We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Avenida Inn to your Saves list
La Avenida Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$15 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, Average Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our first visit to San Diego we loved the Coronado location our room was musty at first. The little AC unit is very loud. The maid kept turning it off and the room was very hot when we got back
from a long day of sightseeing. The bathroom sink kept clogging. We told the front desk they sent a person to fix it but still clogged up. Seems like the rooms are from the 80's in decore. The staff was very friendly. The free breakfast is a few pieces of bread and coffee And some old fruit. The free parking is what makes this hotel a good value and the location

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    108
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
104
105
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a return visit for me to the La Avenida Inn but my stay was not as good as before. Last time I visited I had a suite and zero complaints so I booked a room on my next visit to San Diego. This time I stayed in room 112 a 2 queen bed room on the second floor that faces the pool. This room gets full sun most of the time and was ungodly hot. The room was 100degrees when we walked in and with only the little box a/c it took 4 hours for the room to be tolerable to be in. The windows don't open but an inch so they were useless so we had to leave the door to the room open to get any airflow inside.The other issue in this room is the Internet wouldn't work off and on which we assumed was because of its distance away from the front office. The last issue was the size of the room it was so small that if you opened the TV armoire you could barely walk between it and the bed. These are all things that were not an issue in the suite we stayed in before. I like the hotel and its location but unless I had a suite room I would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us during your visit to Coronado. We wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We truly appreciate your patronage.

We are very sorry to hear that this last visit was not as pleasant and there were several issues. We definitely have had some very hot weather the last few weeks here in Coronado. Our apologies that the A/C was not turned on upon your arrival in order to have your room at a comfortable temperature. We have taken this into consideration, and will be making sure to have the A/C units turned on prior to any guests’ arrivals during the warm summer months.

Secondly, we are sorry to hear that you had some problems with the internet. The Front Desk staff did receive notice that you originally had some problems, but after we reset the modem, we were unaware that there was a constant problem of the connection fading in and out. We did troubleshoot and check to make sure it as was working immediately afterwards and were able to get connected.

If we would have been aware that you were having more problems with internet and the size of the room, we would have moved you to a different room to address this problem for you immediately.

We hope you do give us another chance when choosing your lodging needs! Please contact me directly the next time you are planning to stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located directly across the street from the famous Hotel Del Coronado, La Avenida is the perfect place to stay. You can walk to restaurants and walk across the street to the beach. They have a nice pool and offer a complimentary continental breakfast every morning. The staff is warm, friendly and very helpful. Parking is free to guests. The best value on coronado Island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level offer a better view. All rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the incredible review!!

We appreciate that you took the time to post your wonderful comments of our hotel. We take pride in being able to offer a fantastic location with value and affordability for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. On Orange Ave across from the Dell and beach is close too. So many restaurants and cafe all along Orange Ave which are an easy walk. Free parking. Our daughter who lives in San Diego was able to park free when she visited each evening for dinner. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and roomy. We loved the pool area with chairs and umbrella/tables.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our added amenities of location and parking during your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you had a great time and that you were able to enjoy the relaxing pool area in the perfect weather we have in Coronado.
Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

La Avenida is very clean, comfortable and quiet being that is right on Orange Ave. We stayed Aug 24-25, 2013, for a wedding at the Del Coronado and enjoyed it. The front desk staff person (blonde woman) was very nice and we liked her recommendations. Its right across Orange Ave from the beach and Hotel Del Coronado. Many shops and restaurants within steps from the inn. It does need some minor repairs here and there, but overall a very prime location, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Across Orange Ave from Hotel Del Coronado and beach, shops and restaurants within steps of inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a favorable review. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us to attend such a memorable event and that you were able to enjoy the great shops and delicious restaurants while visiting Coronado. Our location definitely is perfect for easy walking distance to all these wonderful activities, and the proximity to America’s Best Beach, which is just a block away.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The location is unbeatable being a long block from the Coronado beaches and in the midst of the activity along Orange Avenue. In some ways the location is better that the Hotel Coronado. The property is modest, clean, maintained and safe. The cost is a bargain. Several of the best restaurants on the island are minutes away. The only caution is wi-fi. If you are either addicted or find it indispensable, the underpowered wi-fi may not be for you. But there is free wi-fi at the bagel shop next door.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit as we take pride in being able to offer the highlight of our location at an affordable value.

We are sorry to hear you had trouble with our WiFi. If we had known we would have tried to move you to a different room and tried to improve your WiFi service.

We thank you for staying with us during your visit to Coronado. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Called at the last moment after looking on Trip Advisor for a place to stay to attend a welcome home party for a Navy Seal friend and could not find anywhere on the island that would allow a one night stay on a July weekend! This darling hotel has a fantastic location! Affordable and clean! Loved the staff. Very friendly and helpful! We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are thrilled that we were able to provide your lodging needs during such a busy time of year!

And thank you for giving us such a terrific review. Our team is so happy to receive such a wonderful acknowledgement!

We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
#3 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Avenida Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.