We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can Do Much Better Than This Overpriced Dated Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Sail
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You Can Do Much Better Than This Overpriced Dated Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Normally, I wait until I check out of a hotel to submit a review so as to capture as many experiences as possible. This is the first time I have not waited because generally my first impression in 3 hours pretty much sums up this place: poorly trained staff, poor service and a bit outdated facility. I'll start with the arrival by taxi. No bell hop there to greet you. Now, I don't normally need help with luggage but it is a sign of a nicely run full service hotel to have that arrival experience. The registration desk was nice enough, but as I learned later, they forgot to give me the mini bar key and didn't offer any description of the property and amenities. Also, he never asked me if I needed help with my luggage -- do they even have bell hops here? I next went into the sundry shop for some suntan lotion and waited and waited for a clerk to show up so that I could pay for it. The guest in front of me had been there longer and finally left. My room is like the hotel property as a whole. Pretty dated with efforts to make a few modern updates here and there. The property's style reminds me of one of those older Courtyard hotels from the 80's. The room could be refreshed as the rug has several spots throughout -- mind you I have only been here a few hours and it was that noticeable. The desk in the room was not business friendly as there are no outlets for computers or recharging cell phones, only a power strip behind the TV stand that you have to pull out to use. They have made some effort to refresh the bathroom, but nothing special. Then comes the lunch episode. I arrive at 11 am local time with plans to do some work in the room before heading down to one of the advertised restaurants for lunch. I get to Market at 12 noon, the doors are open and there is a sign that says please wait to be seated. So I wait and wait just like the sundry shop and no one comes. I go into the restaurant and find a waiter on the patio serving a couple and ask if they are open. He says no -- hmm, why is this couple out there. He points me in the direction of their take a way stand which does not have many appetizing options. Apparently the lobby bar is closed too, and I am later told they don't start serving food unti 2 pm. I ask the conceirge for assistance and he points me in the direction of the pool restaurant, which is no restaurant. Just a cliche pool bar with a few cheap rounds about. This would be fine if you were at the pool in a wet swimsuit, but not for someone at the hotel for a business meeting. So I decide to order room service and I am told it would be a 45 minute wait for a salad. Question -- your hotel is fully booked with a lot of people coming for a business meeting and apparently they all want lunch, so why don't you have one of your two full service restaurants open? While I wait, I consider raiding the mini bar for potato chips but find it locked. So now I wait for the bar key to be brought to my room. Finally, 45 minutes later I get my salad (mind you, nothing had to be cooked for it) and they forgot the salad dressing. And it is a rather bland room service presentation with no thought or effort put into it, not even bread for the salad. When I call down to request the salad dressing the women argues with me about whether they forgot it. Then, I ask about bringing some bread, too, and learn that I was supposed to ask for it if I wanted it the first time -- hmm, wouldn't it be good customer service to ask the guest if they would like some bread with their salad? So, at 1:15 I finally get to eat lunch...and it is pretty damn average and expensive. Just like this hotel. Don't be deceived by the pretty Internet pages, this place needs some work and is over priced for what you do get. If it wasn't for my meeting being here, someone else paying for the room and the hotel's remote location (nothing waking distance) with no rental car, I would be checking out right about now.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am in receipt of your survey regarding your stay with us here at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It was disappointing to hear that your stay was anything but luxurious and I would like to personally apologize for the issues encountered throughout our resort especially in regards to the first 3 hours of your arrival. We take pride in providing our guests with impeccable service and it is evident that on this occasion we fell short. It would be a pleasure to speak to you on the issues you mentioned so that I may rectify situation and renew your trust in us as a hospitality provider. If you should choose to do so please feel free to contact hotel directly and ask for Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    570
    235
    127
    60
See reviews for
571
582
48
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent 6 nights with my sister and my two nephews (ages 2 and 5). I would not recommend this hotel as kid friendly. The concierge rarely looked up from his computer to acknowledge people. You felt as if you were bothering him when you approached the desk. We got a visit at 8:45pm from the front desk saying the kids were being to loud running around in the room and the couple below us had complained. The next night at 7:45pm the people below us yelled from their balcony for the kids to be quiet they were trying to sleep. We were on the balcony blowing bubbles. Truly bitter experience for the kids. Didn't hear us complaining having to breath in their second hand smoke all afternoon. The kids were afraid to walk around the room after or go on the balcony because they were afraid they would get in trouble. This is not something children should be worried about at the ages of 2 and 5 or in a hotel that advertising to be kid friendly!

The room's are starting to look very dated. The bedding and towels were stained. The rugs are worn and dingy looking. Bathtub is old. The girl at the front desk who checked us in was completely clueless and didn't even give us a parking key, which we got attitude about trying to leave the parking lot the next day. The movies we tried to order wouldn't work and they had to send a repair technician up. The hotel did comp the movies after, which was nice.

The good points - Silver Strand Beach is beautiful and nice to have close access. The cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful. They always made sure to say a greeting to both myself and the children when we passed in the hallway and the room was spotless each day. The valet and the bell hop were also very friendly and helpful. They also talked with the kids and made them feel welcome. Room service was also very good. The kids loved they could get PB & Jelly sandwiches.

I've stayed at the Lowes in Santa Monica as well with the kids and I will say that Loews Coronado has a long way to go if they want to advertise the place as being kid friendly. If you have kids I would not recommend this hotel. If you are a couple looking for a nice get away, by all means this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We completed 5 night stay at Loews after extensive searching in the general San Diego area and overall this hotel was a solid choice. Upon arrival we were greeted by valet and doorman offered beverages and shown the front desk area. I originally booked a Luxury double but really wanted some more space while we were there and unfortunately nothing else was available. This was understandable as their annual Dog surfing competition was happening this week. Well up to the room and was standard double room size a nice furnished balcony large bathroom and a somewhat disapointing view. We went exploring and located the teen lounge, arcade, pool area, laundry and my kids loved the wonderful bird cage. Overall we had a wonderful stay at this hotel and loved the setting and beach across the street. Loews pool scene is great for kids/families and wish we would have spent more time there.

I do plan on returning to this property next September and we are all looking forward to spending quality time here.

Hotel:
Great location for relaxation and family time. The hotel is all on its own but that is what we wanted/needed.
Wonderful ocean within a 5 minute walk no car needed as they will take you over via golf cart.
Nice garden areas.
Complimentary laundry is on site.
Valet parking is available and they do a good job.
Top notch concierge.

Room:
Standard double.
Overall clean room but housekeeping missed a few obvious items daily for 5 nights.
Nice colors.
Nice bathroom.

Restraunt:
Nice lobby bar lounge.

Not so good's.
Booked a luxury water view and received a somewhat underwhelming view.
The prices for food in the café are insanely high for simple cafe food.
I was there 5 nights and the coffee barista let me know on my 5th day that coffee came with free refills why she did not tell me on day two is beyond me? 5-6 coffee's a day for our room this would have helped.

Room Tip: Top floor is a must. Complimentary laundry is on site. Coffee refills are complimentary at the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and i spent 6 nights at Loews with a group of friends. The hotel complex is large with 5 buildings of hotel rooms plus some conference rooms; big pool area (3 pools actually - kid pool, family pool and adult pool); nice fitness facility; water sports service; good restaurants on property; very nice lobby bar with indoor and outdoor seating areas. Our group was able to negotiate a reduced room rate as well as free in-room internet access and free use of the fitness area.

The hotel is located on the quiet bay-side of the Coronado peninsula. It is a short walk, maybe 5 minutes to Silver Strand beach. We walked the beach 2 or 3 times every day. The bell hops will also give you and your family a ride to the beach on a golf cart if you like - and provide chairs and umbrellas.

Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. We usually had lunch by the pool - the crab cake sandwich was yummy. Wait staff around the pool were friendly. We went into Coronado or San Diego for dinner.

We rented Stand Up Paddleboards (SUP) at the water sports desk. They were $20/hr and we got a quick lesson that gave us confidence. The calm bay was a great place to try these out. We also took advantage of spinning class and beach boot camp - cost was $10 per person per class. The instructors were friendly and experienced. They also had bikes for rent.

They have a Starbucks in the lobby - open 24/7 - the friendly staff knew what we wanted for coffee after the second morning!

Room Tip: You will hear pool noise in rooms that over look the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located at the southern end of the Coronado Island, access to the famous beautiful Pacific (Coronado) beach (use the tunnel to avoid walking across the 4 lane road), and views of downtown San Diego from some rooms. The staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean offering excellent beds, extra pillows, plenty of towels and lanais. There is a fee for parking (both self-parking and valet) however you will need a car to get to downtown Coronado or anywhere else. This is a quality hotel we have enjoyed a couple times.

Room Tip: Upper floor with San Diego views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This resort offers a lot of options--however it is one of those "once you are there places" as it is a bit isolated from stores But if you are looking for a relaxing get-away, this is it--reasonable food for the Market Café which is open 24/7. As far as rooms, the small private villas or bungalows that line the waterfront are the best--avoid #7101 as it's large deck is exposed to parking lot and pedestrian traffic. Room 8101 is nice. Dog friendly too! Rooms are spacious, fairly clean and have nice decks overlooking the Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid 7101, 8101 is more private as is 8106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel at the start of June. Overall we found the Hotel and resort to be lovely,it's just a shame it felt like you was being ripped off for your money at every available opportunity. The room was a very nice size with a fantastic Bathroom and shower and the view wasn't too bad. What was annoying was the fact the room did have a built in fridge but you had to PAY a daily fee to use it ...$10 if i recall. Surely a fridge in a hotel room in this day and age should be included in the price of the room?? Also beware the "welcoming gifts" in the room...the lovely looking little boxes of nuts are actually $8 dollars each as are the bottles of water,the brand name escapes me now but we did see the same size bottles of the same brand for less than $2.50 in most of the local shops/supermarkets.

In general we found the prices of everything to be bordering on extortionate...$6.50 each for a cookie ice cream biscuit ( to put this into context we had a similar ice cream plus a large drink each at Seaworld, where you expect to pay over the top, for under $10)...Coffee from the take out place was $8...where even at the Hotel Del Corando it was $5.50....you get my drift here. Its a shame Hotels try to con you out of so much money as it would be nice to try their lovely looking restaurants but with the prices they were asking its just not justifiable.

The two big bug bearers, from our point of view was the $25 a day charge for self parking and the $10 charge for the Gym. I knew in advance about the car parking fee but even adding that to the cost of the hotel, the deal we got through Expedia was still considerably cheaper. Its just that given the location of the resort, you have to have a car to be able to access it, so you really do feel resentful pulling into the hotel every day when you return.I missed the daily charge for the Gym when making the booking, had I noticed that the gym wasn't complimentary then given the parking fee,and the location( not really on a beach of its own and the one on the other side of the main road wasn't particularly nice) we definitely would not of chosen to stay here.

It was quite a horrible feeling,to be staying in a hotel and to feel priced out of everything,that's not why you go away on holiday.

I would say to anyone that if you have money to burn, or the company are paying for your stay, then this would be a great hotel, but if you have an average budget,or kids that like a beach, then this is def not the hotel for you to stay out.

P.s....The adult only poor wasn't really adult only as everyday when we was around the pool their were always children in it,and at weekends they have a DJ playing music which frankly was just irritating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.