We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but hotel & location don't equal the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and Sail
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springdale, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service but hotel & location don't equal the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Loews Coronado. As expected from a Loews, the service was outstanding! The beach shuttle drivers, front desk staff, housekeeping staff, engineering, waitresses, telephone operators, etc. were all amazing! Unfortunately the hotel and amenities didn't equal the service. The property is aging but well kept up.

Room -- Room and bathroom were spacious. Beds and pillows were good. The shower is tiny but there is a large bathtub. Our shower leaked and we constantly had to keep towels on the floor to soak up the water. Kuerig in the room is a nice touch but ours didn't work (but was replaced once I called). There is a patio on the 1st floor around the pool but it doesn't have access to the pool. Note: rooms by the pool will hear a lot of pool noise at night!

Amenities -- My daughter enjoyed the scavenger hunt and free cookie and both movie nights but I was disappointed in the movie night at the pool. The screen was tiny and only 20 or so chairs could watch the movie...luckily we were there early. It was cold out so hot chocolate and coffee would have been welcome instead of cold drinks. You must take a shuttle to the beach...but towels, beach chairs, sand toys, etc. are all available at the beach for no charge. Although cold, we enjoyed searching for shells and sanddollars each day. Beware -- nights are cold so take a jacket!

Parking -- Self parking is $25 a day. Steep price but easy access to rooms as parking is under each building.

On my next trip to San Diego, I won't stay at Loew's or Coronado Beach. It's just not worth the money. For an adults only trip, I would stay in the Gaslamp District. For a family trip, I would choose another property inland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    558
    232
    126
    58
See reviews for
565
557
48
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our annual trip to Coronado continues to amaze as this Loews Resort is constantly changing for the better. The property is beautiful while extending out on it's own peninsula and marina and perfectly accessible to the beach and activities surrounding.

The superb quality of the facility and services are dwarfed by the overwhelming attention to hospitality provided by the staff. Rarely do you see a staff this well prepared and eager to make your stay comforting. The overall disposition of the personnel is a true sign of a well managed operation. Simply put; These people love their jobs which translates to the essence of hospitality, a rare find in this world of mediocrity and complacency.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of their suites. The added room and view is well worth the slight difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Obviously, we love this place since we keep coming back every summer. But I do agree with another poster who said the hotel seems to be in the middle of an identity crisis right now. When we started staying there almost a decade ago, there were so many kid/family friendly organized activities like mad science and pizza making workshops for the kids, basketball pick up games on the courts and family bingo. All are gone now. In their place, they are adding more and more adult organized activities like wine tasting and such. The lobby of the hotel went from a breezy beach feel, to a sleek contemporary look, more suitable to conference goers than families. But the location keeps us coming back. We like the secluded feel at the end of the island.

The glitches in service we encountered last year are definitely gone. We had the best service this year that we have ever had. Two of the pool wait staff really stood out to us, Manny and Allan. A big shout-out to those two guys for delivering 5-star service every day we were there. The beach workers also did a great job, the shuttle was readily available and they seem to have loaded up on more beach amenities like, chairs, boogie boards, etc.

We tried to book the resident "tennis pro" but for a lesson, but our call was never returned. Most of the advertised sports activities that are listed in the brochure, are not really what they claim to be. For example, "water basketball" games is just a hoop by the pool. There is nothing organized by an activities director like at other Loews hotels. Pretty lame. I truly hope they bring back some of the more family-oriented activities, especially BINGO. We were looking forward to playing this year, it's so hokey but fun!

All-in-all we will be back. For us it's all about the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A below average experience for a 4 star hotel. Staff are gracious, lovely and clearly wish they had more to offer. Seems to be a property in search of an identity. Is it sophisticated and lovely or a pulse pounding dj fueled party atmosphere? The answer, in the end, is neither. And with MSG flavored tortilla chips and flour infused tater tots instead of simple French fries, and menus rife w sandwiches and paninis and pizzas- well all I can say is good luck to my gluten free brethren. (Minus the pool side tacos which are excellent) Room service will be rough on you. Tho to be fair Mistral had an array of excellent choices. And market cafe had two! Count them, two great gluten free desserts. There are high points-- some great food and mostly fabulous staff- but at a corporate level this property seems to have no idea who it's trying to be... And consumer-focused and intuitive isn't even one of the options.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a lovely stay. Good room, good facilities and friendly staff. Extra charges were over the top e.g. $25 per day to self park and $12.95 for Internet in the room PER DEVICE PER DAY! Gym was extra and water was $8 per bottle in the room. In Loews Hollywood, same bottle of water was $6.50! I expect all this stuff to be included in the room price. The beach set up was nice- a trolley ride there, towels, chairs, surf boards all provided and FREE! Had a great massage but the most expensive one I've ever had (80 minutes cost $230 plus 20% service so a whopping $276!). We would consider a return visit though!

Room Tip: They all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here! The staff was amazingly professional and friendly! Julie the bartender out at the pool was great! Made us feel right at home! I will definitely stay here again and again when we vacation! Already planning next years trip to stay at this resort! We can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice enough hotel - certainly not 5 star but a decent 4 star property. All pretty standard except for outrageous parking fees - I could understand if the property was in the middle of San Diego where space is at a premium but Loews is in the middle of nowhere!!

In the trade this is known as 'drip-pricing' - gouging guests with additional charges not made clear at booking or at check-in.

I won't be staying a Loews again unless this charge is dropped (or at least made absolutely clear when booking)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.