We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a perfect location at a reasonable price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Avenida Inn

Save Saved
You added La Avenida Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Avenida Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great place in a perfect location at a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights and 3 days at La Avenida Inn a few weeks ago and loved our stay there. As mentioned by other revieweres the location is perfect. Just a block from the Del Coronado but much more quiet and agreable and away from the chaos at the Del Coronado!

From this location we walked everywhere including to our restaurants for lunch and dinner and to the beach and the shops.

There is a nice size pool and lounging chairs available and it was a bit cool to use the pool but we did sit on the chairs in the sun on our last day and it was lovely.

Our room was nice, plenty big with all that we needed. We did get access to their wi-fi and the staff at the front desk was really helpful! They made great suggestions for restaurants and called our cab on Sunday and also extended our checkout to 1:00 pm as we needed to catch our cab at 12:45 pm for our 3 pm flight back. Next time we would stay on the second floor (this hotel has two floors) because for some reasons the people above us were loud on one of our nights there.

This hotel is next to a bagel shop and very close to several; restaurants.

We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves lucky enough to go back to Coronado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage enjoying our location and were able to walk to the variety of fantastic restaurants and wonderful shops. Please let us know the next time you come to Coronado and we will put in your request for second floor.
Thank you for such a terrific review and taking the time to post your experience. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    83
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
80
83
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was looking for a hotel near the beach and did not want to pay the rates at the Hotel Del Coronado. La Avenida had an off season special rate of only $125 per night for a king bed room overlooking the pool. This small property is in a great location being right across from the street from the Hotel Del and the beach. We were in room 213 on the second floor overlooking the small pool. The room was spacious and clean although we noted several small maintenance issues like patches on the ceiling. We could hear the couple talking in the next room so the walls are rather thin.
Parking is free which is another big plus for the area. We parked the car and didn't use it the whole time we were there (2 nights). Very easy to walk around Coronado to shops and restaurants. We walked to the ferry port and took the $4.25 each way ferry to the Broadway pier which is right next door to the aircraft carrier Midway museum. What a great way to spend half a day! The ferry ride was wonderful (about 15 minutes) and the museum is one of the best I've been to in a long time. I will write another review about the Midway.
Pool area was small but pretty although with the chilly air near the ocean a hot tub would be much more inviting.
I would recommend La Avenida for the great price and parking but would rank it as an average hotel.

Room Tip: Walls are thing so an upstairs room would be best. The continental breakfast consisted of a few tire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was a pleasure staying at La Avenida. We had asked for a quiet room and that's what we got.
The staff was helpful and courteous. My sister had trouble getting her bags upstairs and was helped up by a courteous staff member. We asked if our boarding passes could be printed by the front desk's computer and we were accomodated. I asked about where to get coffee at night and the helpful staff made a small pot just for us. The room was clean and roomy

Room Tip: For a quiet room upstairs past the last stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed here during Fleet Week. It was a last minute reservation and most of the larger hotels weer booked. I did not wnat t pay the price for the Del Coronado. The facility is about what you would expect for a Motel 6 or Holiday Inn Express except it is older. Everything worked fine but the bathroom had cracks in the sheet linoleum floors, some mold in the grout and dirty hand prints around the door. The bed was fine though.
This place is a good value but you are getting what you are paying.

Room Tip: We stayed in 205. Upstairs with no elevator but away from Orange Bl. and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I were booked into the Inn to cater a wedding on the island last week. We had no say in the room/hotel/location as it was being paid for by the wedding party. I have stayed all over the world in motels and luxury hotels alike and most of them could take a leaf out of the Avenida Inn's customer service book. The Inn has a great location and is clean and comfortable. The pool is well kept and parking is right there and part of the hotel and prices are very reasonable for the area. ALL the staff, Jodi, Annie, Benny and Moises went above and beyond to help me with some very strange requests. I could not have performed my job as caterer had they not helped me in the way they did. Thank you so much all of you and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Ace location, very clean, Coronado is a lovely place, good transport, free wifi, breakfast included, large rooms, good staff! The hotel is good value, and we both loved the experience. Pool also, and use the free summer shuttle. The ferry trip to San Diego is a doddle. Try the baseball and definitely the Midway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to San Diego we loved the Coronado location our room was musty at first. The little AC unit is very loud. The maid kept turning it off and the room was very hot when we got back
from a long day of sightseeing. The bathroom sink kept clogging. We told the front desk they sent a person to fix it but still clogged up. Seems like the rooms are from the 80's in decore. The staff was very friendly. The free breakfast is a few pieces of bread and coffee And some old fruit. The free parking is what makes this hotel a good value and the location

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coronado
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and "America's Best Beach 2012." The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Priceline so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Avenida Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.