We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Sail
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The staff was very attentive and helpful. Great pool area (with three pools - one just for the kids and one just for the adults and one for all) and marina. Our room had a great view of the bay and was very quiet. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The amenities were great too. This was a good place to relax and I was able to get some work done too. For me, the only downside was that other than the resort and its restaurants there are not many choices within walking distance. I did not have a car so taking a taxi to Coronado was about $20. The hotel does have a shuttle; make a reservation. The resort does offer free wi-fi which is a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're delighted that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful, and that you enjoyed both our newly-renovated guestrooms and resort amenities. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    570
    235
    127
    60
See reviews for
571
582
48
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location. Rooms could use a bit of an upgrade. Pool areas are great with friendly staff. Good restaurant and options that keep you on the property. Good views of Marina and San Diego looking North. Be aware of the high fees associated with your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're pleased that you enjoyed our location, pool deck and variety of restaurants here at the resort. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As a resort Loews is spectacular in its own right. A fabulous property with great views and amenities, only to be surpassed by an awesome customer service. They go above and beyond - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled that you found Loews Coronado Bay to be a spectacular and fabulous property with our views, amenities and customer service. We'll happily share your feedback with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for three nights near the end of a road trip down the Californian Coast. The hotel is very impressive and loads of things to do and see. The location is great as it juts out into the bay surrounded by a marine with great views over to San Diego. The rooms were spacious and very clean with a big balcony overlooking the bay. The restaurant did great food for both dinner and breakfast. The pool area was great with waiter/waitress service from the pool cafe and separate heated kids, family and adult pools. Great use was made of the ample table tennis also. A complimentary shuttle bus service runs to the centre of Coronado (although booking is required). WiFi is also free everywhere! Negatives for this hotel were the self parking fee of $28 per day which is unavoidable as there is nowhere to park anywhere nearby (this has got to be scrapped as it drags down my opinion of an otherwise great hotel). Also one day it seemed room service was distracted as coffee making facilities weren't replenished (with used coffee cups still there) and a half drunk can of Dr Pepper left on our desk which belonged to none of us. Overall however, forgiving the rip-off self parking fee, this is a fantastic resort and our favourite hotel of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you found the resort to be impressive and that you enjoyed our newly-renovated guestrooms, pool deck, restaurants and beautiful views. We appreciate your feedback - both positive and negative - and we'll gladly pass your comments along to our management team. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I took her sister here to stay while on a spontaneous trip to the ocean. We arrived at 1:30 PM and they let us check in early. They upgraded our room to a bay-view room at no charge. When we started to walk over to the beach, the valet immediately offered to shuttle us over to the beach on their golf cart. When we arrived at the beach they unlocked the Hotel storage shed at let us have our pick of beach equipment at no charge. I just called the Hotel, when our beach time was over, and the cart shuttle came back for us. The hotel has recently been re-done, and everything is done in good taste. There is a cafe/market right off the lobby that offers alternative food and snack choices from the higher-priced restaurant fare. Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream is 10.00, which is high, but better then a 12.00 root beer float on the restaurant's menu. Coronado Bay area has limited places to stay, this is a great place, it is south of the Navy installation, so it is slightly removed from all the hustle and bustle of the Del Coronado and the shopping district, but still close enough you do not feel secluded. The beach is connected to the resort by a walking/biking/cart path. This particular stretch of beach seems to be populated more with locals, and there are no dogs allowed. If you have taken time to read this review, trust me, you will be very happy with this establishment. I have been telling all my friends about it, since we have been home.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your spontaneous trip to Loews Coronado Bay, experienced a seamless check-in and were able to take advantage of some of our resort amenities. We appreciate you spreading the word to your friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was dirty had to request things multiple times. Dogs barking all night. When trying to give kids a bath the tub would stop up. Wouldn't stay again for the same cost or less you can stay at a much nicer resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your housekeeping service and experienced noise issues, as this is not the norm at Loews. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will pass along your comments to all appropriate areas of the hotel in order to ensure more attentive service. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to address the issues of concern.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Another wonderful visit to Loews Coronado! This time we took advantage of the shuttle service into Coronado townsite. The spa, the views, the accommodating staff all make for a very relaxing stay. Loved watching the sailboats go by! Carol

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you had another wonderful visit to our beautiful resort, and that you were able to take advantage of some of our resort amenities and activities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.