We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great but not as kid-friendly as before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pick Your Park
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Still great but not as kid-friendly as before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our 8th summer visiting Southern California and staying at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. We travel the country and internationally quite a bit and this paticular Loews is our favorite hotel anywhere. The rooms are always immaculate and the bathroom is enormous, nice fluffy towels aplenty. The staff have always been polite and friendly, aside from a few at the beach. We are Gold-level Loews First members, so we are also able to enjoy a few extra perks.

Now for the changes we saw this year that prompted this review. In the past, there were kid's activities daily every couple of hours. Mad Science, pizza making workshops, basketball pick-up games on the tennis court, smoothie making, cookie making, volleyball games in the kid pool... all gone now. In their place are more adult-oriented activities like mixology class and tequila tasting. That is not a draw for us. We are there as a family, why would we dump our kid in the room to go take a drink mixing class?

Please bring back the kid activities. The few we saw this summer were a bore to my child. The "basketball game" by the pool was a fisher price-esque basketball hoop pushed up to the edge of the pool. Lame. The family bingo is still there, but the prizes were a serious joke. They used to give the kids ice cream vouchers for their wins. They also gave out things like caps in the past. Now, it's cheesy dollar-store, 10-to-a-pack bottles of bubbles and such. Cheap.

Also sorely lacking this year was the quality of the beach shuttle service. It was never there when we needed it and we walked to te beach almost every time. It's not too far, but you do pass through a tunnel that can feel creepy on foot. In one instance, we waited for ten minutes at the beach for a return shuttle and the beach concierge put another family on it right in front of us that had just walked up! We were shocked speechless. We walked back to the hotel.

While we're on the topic of the beach concierge. Not nearly as friendly as years past. And, there was a total lack of beach supplies everytime we went. Never enough umbrellas or boogie boards. One morning we put our name on the "wating list" for ONE boogie board for three people. We walked (no shuttle around) back to the hotel for a couple of hours. When we came back the next beach concierge said "i'm not going to use that waiting list, it makes people angry". WHAT? It had a bunch of names crossed off and mine was next! Of course. Left a horrible taste in our mouths to say the least.

To say we were disappointed this year is an understatement. This hotel needs to remember it's the little things that make a huge difference in a family's trip experience. If things had been this way our first trip 8 years ago, we might not have returned. At this point we're invested in the brand and are one trip away from the top tier of their rewards program. We have to go back next year to reach that level. Hopefully things will have returned to normal by then.

Don't get me started on parking costs, LOL. We've seen them skyrocket in the last 8 years, but oh well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    693
    520
    217
    123
    53
See reviews for
520
498
40
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed at the hotel before and the remodel they did to the lobby in the last few months is outstanding. The personnel are all very friendly and accomodating. The concierge services are excellent and they do try to make you feel at home, with the perks of a hotel/resort. If you drink, get a "Coral Crush" as they are pure liquid candy and very refreshing. They also have a great spa and my wife and daughter enjoyed the "girl" time getting mani and pedis on the last day along with a massage. No complaints. Kids liked floating in the pool and watching a movie one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It delights us to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and enjoyed our newly renovated lobby. I’m glad your wife and daughter were able to utilize the Spa facilities and had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We took an adventurous vacation throughout the coast of California and finished up in the beautiful peninsula of Coronado, San Diego. Usually before we go on vacation, I always research our hotels to see what they're like, but considering this was just a trip to California as oppose to our usual tropical island trips, I skipped the research and hoped for the best. Well, the best is exactly what I got! This hotel is beautiful starting off with it's gorgeous staircase and bar in the main lobby. There are a few shops to choose from. The concierge was ALWAYS helpful and constantly looking to help. The valet workers were very friendly and constantly made sure you were satisfied with your stay. Also, they checked to see if you ever needed directions going to any restuarants/etc. Our room was spacious with a beautiful view of the river and skyline of San Diego. The bathroom was spectacular! Big tub and sink area! (Shower was a bit tight but it was do-able) Maid service was marvelous, they always cleaned every inch of the room each time they stopped by. The food in the hotel (breakfast/restaurant) was incredible. Some things are pricey, but it's well worth it. Drinks are amazing! Be sure to make friends with the bartenders in the lobby bar, they'll help you out with some special drinks and even give you some on the house if they like you! Outside pool area is very relaxing! They have an Adult Pool, Children's Pool, and then one pool for everyone. Good music playing and a pool bar (outside of pool) with nice cool summer drinks to choose from. They have servers walking around the pool area taking your order and getting you drinks. Also! Workers will towel down your lounge chair and bring you other pool towels! Everyone is very friendly and constantly wearing a smile on their face. Drinks are normal prices but they add up! Being used to staying at All inclusive hotels and then coming here can be tough but it's SO worth it. I highly reccomend this hotel for people of all ages. Honeymooners, Elderly couples, Families, Young friends, etc. There is something for EVERYONE! Plus town is just about 5 miles up the road so there is even more shops/bars/restuarants to take advantage of! Do yourself a favor, and BOOK THIS PLACE! If you're looking for a vacation in San Diego.

Room Tip: Tax is only 8% for this hotel so getting the nicest suite won't hurt you so much in the end. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. It delights us to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. Your detailed review is very much appreciated and your great comments will be shared amongst the staff. I’m happy to hear you were able to experience much of the amenities around property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for a couple nights last week. We wish we could've stayed here longer. It was a little further from town than we thought, but that was a great thing, it was such a pretty drive. Upon arriving, we were greeted by every staff member, and our room was instantly given a free upgrade to a pool view. The customer service here is top-notch! Our room was wonderful, comfortable and spacious with a king-sized bed and a huge bathroom. The resort grounds were beautiful. The nice pools are heated and has a adults-only pool. and we also took a tram to Silver Strand Beach (across the street) and they were willing to bring us back whenever we wanted. Free towels beach chair, umbrella, and boogie board rental for resort guests. THAT was unheard of in every other place we've ever stayed at. We didn't have housekeeping clean our room, since our stay was brief, but housekeeping always greeted us and even offered us fresh new towels (largest, fluffiest towels ever) and even new shampoo bottles, if we needed more. Even the parking in the garage was super easy to find parking and not a long walk. We heard the restaurants were expensive so we didn't even try them. Next time for sure. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. It’s always great to hear when we get great comments about our staff; it is much appreciated and will be shared with team. I’m glad you were able to utilize a lot of our amenities and look forward to welcoming you back so you may try our restaurant options such as Market Café or Mistral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

First of all, each and every staff member I met acknowledged and spoke to me. That says a lot. Since my room was on the first floor, there was limited view due to a lot of growth obstructing any view from the patio. I really didn't spend too much time in the room anyway.
The on-site cafe good but overpriced for a cafe. Management should really re-examine this restaurant and pare it down to a family, homestyle cafe. One upscale restaurant is sufficient.

Room Tip: Rooms above the first floors have much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

we like going to the hotel del for the crowds and the atmosphere but to be in peace and quiet is our kind of vacation and this was perfect. we were concerned about reviews that mentioned alot of dogs --we hardly saw any and they were all on leashes with their owners. really maybe saw three or four dogs in the course of our one week stay. the weather was beautiful and we enjoyed the pool, the veranda, the bay view from the room and the market cafe. there are lots of activities available for guests. we didn't use the gym this tiime but we did in our last visit and it is small but nice. The staff are very friendly and rooms were clean and

Room Tip: we loved the 3rd floor bay view room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in August of 2009. The staff were excellent, helpful and very kind to children. As a matter of fact, we were given an upgraded room upon our arrival!

The resort is beautiful - tastefully decorated with multiple pools and kid friendly events. Our room was very comfortable and spotless. Our Pay Per View/TV did not work one night and it could not be fixed. It was fixed the next day and as an apology, was given free pay per view for the rest of the week. The resort had inexpensive yoga classes and reasonably priced bike rentals. It was located across the street from the beach - with complimentary rides to and from if needed. Of course they also provided complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas and towels.
The first few days of our visit was spent sightseeing around San Diego. Our resort was so wonderful that we decided to spend the rest of our trip on the resort. We were also pleasantly surprised that the cost of meals at the resort were comparable to restaurant prices in Coronado, so we did not need to leave the hotel. While San Diego was not one of my favorite places, this hotel is!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. It’s always great to hear when we get great comments about our staff; it is much appreciated and will be shared with team. I apologize about the Pay-Per-View not being able to be fixed the first night but glad they were able to provide resolution. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.