We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Coronado Bay Resort to your Saves list
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Sail
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic family resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Loews at Coronado Bay Resort with our 3 children aged 9, 12, and 13. The resort has a number of wonderful amenities for children including a heated outdoor pool complex, ping pong tables, outdoor Connect 4 game, tennis, games room, and a teen room with XBox games and there are 2 IPads in the lobby. We rented bikes and rode along the coastal path to the beach, and you can rent boats and gondolas for travel along the bay area. The weather was fantastic, although a little foggy every morning. We had adjoining rooms with a King suite attached to a room with two doubles. The bathrooms were large and beautifully appointed. They have just started major renovations in the lobby, and so it was very noisy during the day, but we were far away at the other end of the resort, and so we weren't affected at all. The room service was prompt and the food was excellent. If you have a chance to go to the restaurant upstairs, I highly recommend it. "Mistral" is a French fusion restaurant, and I enjoyed wonderful foie gras and a fabulous steak. The spa was a little outdated, but I had a wonderful massage and the outdoor hot-tub area was relaxing and nicely landscaped. Overall the staff bent over backwards to help us, and we had a great time. If you are looking for a reasonably priced family-friendly resort on the San Diego shore...then look no further!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking San Diego Bay with views of the Coronado Bay Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    566
    235
    127
    60
See reviews for
569
574
48
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, friendly service all around. I enjoyed the view and location, the hallways were very spacious, rooms were okay. They charged for wi-fi $13 per day and a $25 parking fee per day when we checked in. Because most hotels in San Diego offer free breakfast, free wi-fi, and waived parking fee, I don't think I'll be staying at the Loews Coronado Bay resort again :(

Room Tip: Bay side view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We arrived at 1:05. We knew we were early and were prepared to return later but were assured our room would be ready within the hour. At 4:25 we got our room. We had upgraded to a supposed nice room with a bay vew. We wasted our money.

I regret coming here and would not recommend to anyone regardless of rate.

Room Tip: Do not believe thir upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

After our brief visit in San Diego, we got to stay 1 night at this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by all the amenities and activities it offers. Most you have to pay for like the gym, spa, xbox/ps3 game rentals, kids daycare, etc. but a lot are offered for free as well! There is swimming (top notch pool area!), basketball, table tennis, lounge, to name a few! Overall, it was a good experience!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Loews Coronado for a week when I was attending a conference in June 2011. I meant to come back home and write a positive review, but did not get around to it. Well here I am:
Loews Coronado beat every other place I have ever stayed at, and I have stayed in a few - hands down- in their customer service. These people have really got it -what customer service really means. Right from the house-keeping staff to every other level, I did not find a single employee that did not seem to enjoy doing what he/she was doing.
Kudos to the Management Team as I truly believe that that is where culture like this starts and gets nurtured. With staff like this, it is easy for a customer to overlook inconveniences like renovations, etc.
Diego Monteiro, Saskatoon, SK Canada

Room Tip: Awesome place! Rent a vehicle if you are staying here. It is out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Staff very friendly, nice pool area and nice quiet surroundings.
Food in restaurant very nice.
Rooms need thicker walls......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a nice hotel, although it is in the midst of a remodel, which is why we must have gotten such a good deal on our rooms. It is about 4 miles out of the town of Coronado, so you will need to drive for meals, shopping, bars, etc. unless you choose to have all your meals at the hotel, which can be expensive. The menu is ample, but it is pricey. We didn't learn about the shuttle until we were leaving, but I guess that would be a good option if the times are convenient. Our rooms were very nice and clean, the bathroom large with plenty of towels, a garden tub and separate shower, and we had a small view of the bay. The staff was very friendly and accomodating; they allowed us an early check in and late check out to maximize our stay. There is an adult pool, a family pool and a kids pool, and 2 hot pools which was very nice. The only complaint about the pool area is that they have piped-in music that plays CONSTANTLY and we did not enjoy that as we wanted to relax, read and nap and not listen to hip-hop.

Room Tip: It is a large complex with at least 5 buildings, but they all connect up through corridors. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Coronado Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Address: 4000 Loews Coronado Bay Rd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#1 Green Hotel in Coronado
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Coronado Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered between the Pacific Ocean and Coronado Bay, Loews Coronado Bay Resort epitomizes the true Southern California lifestyle. We are pleased to announce completion of a comprehensive redesign of our lobby, Bay Terrace, Cays Lounge, Market Cafe and Market-to-Go. Taking full advantage of the resort's waterfront location, the new design artfully combines San Diego's sun and surf with the casual charm of southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Loews Coronado Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Coronado Bay Hotel Coronado
Loews Resort
Loews Bay Coronado
Coronado Loews
Lowes Coronado
Coronado Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Coronado Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.