We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very kid friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pick Your Park
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not very kid friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent 6 nights with my sister and my two nephews (ages 2 and 5). I would not recommend this hotel as kid friendly. The concierge rarely looked up from his computer to acknowledge people. You felt as if you were bothering him when you approached the desk. We got a visit at 8:45pm from the front desk saying the kids were being to loud running around in the room and the couple below us had complained. The next night at 7:45pm the people below us yelled from their balcony for the kids to be quiet they were trying to sleep. We were on the balcony blowing bubbles. Truly bitter experience for the kids. Didn't hear us complaining having to breath in their second hand smoke all afternoon. The kids were afraid to walk around the room after or go on the balcony because they were afraid they would get in trouble. This is not something children should be worried about at the ages of 2 and 5 or in a hotel that advertising to be kid friendly!

The room's are starting to look very dated. The bedding and towels were stained. The rugs are worn and dingy looking. Bathtub is old. The girl at the front desk who checked us in was completely clueless and didn't even give us a parking key, which we got attitude about trying to leave the parking lot the next day. The movies we tried to order wouldn't work and they had to send a repair technician up. The hotel did comp the movies after, which was nice.

The good points - Silver Strand Beach is beautiful and nice to have close access. The cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful. They always made sure to say a greeting to both myself and the children when we passed in the hallway and the room was spotless each day. The valet and the bell hop were also very friendly and helpful. They also talked with the kids and made them feel welcome. Room service was also very good. The kids loved they could get PB & Jelly sandwiches.

I've stayed at the Lowes in Santa Monica as well with the kids and I will say that Loews Coronado has a long way to go if they want to advertise the place as being kid friendly. If you have kids I would not recommend this hotel. If you are a couple looking for a nice get away, by all means this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    511
    210
    119
    51
See reviews for
472
479
39
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We completed 5 night stay at Loews after extensive searching in the general San Diego area and overall this hotel was a solid choice. Upon arrival we were greeted by valet and doorman offered beverages and shown the front desk area. I originally booked a Luxury double but really wanted some more space while we were there and unfortunately nothing else was available. This was understandable as their annual Dog surfing competition was happening this week. Well up to the room and was standard double room size a nice furnished balcony large bathroom and a somewhat disapointing view. We went exploring and located the teen lounge, arcade, pool area, laundry and my kids loved the wonderful bird cage. Overall we had a wonderful stay at this hotel and loved the setting and beach across the street. Loews pool scene is great for kids/families and wish we would have spent more time there.

I do plan on returning to this property next September and we are all looking forward to spending quality time here.

Hotel:
Great location for relaxation and family time. The hotel is all on its own but that is what we wanted/needed.
Wonderful ocean within a 5 minute walk no car needed as they will take you over via golf cart.
Nice garden areas.
Complimentary laundry is on site.
Valet parking is available and they do a good job.
Top notch concierge.

Room:
Standard double.
Overall clean room but housekeeping missed a few obvious items daily for 5 nights.
Nice colors.
Nice bathroom.

Restraunt:
Nice lobby bar lounge.

Not so good's.
Booked a luxury water view and received a somewhat underwhelming view.
The prices for food in the café are insanely high for simple cafe food.
I was there 5 nights and the coffee barista let me know on my 5th day that coffee came with free refills why she did not tell me on day two is beyond me? 5-6 coffee's a day for our room this would have helped.

Room Tip: Top floor is a must. Complimentary laundry is on site. Coffee refills are complimentary at the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and i spent 6 nights at Loews with a group of friends. The hotel complex is large with 5 buildings of hotel rooms plus some conference rooms; big pool area (3 pools actually - kid pool, family pool and adult pool); nice fitness facility; water sports service; good restaurants on property; very nice lobby bar with indoor and outdoor seating areas. Our group was able to negotiate a reduced room rate as well as free in-room internet access and free use of the fitness area.

The hotel is located on the quiet bay-side of the Coronado peninsula. It is a short walk, maybe 5 minutes to Silver Strand beach. We walked the beach 2 or 3 times every day. The bell hops will also give you and your family a ride to the beach on a golf cart if you like - and provide chairs and umbrellas.

Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. We usually had lunch by the pool - the crab cake sandwich was yummy. Wait staff around the pool were friendly. We went into Coronado or San Diego for dinner.

We rented Stand Up Paddleboards (SUP) at the water sports desk. They were $20/hr and we got a quick lesson that gave us confidence. The calm bay was a great place to try these out. We also took advantage of spinning class and beach boot camp - cost was $10 per person per class. The instructors were friendly and experienced. They also had bikes for rent.

They have a Starbucks in the lobby - open 24/7 - the friendly staff knew what we wanted for coffee after the second morning!

Room Tip: You will hear pool noise in rooms that over look the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located at the southern end of the Coronado Island, access to the famous beautiful Pacific (Coronado) beach (use the tunnel to avoid walking across the 4 lane road), and views of downtown San Diego from some rooms. The staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean offering excellent beds, extra pillows, plenty of towels and lanais. There is a fee for parking (both self-parking and valet) however you will need a car to get to downtown Coronado or anywhere else. This is a quality hotel we have enjoyed a couple times.

Room Tip: Upper floor with San Diego views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This resort offers a lot of options--however it is one of those "once you are there places" as it is a bit isolated from stores But if you are looking for a relaxing get-away, this is it--reasonable food for the Market Café which is open 24/7. As far as rooms, the small private villas or bungalows that line the waterfront are the best--avoid #7101 as it's large deck is exposed to parking lot and pedestrian traffic. Room 8101 is nice. Dog friendly too! Rooms are spacious, fairly clean and have nice decks overlooking the Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid 7101, 8101 is more private as is 8106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel at the start of June. Overall we found the Hotel and resort to be lovely,it's just a shame it felt like you was being ripped off for your money at every available opportunity. The room was a very nice size with a fantastic Bathroom and shower and the view wasn't too bad. What was annoying was the fact the room did have a built in fridge but you had to PAY a daily fee to use it ...$10 if i recall. Surely a fridge in a hotel room in this day and age should be included in the price of the room?? Also beware the "welcoming gifts" in the room...the lovely looking little boxes of nuts are actually $8 dollars each as are the bottles of water,the brand name escapes me now but we did see the same size bottles of the same brand for less than $2.50 in most of the local shops/supermarkets.

In general we found the prices of everything to be bordering on extortionate...$6.50 each for a cookie ice cream biscuit ( to put this into context we had a similar ice cream plus a large drink each at Seaworld, where you expect to pay over the top, for under $10)...Coffee from the take out place was $8...where even at the Hotel Del Corando it was $5.50....you get my drift here. Its a shame Hotels try to con you out of so much money as it would be nice to try their lovely looking restaurants but with the prices they were asking its just not justifiable.

The two big bug bearers, from our point of view was the $25 a day charge for self parking and the $10 charge for the Gym. I knew in advance about the car parking fee but even adding that to the cost of the hotel, the deal we got through Expedia was still considerably cheaper. Its just that given the location of the resort, you have to have a car to be able to access it, so you really do feel resentful pulling into the hotel every day when you return.I missed the daily charge for the Gym when making the booking, had I noticed that the gym wasn't complimentary then given the parking fee,and the location( not really on a beach of its own and the one on the other side of the main road wasn't particularly nice) we definitely would not of chosen to stay here.

It was quite a horrible feeling,to be staying in a hotel and to feel priced out of everything,that's not why you go away on holiday.

I would say to anyone that if you have money to burn, or the company are paying for your stay, then this would be a great hotel, but if you have an average budget,or kids that like a beach, then this is def not the hotel for you to stay out.

P.s....The adult only poor wasn't really adult only as everyday when we was around the pool their were always children in it,and at weekends they have a DJ playing music which frankly was just irritating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Loews Coronado in March. The hotel is nice enough with a pretty view of the bay, but in my opinion it was in an out of the way location. If you stay here, you will need to have a rental car or plan on using public transportation. It is not any easy walk to anything, except an area of beach that doesn't have much going for it. Again, the hotel was nice, but I would prefer to stay inland where we could walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.