We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a getaway from los angeles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pick Your Park
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
pacific palisades, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“just a getaway from los angeles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline bid process and was happy with my results. The hotel is on Coronado but several miles from town. We were given a partial bay view and the room was in fairly good condition. The hotel lobby had just finished a major remodel of the lobby and was very attractive with outside patio gas fire pits overlooking the bay. The only two drawbacks that we faced were 1) there was a very large commercial dumpster outside our room which was picked up the following morning at 8:00 am (waking us up) and 2) the $20.00 dollar parking fee.
The staff waived the parking fee for the dumpster pick-up disturbance. Overall it's a great family hotel and pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    616
    250
    130
    64
See reviews for
610
629
50
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My 7 y/o daughter and I visited Coronado Island the weekend after 4th of July and stayed for 2 nights. This resort is such a gem. We were very awed by how the hotel is set up to make kids (and pets) feel welcomed. Kids will not be bored at this resort. Upon checking in, my daughter was given a map of the resort along with clues to a scavenger hunt. Kids can turn in their answers at the Market Cafe in exchange for a freshly baked choc chip cookie. My daughter embraced the challenge and while trying to find answers, we got to know the resort layout really well.
There are lots to do for kids. Within the poolside area, there are at least 3 ping-pong tables, a giant chess game, a giant connect 4 game and plenty of pool toys you can borrow. Throughout the day, kids can participate in the activities held at poolside. I was able to relax by the pool for a couple of hours and not to have to worry about my child getting bored.
The resort ferries guests to the Silver Strand State Beach in a golf cart. It's a 5 min ride each way and on the beach we got complimentary use of beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas and even boogie boards.
We stayed in a corner room in building #5 on the highest (3rd) floor with a balcony overlooking the pools and the marina. From the balcony we could also see San Diego Bay. Our room was clean, bright and spacious. All 5 buildings are connected via a corridor and it is certainly not far to walk. We mostly walked across the pools which is certainly more interesting.
The resort is on a huge property and there are plenty of patio furniture outside the lobby where we could simply relax with views of the marina or the bay during the day or night. One evening, there was a s'mores station set up for guests to roast around a fire pit. Another evening, it was movie night by poolside.
Overall, the service at this resort is commendable. Everyone from the valet to room service was very helpful, friendly and ready to make our stay a pleasant one. We had room service for 2 nights and dined at the Market Cafe for breakfast and lunch. They weren't priced exorbitantly.
My daughter told me when we were leaving, "Mommy I want to stay at this place everytime we come to San Diego".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m so happy you and your family had such a wonderful experience and were able to utilize our wonderful facilities. It’s great to hear your daughter found the clues to get her cookie!!! We look forward to being your resort of choice every time you come to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foothills..ca.
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice location far from crowds....nice rooms very nice staff...Dog friendly and great food..
A tad away from city ..but I like this...later for the Del.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view.. Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Booked this because we wanted to be on Coronado. The experience was well below what we expected at a Loews resort. Here is why.

Staff and services: The staff was impeccable. Courteous to the max and very helpful. Check-in and out was flawless. Nothing wrong there. They offer a golf cart ride to the beach which is on the other side of the causeway with a local beach-side attendant to hand out towels and chairs and other goodies. Seems like a kid-friendly environment, but we were there for a romantic getaway -- 45th anniversary.

Public Facilities: Good but not great. The entry looks to have been polished up but missing flowers and other things to brighten the place up. Have three pools but not big and seem crowded. Service poolside is really good but not overly attentive.

Rooms: OK and comfortable. TV is a bit small but flat screen. Bed and bedding need to be replaced. Clear indentations indicating long use and need to replacement. Bathrooms are really upgraded.

Building and grounds: This is the worst area. the landscaping is really rundown. The grass in the pool area is dying and a lot of dirt shows through. shrubbery is overgrown and dated. The building itself is suffering age --stucco that is water stained throughout with black marks and rusting metal railings. Looks like the 50's with some minimum attempt at spit and polish.

Restaurants: Poolside service bar is really good. The top end restaurant -- Mistral -- gets excellent reviews in Zagat.

Room Tip: We booked what we thought was harbor view, but only had a peekaboo view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Loews Coronado Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort. I’m delighted you had such a wonderful experience with our staff and restaurants such as La Cantina and Mistral. I’m sorry for any inconsistencies you encountered and appreciate your feedback especially in regards to grounds quality. I will follow up on details of your comments with our engineering management and landscape team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overall a decent hotel (clean rooms, nice people, etc) but for the price we paid ($300/night) and the expectation of a "resort" (since it was a bit isolated) we were disappointed. And you had better like kids and dogs - you will see them everywhere!

Rooms: The rooms were nice, well appointed (keurig coffee makers, nice views of the bay, large bathrooms with separate large tub/smaller shower).

Dogs: The place is dog friendly, to a point. Dogs are welcome for $25 a stay, but there are so many places on the "resort" you can't have your dog and you are not supposed to leave the dog alone in the room. So having your dog with you isn't necessarily a convenience. They are also not allowed on the nearby beach.

Kids: This is supposed to be a kid/family friendly resort, and again they are, sort of. They seem to have plenty of resort-like activities for older kids (say ages ~4-12) but not much for younger kids (like mine) and since the resort is pretty isolated you either get to eat at the same cruddy restaurant every day or you have to pack up the kids and drive into Coronado for food. This is a pain and makes me consider this a nice hotel and not a "resort."

Food: They have a bar in the lobby, a bar/lunch snack bar at the pool (which has terrible hours! never open when we wanted food!), a Market Cafe restaurant and room service (which was pretty much the same choices as the Market Cafe). There is also a nicer french restaurant, but not kid friendly, so we didn't eat there. The Market Cafe was average - some terrible food items (like the scallops) and some surprisingly good and well priced items (like the salads and the flat bread/pizzas). Everything was overpriced, but this is to be expected as it is in a hotel/resort. I also hate that at the pool, they add an additional 18% service fee to the drinks/food - it's not like they hid this, but it just irks me: just make the price of the drink 18% more so I don't feel like I am being swindled!

Pools/Beach/Amenities: They have three pools (kid/family/adult) and nice lounge chairs/umbrellas/etc. The pools are slightly heated and they have a few over sized games (such as chess and connect four). My only complaint is that the kids pool (and all the other pools) are all 3 1/2 feet deep. I expected the kids pool to at least have a very shallow end (say 2 ft deep) - my kids weren't able to stand anywhere in the pool except the steps. There is NOT a beach at the resort. The beach nearby is the state beach (Silver Strand), a nice enough beach but had a lot of sea weed on the shores). The resort has a large golf cart "shuttle" they use to drive guests down to the beach. They also set up a stand at the beach with chairs/towels/etc. We found this to be nice enough, but if you are expecting to have the beach right outside your hotel, this is not the place for you. They also have tennis courts and a few small gift shops in the lobby.

Parking/Isolated: Self parking is $25/day, so calculate this into your nightly rate. Valet is $30. Parking is also scarce during busy times, but if you bring it to valet and tell them that there are no self parking spaces left they will charge you the self parking rate. The resort is isolated. This is good and bad. It is about 5 miles from Coronado - where all the shopping and restaurants are - not really walking distance. If you want isolation and just to enjoy the amenities of the resort, it can be very relaxing. But like I mentioned above unless you want to eat the same few menu items (some good, some bad) you have to leave the resort and drive up to Coronado. For us, with kids, this was a pain. I would rather have had the option of a few more restaurants to choose from inside the resort (even if they were overpriced!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I have visited this hotel twice in the last 15 months. It is a fabulous getaway with a very resorty feel to it. The pools are fantastic, I especially appreciate that they have separate pools for adults and families. There were always plenty of chairs. The beach is a five minute walk or they will take you on a golf cart to a drop off where chairs and towels await. There are tons of rental options - bikes, boats, etc. We rented the bikes and rode into the downtown Coronado area.

Most hotel food is blah. We loved The Market restaurant. We went for dinner one night and had a delicious dish of homemade avocado pasta with roast chicken. It was very high quality and a generous portion. Their breakfasts were also very good.

I recommend this for families or couples. It is very low key and not much nightlife-so it's probably not ideal for the party crowd.

Room Tip: Go for the partial bay room. The second time we visited we were "upgraded" to a pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The wife booked the room and I don’t think she realized it’s about 5 miles from ‘downtown’ Coronado….So if you’re wanting to do anything outside of the resort plan on taking a drive (the resort did offer an on demand shuttle service)……Of course you can rent a bike right on site (probably a good idea) and there’s a path all the way to downtown……resort is pet friendly (bet we saw 25+ dogs during our stay)…..Stayed in building 5 and it hasn’t been refurbished as far as I can tell (hear the whole hotel was being refurbished)…stains on the carpet were the biggest tell…but otherwise the room was clean……Parking became a problem (we were there over the 4th of July) in the afternoon……Otherwise it was a good stay……

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. . Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the hotel's new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual elegance of an oceanfront home, including a new lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe, Market To Go and all 440 sea-inspired guest rooms and suites. Resort features include direct access to the Silver Strand State Beach, three tennis courts, a private 81-slip marina and panoramic views of the San Diego-Coronado Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.