We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Avenida Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Avenida Inn to your Saves list
La Avenida Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the La Avendia Inn in October of 2012 and loved it. The location is perfect - close to the beach, shops, dinning, and trolly tours. We required two rooms for our large family. Both rooms were on the second floor. The rooms were large and extremely clean. We enjoyed the space that each room had for changing, watching TV, relaxing, and the beds provided restful nights sleep. The parking was free at the hotel and that was a plus. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, courteous, and took the time to say hello or help answer tourist questions. We will stay here again. For the price, location, and high standards of customer serive you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor - the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at the La Avenida Inn, we wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting beautiful Coronado Island. We appreciate and sincerely thank you for the time you have taken to share such a positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    120
    25
    15
    6
See reviews for
119
118
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early March. The location is great, easy to get to restaurants, shops and of course the beach. I have to say that it is a very clean place and well kept. There were a few things though that we both were not impressed with. The first room (#213) we were in had a door to an adjoining room. We could hear the TV next door quite clearly and the other people talking, it was as though we were in the same room. Not because they were extremely loud, but the room didn't offer and sound absorption. We request to be changed to another room (#208), which we were moved to and it was better but there was still noise that carried through the walls. The rooms have been upgraded, however I think more could be done to make the rooms comfortable. You don't feel like you want to stay in a relax for more than a few minutes. The so called "changing area" had a table aplastic ice bucket and plastice cups in plastic wrap, but no chairs, and that was it. I think a counter with a small fridge would have been handy. Or to have the closet on the other wall and make the bathroom bigger would be more practical use of the space. The heating/AC system is very loud and kept waking us up through the night. Also there is a fair amount of traffic noise and vehicle activity in the area night and day, so be aware of that. I realize that not much can be done about that, however better sound insulating would go a long way to rectify that. The desk in the room was too small to be practical, and didn't even have a pen or a note pad. It's sometimes handy to have this when you are planning your activities. It had one nice chair, but only one. You couldn't both sit and talk or read a book. The room was a decent size but not laid out well enough to have been used efficiently. Also no coffee/tea option available in the rooms. I don't think I've ever been in a $125 plus per night room that didn't offer this. On the positive the people at the front desk are very pleasant, enjoyable and friendly. I cannot say enough good things about them. They were very helpful to ask questions to.
However, if this same hotel were 5 block further from the beach I don't think anyone would go back. Keep in mind the location when you read the comments from other people that have stayed here. I'm thinking that the only thing that keeping the ratings up is the location.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with adjoining door if you don;t want to hear your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
On behalf of our team here at the La Avenida Inn, I would like to thank you for your taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

Our mission is to assure our guests are pleased and comfortable during their stay with us. We are committed to making a difference and strive to continually make enhancements. Feedback and comments such as yours are extremely encouraging and push us to continue improving on our services.

Thank you for your kind words of our team. They will be delighted to know that their service was exceptional and to hear the praise will make their day.

On the other hand, we were disappointed to learn about the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are also disappointed that you were not able to find the room comfortable enough to relax and enjoy during your visit. We would have furnished an additional chair for the room during your stay if we would have known of your requirements. Additionally, please accept our sincere apologies of the noise issue you experienced. When there are issues of noise and disruption we do our best to handle and respond in an immediate manner.
We do have small refrigerators available at an additional charge if requested. We do provide pen and paper in our guest rooms, so please accept our apologies for the oversight in your particular room.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback. Only by candid comments such as yours we are able to improve our services. We are truly sorry if you have left with a negative impression of the La Avenida Inn and do hope that you will give us a second chance. Please do contact me directly if you choose to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at La Avenida Inn in Feb 2013 and recommend it so long as you know what you're getting.

Pros: Very reasonable price (which was why I stayed there - wanted to avoid much more expensive rates of the Del Coronado where I was attending a business conference). Kitty-corner from the Del Coronado (again, a deciding factor since I was at the Del for business). Walking distance to beach and pretty residential neighborhoods. Right on Orange Ave with all its restaurants and cafes and shops. Free parking, internet, and (very very basic) breakfast. Friendly staff. Large room (though mine was wheel chair-accessible, so it might have been larger than others). New clean carpet, fresh paint, no funky smells, deep tub.

Cons: Definitely an older building, so the room's fresh paint was on pretty beat-up walls. Wallpaper pealing a little in one corner. Small chips in shower and doorways - just cosmetic stuff. Squeaky floor in room above. Back of room faced alley with a little (just a little) traffic at night and early in the morning.Plantation shutters a nice touch, but they don't block the light from outside. This means it's impossible to get the room very dark at night. No iron in room - I'm assuming the front rest can provide on request. I don't think there was a safe in the room or a refrigerator. I didn't need either, but if you do you might want to check with them before you book.

All in all, I found the hotel perfectly serviceable. I'll certainly stay there again, at least when on business and trying to dodge the Del's higher rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We would like to express our personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts about us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. You have paid us the highest compliment that you will visit us again.

A few of the amenities that you stated we do in fact have available through our front desk. We provide hairdryers and irons & ironing boards at request from the front desk and also these can be delivered to your room prior to your arrival for your convenience. We also have the option of a small refrigerator at a nominal nightly fee.

The maintenance and cosmetic issues that you have mentioned will be addressed and repaired.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we very much look forward to return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is literally right across the street from Hotel del Coronado! It has nice rooms and comfortable beds. We didn't come to Coronado to stay in the room, so we didn't need all the "luxury" you might find at an upscale resort. The bonus is that it is literally 2 blocks from Coronado beach, and we walked there every day. Great restaurants within two blocks of the hotel as well. We loved La Avenida and will stay here every time we come to San Diego!
I would have give the review 5 stars, but as mentioned in previous reviews, the pool is FREEZING! We were there in October and the ocean was warmer than this pool. My kids who love water didn't even want to stay in the pool after two minutes and refused to go into the pool the rest of the trip. However, for the price you will never do better than this!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are so delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful time here during your visit to beautiful Coronado. We very much appreciate the wonderful rating and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our convenient location to America’s Best Beach and the many choices of delicious restaurants that are within just a few minutes’ walking distance.

We would like to offer our apologies for the swimming pool being so cold and that your children were unable to enjoy it while you were here. Unfortunately the pool is not heated and it does get chilly during certain times of the year.

It gives us great joy to know that you will be choosing the La Avenida Inn as your preferred accommodations when you visit Coronado. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Inn because we wanted to be in Coronado and this was the best deal we found. We will go back because of the friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms, free parking, and great location!

Room Tip: I would recommend first floor away from the street, but the rooms are all decent sizes, clean and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and 4-star rating! We are so glad that you found that our hotel was a great choice during your visit to Coronado.
Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the least expensive hotels on the island but close to the beach and across the street from the Del. it was comfortable and clean. A little noisy street side. Overall I'd stay again. Love the area.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had pleasant stay with us and were able to enjoy our lovely location!

We apologize if the street traffic noise was burdensome to you in anyway. During your next visit with us, please feel free to put in the request for a room that is away from the street.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your comments, and we look forward to your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great desk people - we were there for 3 nights and the front desk people were always a joy to deal with.The night we checked in the desk clerk reccommened the Brigantine Restuarant next door and he was right on. Large, clean rooms (2), comfortable beds, large bathrooms and the grounds were lovely. Packing is tight, but enough. The rooms were very quiet. The location is great, easy walking to the beach - even for us old people.

Room Tip: As far off the main street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and the beautiful Coronado Beach. The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Avenida Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.