We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Sail
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Property and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Coronado is a wonderful place. Loews is a bit remote but well worth the quiet.
The pools are great and the service is wonderful and friendly though and through.
They do charge for parking which is a crime..../$25 a day???? PLEASE.
We will return, as it was a great experience for relaxation. The shuttle is a good service as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It is great to hear you were able to utilize our pool facilities and had wonderful interaction with our service friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    570
    236
    127
    61
See reviews for
573
582
48
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

9th to 12th August 2013
We thought this Hotel was very impressive with a fantastic position on its own peninsula, a marina at the front and a fantastic view of the bay at the rear.
The Hotel provide a "free" shuttle to & from the beach and also into Coronado itself - we found these very useful.
Very efficient check in / out
A Concierge service second to none in particular from Elizabeth who could not have done more, just ask and it is done including great activity ideas and tickets to local attractions.
There was plenty of underground parking with lift access to the Hotel above.
Our room was immaculate and well appointed with use of fridge, Tea / Coffee provided and a balcony overlooking the pool area.
The main bar was very well stocked - Tip (if available) try their infused rum, we had pineapple / vanilla and make sure you ask for at least one chunk of pineapple. Good Bar menu as well.
On the Sunday evening we dined in the Mistral restaurant - we found the service impeccable and the three course meal first class.
We would highly recommend this resort hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s wonderful to hear of your experience in all areas of our resort. Your review is very well detailed from the amenities we offer to the service provided especially that of our concierge Elizabeth. I will be sharing this review with her. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you may enjoy another pineapple and vanilla infused rum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This Loews resort is such a special treat. A remote and secluded location, with the most incredible views of San Diego. Christmas is a special treat, the kids love the Dr. Seuss readings around the gorgeous tree. Use their shuttle to the beach, although the pools are plenty of fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was okay and location was a bit remote. However, the service was excellent!!! The concierge desk could not be more helpful. The front desk was also very helpful during our stay. The service more than made up for the quality and appearance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for building 1, 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It’s wonderful to hear of your experience with our great staff here at the resort. They take pride in providing exceptional service especially concierge who try and customize every guest experience to the individual party. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

How is it an upgrade to get a room by the pool with noisy kids? I was there for a professional meeting, and the distances between rooms were annoying, and the screaming kids were annoying, and the access to the beach was less than appealing. Expensive cab ride from the airport, and you feel pretty trapped. The room was nice enough, and the staff are friendly, but there must be better places to stay in Coronado...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent quiet location on a section of Coronado Island a few miles south of the Hotel Del and the central village. The hotel is on the Bay adjacent to a marina but is very close to the beach. The hotel has a golfcart shuttle over to the beach. The views of the Bay and Marina from almost every part of the hotel are truly spectacular. There is an outdoor deck adjacent to the bar and lobby that looks out over the water to the bridge and skyline..great for drinks and bites in the afternoon. The Lobby and sitting areas are comfortable and spacious. Staff are very friendly and welcoming and ready to help with anything.

Pool area is beautiful with great views and excellent service from outdoor bar and grill. There is an outdoor Taco bar as well. Bunch of kids activities. The Marina has boats and sailboats and bikes and Gondola. We took an evening Gondola trip which was fun...wine and appetizers. There are three well maintained Tennis Courts. The fitness room has good cardio equipment, dumbells, and a couple of cybex machines but little else. There is a small room for Yoga and Spinning classes. There is a spa but we didn't use it this trip.

As far as food and bev they had an interesting feature. There is a twenty four hour open-plan high ceilinged brightly lit deli bar where you can get salads, sandwiches, baked goods, bottles or glasses of wine to eat there or take to your room or out on the decks. Their fine dining spot, Mistral, is a beautiful space with amazing views and good dishes.

If you are traveling with a dog , this is your place. They cater to them and are very welcoming. There are water bowls and treats as soon as you get out of the car at the main entrance. Dogs are allowed in lobby and on decks. There are many areas to walk with lawns and benches and water views.

The rooms and bathrooms are very nice, fairly roomy, and clean, with balconies and good views. They have suites and cabanas but didn't get to see them this trip. Some of the cabanas look very private and are situated right on the water with private views.

Drawbacks...10 dollars to use the fitness room, 25 to thirty dollars for parking, fee for wireless, very high fee to use one of their computers if you didn't bring one.

Overall a marvellous, quiet, relaxing place. Incredible if you have a dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review regarding your stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m happy to hear of your wonderful experience during your visit and that you were able to enjoy it with your four legged friend. We take pride in providing wonderful service even for our K-9 guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The BEST customer service. Always greeted, some by name. Zeke was amazing. While cleaning outside he greeted me and asked if he could get me some water. Lemon? Always friendly. Lots of activities, all kinds of watercraft. Have never seen Gondolas except Venice and Vegas. Neat.

Room Tip: Book far in advance; If you dont have kids bottom floor is not good. Lots of stomping around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review regarding your stay with us at Loews Coronado Bay Resort. Your kind words regarding the friendly service Zeke provided will definitely be shared with him as I know he takes great pride with his guest interactions. Myself and Zeke look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.