We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Oasis across from San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tranquil Oasis across from San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent two days at this property for business, but was able to work-in some recreation as well. It's about 15 minutes from San Diego on the southern edge of Coronado. The location is close enough to easily access the restaurants and shops of Coronado, and downtown San Diego is just a few more minutes up the road.

The rooms at the hotel are just fine. They're only slightly dated, and I found them to be clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathrooms are huge, with upscale amenities. Housekeeping comes twice per day, which is a nice plus if you're using the pool or beach.

The hotel is large and spread-out. If you're in buildings three or four, plan on a good walk to get to the lobby area of the pool. I don't consider this an issue at all unless you have mobility challenges.

The pool area is great, with a bar and food service in addition to family pools as well as an adults-only pool. I found plenty of chairs, and it was easy to be alone and quiet or as active as you want to be.

Finally, the staff was great. All were pleasant and made me feel as though I was a special and important guest. I'd definitely return to this property with my wife in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool can be noisy on the weekends. I'd suggest requesting a bay-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased that you found the pool area to be great and that you felt the staff was "pleasant". We take pride in our service standards and will be happy to share your comments with the team. We look forward to you and your wife's stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    640
    256
    136
    69
See reviews for
645
657
52
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I got a spectacular bay view, watched the sunrise, took a wonderful bath in a sunken tub in my wonderful room and sat out on my balcony in a cozy bathrobe, browsed the shops, had a lavender martini (finally found another one, one other place that makes them is in Minneapolis, MN) out by the fire on the deck, the staircase in the lobby here is fantastic, service is superb, the cafe for lunch amazing, the different buildings is a bit overwhelming and confusing,and my room did not get serviced with more towels or my bed made the second day but the travel agent rate and overall cleanliness is great, there are pools just for adults which is nice, and I got a wonderful travel agent rate at this hotel....so overall great service for the rate I was able to get, I will definatley stay again, love that it is on the island that I love!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're delighted that you found the service to be superb, the room wonderful and lunch amazing. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millarville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I thought I would write a review while we are here so that everything is fresh in my mind.
My wife and I are traveling with our dog so hotel choice is always limited. When we saw Loews it looked nice and was "very" pet friendly.
As some others have noted the hotel is a bit dated but has been renovated. Our rooms are quite nice, very clean and the staff have been great.
The pool or should I say pools are excellent and will give you and your kids hours of enjoyment. There is a pool for adults only if you want. Throw in a couple of hot tubs and a bunch of other activities plus a poolside bar for a great day.
The restaurants so far have been good with average food at a fair price.
There are a couple of nice patios outside with bar service as well for the afternoon and evening crowd.
For those intersted in water sports the hotel rents everything from a paddle boards to sailboats to power boats.
Some of the minuses to the hotel are a $25 per day parking fee and a $25 per day hotel tax. They don't tell you that when you book so be prepared.
The other minus is a very slow free wifi service. At least in our part of the hotel. Of course they offer a premium service for an extra $12.50 a day which to me is a bit of a rip off.
The beach is right across the street from the hotel but you have to drive down the street for about a mile to access it.
And you are within 30 minutes drive of some of the best attractions that San Diego has to offer.
So far it's been a great stay and we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Full bay view rooms are nice. Great sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us in detail, and thank you for choosing Loews. We're delighted to hear that you found the staff to be great and the rooms to be nice and clean. We look forward to welcoming you and your family members (including the four-legged one) back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time!
Customer service is excellent.
Rooms were very clean.
Grounds were kept up well.
Food at the restaurant was wonderful. The filet was tender and amazing! Exceeded my expectations.
Shuttle to shops and beach were always on time.
Hotel is secluded but....we really liked it that way.
We will be visiting again for sure!
Thank you Lowes resort for a relaxing stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you had a great, relaxing stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. That's exactly what we love to hear! We look forward to your next visit to Loews Coronado Bay.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband had a business meeting at Lowes Coronado Bay Resort, Coronado Island, CA, and I went with him as well. It was actually our 4th visit to the San Diego, CA area and will not be our last. The staff at this hotel was really friendly and did a wonderful job trying to keep everyone's spirit up especially with the bad weather we had, in particular, during most of our 5 day stay, 02/25-03/02/2014. The hotel is soooooo clean and nicely decorated, with a wonderful Marina & pool area. The restaurants and Snack Bar are also filled with employees who seem to love their job and pay attention to the customers and their needs. We are so glad that we had a chance to stay there and hopefully will return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're so pleased that you felt the staff was really friendly and it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Coronado Bay on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We come back to this resort time and time again. It is family-friendly, with many different activities for the kids by the pool, such as movie night at the pool and pool-side games. They have wood-framed cribs for the babies, and provide your kid and toddler with separate goody bag of welcome toys. For the baby, they provide all baby toiletry essentials upon arrival. The service is excellent. They will take you to the beach in a golf cart and provide beach toys, umbrellas and towels. The food at the restaurants is very good. The rooms are serviced very well, the rooms are clean and spacious, and bathrooms are large, with both a shower and a tub and double sinks. Very peaceful to just sit outside on your balcony and watch the water and the boats pass by. The only downside is that you must drive to get to the town of Coronado.

Room Tip: Rooms with partial ocean view still have a great view without paying for full ocean view price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for being our loyal guest. We appreciate your feedback and continually strive to offer unique services designed to keep children healthy and happy. We also take great pride in our standards so we're delighted that you were met with excellent service, very good food and a clean and spacious room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The night before departure, we looked on the website to see if irons and hair dryers were in the rooms and it was listed that indeed they were. Our room had neither, but we called the front desk and it was quickly remedied. My only annoyance was that each time we called (once for the iron and second for the hair dryer), we were asked 'did you look in the closet? Did you look in the cubbies? They keep it in the...'. I hate calling the front desk for things and had looked everywhere already.
The room was nice. We had a porch and view of the pool. The rooms are very quiet, so if you sleep with a little 'white noise' download a free app for that. We had one and it was great.
We ordered room service for breakfast and it was delicious.
I rented a bike for the day and the staff was very helpful in guiding me where I wanted to ride.
The concierge/bellstaff were very helpful in devising a way for me to carry onboard a plane the dozen roses and vase that my husband had sent me.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. the above listed things are minor and were quickly taken care of.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsCoronadoBay, Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We're happy that your issues were quickly resolved and that you had a very pleasant stay. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
George Allen
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.