We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, expensive food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, expensive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice property about 5 miles from downtown Coronado. There is a shuttle that runs to/from downtown every hour (one of the benefits of paying the $25/night resort fee). Because there's no close competition, the food is overpriced ($24/pp breakfast buffet, $8 smoothie at the market, $8 plate of chips and guacamole poolside). We ate at the on-site restaurant our first night and while it was pricey ($15-30/pp) we all thought it tasted very good.

The rooms are nice. We had two connecting rooms that were partial bay views, which were very nice and quiet. We especially liked the large balcony and the separate shower and soaker tub.

What we really loved were the beach amenities. We flew in and didn't have beach equipment, so we loved that the resort provided everything we needed (towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, and sand toys.) There are shuttles to the beach, otherwise it's about a 15-20 minute walk on a path.

The pools were nice with plenty of lounge chairs, though the two hot tubs were small for the amount of people at the resort.

We did a yoga class on the beach (no extra charge), which was very nice. We didn't use the tennis courts or other workout facilities, but they looked decent.

We wanted to rent a sailboat and do a lesson ($30 for 1-hour lesson and $80 for 4-hour sailboat rental) but found out a 24-hour advance reservation is recommended. So we rented a tandem kayak ($30/hour) and a jet ski ($100/hour) instead. It was very convenient having the water sports rentals right at the resort.

The only other complaint we had (besides food price) is that the gaming systems for the teen lounge were run down. Some controllers were broken. My boys were disappointed, but there were plenty of other things to do instead.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. We're pleased that you were able to take advantage of some the unique amenities at our beautiful resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    643
    256
    137
    70
See reviews for
648
659
52
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We treated ourselves to a stay by the water and we weren't disappointed! I booked a King Room with a partial view. Even with a partial view we could see the bay well from our room. The room was a good size for the four of us. There is a musty smell to the room, and the in room fridge smelled funky, but it wasn't enough to ruin the stay. The pool area was crowded, but the pools are sparkling and clean. The lobby area is lovely. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and they are friendly and efficient. Carlos at the Market Restaurant was wonderful to us, giving us free sorbet and excellent service. The Concierge was very helpful helping us plan our 4th of July day and told us where to see fireworks. The downside is that the hotel is isolated, but they do have a complimentary shuttle that runs into Coronado. In all a very excellent experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: Very nice! It was nice to have a recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're thrilled that you found the guestroom to be comfortable and felt that the staff to be welcoming, friendly and efficient. We'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This resort is a little outside of Coronado, but well worth the extra 5 minute drive. Beautiful lobby and rooms with stunning views and great service. I loved the beach shuttle and once your at the beach they provide chairs, towels, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc so you don't have to haul everything. Aimee our beach shuttle driver was not only polite, but truly helpful and fun. The Cays Lounge has the most amazing white peach sangria and our server, Ashley, was the best - friendly, humorous with the perfect amount of attentiveness. Will absolutely stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our stunning views and great service, as well as our resort amenities. Aimee and Ashley are both fantastic assets to the team, and we'll happily pass along your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The 22+ years old property is showing it age in spots. But the bones of this hotel and the flat out friendliness of the employees will win you over. With a group on business/pleasure, the staff was outstanding. All of our rooms had views of the bay and or marinas.

The beds were high quality, a plethora of pillows, and generous amenities.

There is a secret spot at the far back of the property behind the villas (NE corner) overlooking the bridge and downtown. It is one bench that I could sit on all day and watch the world go by.

This resort is a few miles from downtown. But they offer a free shuttle daily to get you back and forth.
The walking path in front will take you under a tunnel to the beach. In the mornings, I was the only person on the beach....an amazing feeling for SOCAL.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back have more bay views...but you walk a lot more to get to them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you were won over by the friendliness of our staff, and that you enjoyed your guestroom. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Basic hotel in a rather isolated location. The lobby and public balconies were lovely, bustling, and noisy. It was difficult to sit on balcony because of the loud noise from the public areas. The room was average with a musty smell and feel.
Concierge was very helpful in identifying restaurants in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your guestroom, as this is clearly not the standard we wish to present. We thank you for your feedback and have shared your comments with our management team. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to address the issues of concern.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I visited the hotel with my spouse, who attended a conference there. I was frankly disappointed with this hotel. It seems to have outlived it's glory days. The room was big, but not extremely well-appointed, the bed was not particularly comfortable, and the bathroom had "issues." I did not enjoy how isolated we were from the rest of Coronado Island or the City of San Diego. It was quite a trek from our room to the lobby, probably at least a block. The food choices were extremely limited, and we were too far from "civilization" to go off campus for meals. The hot tub was really small for the size of the resort, and the "floor" of the tub was bumpy, sharp and difficult to step on. The staff was lovely, though, and very helpful, and I liked the outdoor patio area.

Room Tip: Request building 1 or 2, unless you want to hike to the lobby.
See more room tips
Green Features: All the smokers I spoke to said they ignored the policy and smoked on their balconies.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your guestroom. We thank you for your feedback and have shared with all appropriate areas of the hotel. We're glad you found our staff to be lovely and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I with our 18month old twin girls spent one week at Loews Coronado. The resort is beautifully located with water surrounding it. Unfortunately we did not realize it was a little further away from downtown Coronado, which we would have loved to be closer to, nevertheless we loved the peaceful surroundings.
The highlight of our stay was Gordon Berry the concierge – he went far and beyond to accommodate us. The minute we met him we felt like home. Even though all other staff was very nice and polite I think many would learn a great deal from Gordon. He showed true compassion and care. He was always a step ahead and anticipated what we would need. We were very impressed by the knowledge he had of the city and places he told us to visit. Another favorite was the breakfast at “ The Market” and the juice-bar, yummy yummy and definitely worth a try!!! We would definitely go back to LOEWS on Coronado!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're pleased that you found the resort to be peaceful, and that our concierge Gordon made you feel like you were at home. Gordon is such a wonderful asset to our team. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.