions.
Also, the staff that helped get to and from the beach were absolutely terrific! (Really appreciated Alan Angeles help as well as others)
We spent 6 days there and it was really great and were glad that we had awesome weather as well. Thanks for a great place to spend a vacation.
Donovan

Room Tip: We had a partial view with a balcony... Next time I am going to see what a room upgrade looks like...
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle and have a specific basket for your recyclables... that was cool.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions, Donovan. We're delighted that you and your family had a great time at the resort and that the kids loved the fun pool activities. We're also pleased that our staff was so helpful and attentive to your needs. We'll happily share your kudos with our team and we hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
4.4 mi away
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
4.2 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
17.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#12 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 3,430 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marriott Coronado Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.