We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVED the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

This was my first experience with a Loews hotel. The hotel was really beautiful and clean. The pools were well kept and the whirlpools were the perfect heat for my 3 year old to enjoy periodically as well. SPA was great but they didn't tell me that tip was already included in price and I ended up double tipping!! Even so, it was a wonderful SPA. My kids (3 and 13) LOVED the hotel. We wanted a low key resort like vacation with only a few day trips into San Diego for the zoo and Legoland. So, this was perfect. If you plan to do a ton of sightseeing, this is not the place for you. But if you want a chill vacation, and you can rent a car then this place was great. We would definitely stay at another Loews anytime.

  • Liked — Clean, and elegant
  • Disliked — Kids club was never open during our stay.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    634
    255
    136
    69
See reviews for
640
653
52
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I recently spent 5 nights at the Loew's Coronado Resort near San Diego. We were given a ground-floor room with sliding glass doors that opened onto a TINY patio enclosed by a tall metal fence, beyond which was the pool area and hot tub -- a mere 10-15 feet away! We could not even open our curtains without being in full view of the pool crowd, especially those in the hot tub. So the room was a virtual cave, and the loud music blaring in the pool area made it impossible to take a nap or even watch TV at a reasonable volume. (I cannot imagine any responsible hotel developer putting the pool area and hot tub so close to guest rooms.) When we asked to be moved to another room, they refused, saying that the entire resort was full. I will not stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice common areas.
  • Disliked — Room location and hotel's unwillingness to move us.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a conference - it was beautiful, the staff were very kind and helpful, the room was pretty and updated, the bath was wonderful (large soaking tub!), my view was very nice (overlooking the water), and the food was excellent. They had our large conference along with another one at the same time and they seemed to pull if off seamlessly from what I saw. I plan to stay there sometime on vacation. The only downside was that it was a little further than I thought it would be from downtown Coronado and downtown San Diego, but shuttles are available as well as on-time taxi services so that's workable.

  • Liked — Beatiful hotel/resort and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

I booked my anniversary weekend through Expedia and got a pretty good rate (Under $300 for a deluxe room for the weekend). After booking I read a lot of reviews on this site and was a little worried that I hadn't done enough research and may regret it.

Fortunately, at least for us, my concerns were not really justified. This isn't to say that some of the criticisms leveled against the Loews are unfounded. I do think that they nickel and dime you on a lot of different things (most notably $19/day for parking...but to be fair, so do 90% of the hotels in San Diego).

Like life itself, the key is to be informed. I had read here about all their costs and frankly, beyond the parking, I bought NOTHING while there. I didn't use their costly wireless connections. I didn't eat at their costly restaurants. I did hang out at the pool. I did use the nice excercise room. I did walk around the grounds and soak in the San Diego air. By knowing ahead of time about the prices for things, I was able to plan out the weekend.

The main thing I would tell anyone visiting from out of town or who might not be familiar with the area is you do need a car. Even if you were at the pricier Hotel del Coronado, by definition, you are a bit of a hike from downtown and the Gas Lamp and all that. Yes, you can take a bus (we did to see the Padres play at Petco Park Sat night...very cool and easy). The Loews is quite a ways further in than downtown Coronado however and a cab ride will cost you some serious dough. If you stay here, rent a car.

Otherwise, I found the room quite nice. The bed was comfortable. The view was ok. The bathroom was large and had a nice, albeit a bit older, soaking deep tub.

If you are in town for a week or so, I think you'll get more out of the place than if you're there for a few days. I found myself doing a lot driving just because we were going to many places in a short period of time -- and as noted above, it is time consuming to go back and forth from Coronado to downtown.

If I was there a week, I'd probably spend a lot more time at the pool and the beach here. For a few days, unless you plan on mostly sticking around the hotel...you might be better off on the "mainland".

One little gem I would suggest checking out if you stay at the Loews is the sleepy town of Imperial Beach. If you head out the opposite direction of downtown Coronado, it is only a few miles away and it is the coolest little surfer town. We had breakfast at a cool little mom and pop place by the pier and it was great. The whole vibe down there is awesome. Give it a look!

  • Liked — Nice room. Away from the congestion of downtown Coronado.
  • Disliked — Longer drive to "mainland" San Diego because it is so remote.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

My wife and I Just returned from a five night stay. We found a great rate through Travelzoo.

Check-in was a breeze. The bellperson was very helpful.

Our room was fine. Good quality bedding and linens. The mattress was a bit soft for my taste. Nice flat screen TV. Turn down service every evening.

The pool area is very nice. Not crowded and well kept.

Since it's a resort, expect to be charged accordingly. Self-parking is $19/day. The food is priced as expected. We did not eat at the resort. Plenty of dining choices in downtown Coronado.

A nice quiet visit. Worth a return visit if in the area.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — $19 for self parking.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

My family and I stayed at the resort for 2 nights/3 days. I read all the reviews before I went and wasn't sure if I wanted to stay or not. I AM SO GLAD WE STAYED. The resort is located away from downtown Coronado. We had rented a car and didn't mind driving when we wanted to leave the resort. Upon check in everyone was very friendly. The bell person went above and beyond to make sure the room was comfortable and just right. He even brought us a bucket of ice and requested delivery of a fridge (no extra charge). After check in, a Loew's staff member brought up our welcome gift for being a Loew's First Member (no charge to sign up..and you decide what kind of gift you would like at time of reservation). It was Pellergino water and some fruit and nuts. It was such a great treat. The room was very clean, nice linens, plasma tv and a nice view off the balcony overlooking the bay. I loved the in room individual coffee maker. The housekeeping came in the morning to tidy up the room and in the evening to turn down the beds and replace towels. The pool was clean, warm, and had a Tropical Feel with a cafe/bar at poolside. The pool area was busy on the Sunday but I would not call it crowded and Monday and Tuesday we had the whole area to ourselves. I also used the Fitness Center and attended a Yoga class. It was great. There are bike trails and jogging path around the resort which are also great if you want to workout outside. We ate breakfast at the resort and lunch at the poolside cafe which was great. As for the price of the resort & food, I feel it is all in prospective to the area. Overall I would stay here again and would recommend it.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountaindewbebe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed here for about 3 nights and it was very nice. The prices were outrageous though (about $19 just to park your car!) The pool was lovely and the food was decent for hotel food. The beds were relaxing but the view we had was nothing special. All of the staff was friendly and outgoing.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.