We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay more?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Avenida Inn

Save Saved
You added La Avenida Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Avenida Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Why pay more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is literally right across the street from Hotel del Coronado! It has nice rooms and comfortable beds. We didn't come to Coronado to stay in the room, so we didn't need all the "luxury" you might find at an upscale resort. The bonus is that it is literally 2 blocks from Coronado beach, and we walked there every day. Great restaurants within two blocks of the hotel as well. We loved La Avenida and will stay here every time we come to San Diego!
I would have give the review 5 stars, but as mentioned in previous reviews, the pool is FREEZING! We were there in October and the ocean was warmer than this pool. My kids who love water didn't even want to stay in the pool after two minutes and refused to go into the pool the rest of the trip. However, for the price you will never do better than this!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are so delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful time here during your visit to beautiful Coronado. We very much appreciate the wonderful rating and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our convenient location to America’s Best Beach and the many choices of delicious restaurants that are within just a few minutes’ walking distance.

We would like to offer our apologies for the swimming pool being so cold and that your children were unable to enjoy it while you were here. Unfortunately the pool is not heated and it does get chilly during certain times of the year.

It gives us great joy to know that you will be choosing the La Avenida Inn as your preferred accommodations when you visit Coronado. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    64
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
65
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Inn because we wanted to be in Coronado and this was the best deal we found. We will go back because of the friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms, free parking, and great location!

Room Tip: I would recommend first floor away from the street, but the rooms are all decent sizes, clean and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and 4-star rating! We are so glad that you found that our hotel was a great choice during your visit to Coronado.
Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the least expensive hotels on the island but close to the beach and across the street from the Del. it was comfortable and clean. A little noisy street side. Overall I'd stay again. Love the area.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are so thrilled that you had pleasant stay with us and were able to enjoy our lovely location!

We apologize if the street traffic noise was burdensome to you in anyway. During your next visit with us, please feel free to put in the request for a room that is away from the street.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your comments, and we look forward to your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great desk people - we were there for 3 nights and the front desk people were always a joy to deal with.The night we checked in the desk clerk reccommened the Brigantine Restuarant next door and he was right on. Large, clean rooms (2), comfortable beds, large bathrooms and the grounds were lovely. Packing is tight, but enough. The rooms were very quiet. The location is great, easy walking to the beach - even for us old people.

Room Tip: As far off the main street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The La Avenida Inn is the best value on Coronado. It has the best rates, but the rooms are very nice, with comfortable beds and refrigerators available for a small fee ($5.00/night). The location can't be beat- right across the street from the Del, walking distance to the beach, shops, and restaurants. Since driving and parking on the island can be kind of a pain, that is a real plus. The La Avenida is within walking distance of more restaurants than I can count, both sit down and quick service (Bruegger's Bagels, Subway, etc.), the Del, Coronado beach, all the shops on Orange Ave.

Room Tip: Our particular room (215- the last room on the "short" side of the "L") was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review! We are so pleased your stay with us was enjoyable and worth posting your experience for others to review. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a charming motel only feet away from the Hotel Del across the street without the prices!

Arrived at just gone 2 in said of check-in time of 3 but still allowed to check-in by the lovely Anne who was smiling and cheerfull everytime we saw her. As were all the other clerks on the front desk. Lovely room overlooking pool. Seperate dressing area and an all-white bathroom. Bathroom actually has a window which opens part way for ventilation as do all the other windows front and back. Shutters in said of drapes on windows making a nice plantation feel. Pool area nice but be warned - the water is freezing! Lush looking plants, and palms in front of pool. Pool towels from office. Plus beach buckets and spades for children. Hairdryer also from office.

Slept very well although motel right on main street which being a Sunday was heaving as was the rest of the island although it quietened down during the week. Not too keen on breakfast offered - coffee and pastries but plenty of coffee shops around for breakfast if needed. The location is so convenient for beach and sight seeing plus free parking as well which is invaluable on Coronado. Rather tight especially if you have a large vehicle.

We hired bikes from Hollands bikes for $20 for 4 hours and had a great time - well recommended + very good service.

Room Tip: Pool rooms fine. The garden rooms at back do overlook a small strip of grass but also the backs loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the La Avenida Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you found our hotel team pleasant and helpful as well as our amenities and location exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you return to Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very impressed with the staff and general manager of this hotel. Our guests loved this hotel. Had wonderful things to say. Had a very good experience with G.M. who helped me set up the hotel block. All the 29 rooms are in an “L” shape with a gated pool filling in the “square” of the property. It is on Orange Ave. The rooms are nice sized and super clean. They also have a 1 bedroom suite and a mini suite with a king bed and a pull out bed, microwave and frig. Free Wi-Fi, parking, coffee and pastries in the lobby. Similar walking distance to beach, Hotel Del Coronado and the wedding/reception as El Cordova. This hotel is right down the street from El Cordova.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laavenida, General Manager at La Avenida Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We appreciate your fantastic review and wonderful comments! We sincerely wish to thank you for choosing our lovely Inn to have your family and friends stay with us during the special event for your family.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Avenida Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Avenida Inn

Also Known As:
La Avenida Hotel Coronado
La Avenida Motel
La Avenida Hotel
Address: 1315 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#8 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Avenida Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality awaits you at La Avenida Inn! Located within steps of the historic Hotel del Coronado and "America's Best Beach 2012." The La Avenida Inn offers an exceptional value in a world-class location. Nestled in the heart of Coronado Island's three and four star hotels, La Avenida Inn's prime village location is within steps of fine dining, fashionable shops, golf, tennis, two marinas, numerous recreational choices, and just a short drive from downtown San Diego and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Avenida Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Avenida Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.