We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Avenida Inn

Save Saved
You added La Avenida Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Cypress
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great spot in Coronado. Close to the Del, the beach, the shops, everything! You can park (FREE!) and walk or ride a bike to most anywhere in Coronado. The property is older but very well kept. If not for the noise created by other guests coming and going (obviously unaware that other people were staying there) and the early morning buzz from the eateries next door it would have been even more enjoyable. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at La Avenida Inn. It is always great to hear that our guests were able to enjoy the wonderful location & amenities of our hotel along with being able to enjoy all of the great activities that Coronado has to offer. Our apologies that you had some issues with the noise of other guests. Please feel free to contact the Front Desk if there is ever an issue with this and we will make sure to address the issues immediately. We want to make sure that you always have a relaxing and comfortable stay with us.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    83
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
80
83
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calumet City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at the avenida. I am definitely coming back!
The place is very clean, friendly, and an excellent location in Coronado island. The fact that this place has free parking is also an asset.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words of recommendation. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our location and, of course, the free parking! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Jay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I like staying there is convenient location and good value, but I wish they had refrigerators in rooms. Very nice, sorry to leave. Nice staff, could use coffee pots in rooms, but wasn't hard to run up front for coffee.





  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We would like express our sincere gratitude for choosing to stay with us. Upon your next visit, let us know of your preference to have a coffee maker and we will make sure to place it in your room. We do have them available upon request at the Front Desk. We also do offer refrigerators for our guest rooms; however, these are available at a small nominal nightly fee and can be placed in the room by contacting the Front Desk.
Thank you for your wonderful comment of our staff. We truly appreciate it and for taking the time to post your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location. Rooms are cozy and reasonably updated. The bathroom floor had some areas that needed attention but everything was clean, tidy, and welcoming.
Annie was fantastic. She helped me with all of my local planning questions in advance of our trip.
The rooms were tidy and comfortable.
While we didn't watch much TV, I do believe upgrading the sets would be nice (our stay was in a cooler period and we had some rain).
Would stay there again for sure if prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will make sure to pass on the wonderful comments to Anne as well. She will be very pleased. Our staff strives every day to perform exceptional customer service to our guests.
We appreciate the feedback of the room and we are in the process of resolving any maintenance issues with the flooring. We hope to see you soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ideal location of hotel within 5 mins walk to beach and within Coronado main street of restaurants and shops. Very clean rooms with separate dressing area and suitable size bathroom. No issues with WIFI, free parking was ideal. Only complaint is the variety of tea offered for breakfast, which didn't include black tea (only flavoured tea) and only included powdered milk, which isn't to everyone's taste. Pool was ideal (but cold at this time of year). We stayed in a downstairs room and could hear guests walk around upstairs, but we didn't have any issues with noise from the main road. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and on Coronado.

Room Tip: Upstairs room as we had downstairs room and could hear guests walk around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Coronado and we are so pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the beach and the surrounding restaurants and shops. It is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for not having your preference of beverage and condiments. We have purchased regular tea to have available.
We hope to see you the next time you visit Coronado and we can put in the request for a second floor room if preferred to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights and 3 days at La Avenida Inn a few weeks ago and loved our stay there. As mentioned by other revieweres the location is perfect. Just a block from the Del Coronado but much more quiet and agreable and away from the chaos at the Del Coronado!

From this location we walked everywhere including to our restaurants for lunch and dinner and to the beach and the shops.

There is a nice size pool and lounging chairs available and it was a bit cool to use the pool but we did sit on the chairs in the sun on our last day and it was lovely.

Our room was nice, plenty big with all that we needed. We did get access to their wi-fi and the staff at the front desk was really helpful! They made great suggestions for restaurants and called our cab on Sunday and also extended our checkout to 1:00 pm as we needed to catch our cab at 12:45 pm for our 3 pm flight back. Next time we would stay on the second floor (this hotel has two floors) because for some reasons the people above us were loud on one of our nights there.

This hotel is next to a bagel shop and very close to several; restaurants.

We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves lucky enough to go back to Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage enjoying our location and were able to walk to the variety of fantastic restaurants and wonderful shops. Please let us know the next time you come to Coronado and we will put in your request for second floor.
Thank you for such a terrific review and taking the time to post your experience. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was looking for a hotel near the beach and did not want to pay the rates at the Hotel Del Coronado. La Avenida had an off season special rate of only $125 per night for a king bed room overlooking the pool. This small property is in a great location being right across from the street from the Hotel Del and the beach. We were in room 213 on the second floor overlooking the small pool. The room was spacious and clean although we noted several small maintenance issues like patches on the ceiling. We could hear the couple talking in the next room so the walls are rather thin.
Parking is free which is another big plus for the area. We parked the car and didn't use it the whole time we were there (2 nights). Very easy to walk around Coronado to shops and restaurants. We walked to the ferry port and took the $4.25 each way ferry to the Broadway pier which is right next door to the aircraft carrier Midway museum. What a great way to spend half a day! The ferry ride was wonderful (about 15 minutes) and the museum is one of the best I've been to in a long time. I will write another review about the Midway.
Pool area was small but pretty although with the chilly air near the ocean a hot tub would be much more inviting.
I would recommend La Avenida for the great price and parking but would rank it as an average hotel.

Room Tip: Walls are thing so an upstairs room would be best. The continental breakfast consisted of a few tire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and "America's Best Beach 2012." The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Avenida Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.