We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Sail
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I originally looked at Hotel del Coronado, but I could not stomach the price. Loews was a great hotel and good value for Coronado Island. I thought the layout, staff and food were good. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're so happy that you found Loews Coronado Bay to be a great hotel, especially in terms of layout, staff and food. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next visit to Coronado.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    570
    235
    127
    61
See reviews for
572
582
48
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We are celebrating a family birthday and Janee and Franklin made the day memorable. The service was great and they were amazing!!! Their attentiveness made for a relaxing day. We never want to leave! The service was truly
Impeccable and it was a great day with the family because they were so helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that Janee and Franklin made your family birthday a memorable one. We will certainly pass along your kind comments about their impeccable service. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice property about 5 miles from downtown Coronado. There is a shuttle that runs to/from downtown every hour (one of the benefits of paying the $25/night resort fee). Because there's no close competition, the food is overpriced ($24/pp breakfast buffet, $8 smoothie at the market, $8 plate of chips and guacamole poolside). We ate at the on-site restaurant our first night and while it was pricey ($15-30/pp) we all thought it tasted very good.

The rooms are nice. We had two connecting rooms that were partial bay views, which were very nice and quiet. We especially liked the large balcony and the separate shower and soaker tub.

What we really loved were the beach amenities. We flew in and didn't have beach equipment, so we loved that the resort provided everything we needed (towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, and sand toys.) There are shuttles to the beach, otherwise it's about a 15-20 minute walk on a path.

The pools were nice with plenty of lounge chairs, though the two hot tubs were small for the amount of people at the resort.

We did a yoga class on the beach (no extra charge), which was very nice. We didn't use the tennis courts or other workout facilities, but they looked decent.

We wanted to rent a sailboat and do a lesson ($30 for 1-hour lesson and $80 for 4-hour sailboat rental) but found out a 24-hour advance reservation is recommended. So we rented a tandem kayak ($30/hour) and a jet ski ($100/hour) instead. It was very convenient having the water sports rentals right at the resort.

The only other complaint we had (besides food price) is that the gaming systems for the teen lounge were run down. Some controllers were broken. My boys were disappointed, but there were plenty of other things to do instead.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We're pleased that you were able to take advantage of some the unique amenities at our beautiful resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We treated ourselves to a stay by the water and we weren't disappointed! I booked a King Room with a partial view. Even with a partial view we could see the bay well from our room. The room was a good size for the four of us. There is a musty smell to the room, and the in room fridge smelled funky, but it wasn't enough to ruin the stay. The pool area was crowded, but the pools are sparkling and clean. The lobby area is lovely. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and they are friendly and efficient. Carlos at the Market Restaurant was wonderful to us, giving us free sorbet and excellent service. The Concierge was very helpful helping us plan our 4th of July day and told us where to see fireworks. The downside is that the hotel is isolated, but they do have a complimentary shuttle that runs into Coronado. In all a very excellent experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Very nice! It was nice to have a recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're thrilled that you found the guestroom to be comfortable and felt that the staff to be welcoming, friendly and efficient. We'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This resort is a little outside of Coronado, but well worth the extra 5 minute drive. Beautiful lobby and rooms with stunning views and great service. I loved the beach shuttle and once your at the beach they provide chairs, towels, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc so you don't have to haul everything. Aimee our beach shuttle driver was not only polite, but truly helpful and fun. The Cays Lounge has the most amazing white peach sangria and our server, Ashley, was the best - friendly, humorous with the perfect amount of attentiveness. Will absolutely stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our stunning views and great service, as well as our resort amenities. Aimee and Ashley are both fantastic assets to the team, and we'll happily pass along your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The 22+ years old property is showing it age in spots. But the bones of this hotel and the flat out friendliness of the employees will win you over. With a group on business/pleasure, the staff was outstanding. All of our rooms had views of the bay and or marinas.

The beds were high quality, a plethora of pillows, and generous amenities.

There is a secret spot at the far back of the property behind the villas (NE corner) overlooking the bridge and downtown. It is one bench that I could sit on all day and watch the world go by.

This resort is a few miles from downtown. But they offer a free shuttle daily to get you back and forth.
The walking path in front will take you under a tunnel to the beach. In the mornings, I was the only person on the beach....an amazing feeling for SOCAL.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back have more bay views...but you walk a lot more to get to them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you were won over by the friendliness of our staff, and that you enjoyed your guestroom. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Basic hotel in a rather isolated location. The lobby and public balconies were lovely, bustling, and noisy. It was difficult to sit on balcony because of the loud noise from the public areas. The room was average with a musty smell and feel.
Concierge was very helpful in identifying restaurants in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your guestroom, as this is clearly not the standard we wish to present. We thank you for your feedback and have shared your comments with our management team. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to address the issues of concern.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.