We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
Glorietta Bay Inn
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Outstanding Employee!
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Black Canyon City, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Last year we stayed at the Del, no rooms available this year so we stayed here. It's right across the street from Del and offers probably 85% of what it does. Great beach atmosphere, location, service staff, breakfast included. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    171
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
174
268
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, WI
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been to Coronado quite often, but never have stayed here. From now on we will always stay here!
From the moment that we arrived early on a Friday morning, we were treated extremely well (A special shout out to Georgia at the Front Desk!) Somehow our room (in the Mansion) was ready for us after our red eye flight from Hawaii. This let us know that this place was going to be focused on us...the guests of the hotel.
The rooms are smaller than modern hotels, but therein lies the beauty of the place. Comfortable beds, turn down service (with cookies!), and a well appointed continental breakfast with outdoor seating all lead me to state that this is a great place!
The customer service even extended to allowing us a later check out when our flight plans changed without batting an eyelash!
Thanks again!

Room Tip: Sunset room #104 Talk to Georgia at the Front Desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Your comments about your stay at Glorietta Bay Inn made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable. We're glad you enjoyed the Mansion room, turn down service, and Georgia's friendly welcome to the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you this way. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel gave me a bit of an island paradise feel which no other hotel in San Diego has provided (I have stayed in many hotels in San Diego). It is a truly beautiful setting and the breakfast is outstanding, mostly cold items though but very tasteful and good quality (i saw the exact same items at whole foods). With that said, i found the hotel very uncomfortable. During breakfast, they were vacuming the lobby and had to walk over cords, they should wait till later after the guests have left for the day... yes the hotel is very very clean but at what cost. It is located off a very busy street, which at times sounds and looks like a highway. You need to cross the very busy street to get to the beach, which makes for a long and difficult trek. All room views are of parking. You are very close to other guests, which made it impossible to enjoy the patio because a lady was on her patio arguing on her cell phone loudly through the evening and there was several people going in and out of the room yelling and the front desk just closed their lobby door instead of controlling their guests as My room was right by the lobby. The next night was wonderful after the guest checked out, and all the other guests were lovely, but it is taking a chance if there are unruly guests. The standard room i had is very small and i cant believe there are smaller rooms. The front desk staff was not friendly, they acted very stuffy. The lobby is located in the original mansion as is the kitchen where breakfast is, which is beautiful but most of the rooms are located in an crammed addition which is not as beautiful and crammed so i felt like i was paying for something i wasnt utilizing. The room was extremely noisey at night, you could hear furnace noises all night and at breakfast another guest said she was up all night because of the noises. We couldnt find parking in their lotas they are short in spaces but as we entered the parking lot after wakling to it we saw employees of the hotel parked in the lot. if you care mostly about the island paradise look this hotel is for you...if you are looking for comfort go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Grace,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re glad to hear you loved the island paradise feel of our hotel. We’re sorry you were overall unhappy with your hotel experience.

We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct noise and accommodation issues in the future. Also, guest services is our top priority and we apologize you did not receive our high quality service during the visit. We will work with our team members and bring this to their attention.

I would love to look into the issue in more detail, could you email me directly with more details so we can address the team members? I can be reached at kelsey@gloriettabayinn.com. We appreciate you being open to staying with us again, and look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you our way again. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We were originally booked at the Lowes but after we arrived and saw how far away it was from downtown, we decided to call Glorietta Bay Inn and we were lucky enough to get a great deal in one of the contemporary suites. We were in room 445 and although there was not a view of anything, the room was great! It is on the second floor so you have to walk up steps but there is a full kitchen, living room with a desk, table and chairs and a flat screen TV. The bedroom also has a flat screen TV. The location of the hotel is great - directly across from Hotel Del. We were able to walk to restaurants and shops. The hotel staff were very attentive and the breakfast had a good selection. The afternoon lemonade was so good! The pool area is small but it's a short walk to the beach and the hotel provides anything you need to go to the beach. My overall feeling of Coronado is that it is kind of boring. The restaurants are pretty overpriced. The beach is beautiful and the town is nice but I felt like 3 nights was a little long. We probably won't be staying in Coronado again, however if we did we would stay at this hotel. We really enjoyed La Jolla and downtown San Diego and will split our stay between there and maybe take a day trip to Coronado next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The customer service at this hotel is second to none! We were celebrating 35 years of marriage. Kelsey made sure it was perfect. She had a complimentary bottle of wine in our room upon arrival. She gave us a room with a view of the bay and offered to take our bags to our room. Check in time is 3:00 PM but we arrived early at 9:15 AM and our room was ready in 15 minutes! They told us to go have their complimentary breakfast while we waited even though we did not stay with them the night before. They were constantly giving us suggestions of things to do and providing maps. Every place they suggested to eat was fabulous. The beach is about 2 blocks away and the front desk provided beach chairs for our free use ($18 rental fee at the beach). Great location! I can't say enough good about Kelsey! She was great! We will be back!

Room Tip: Just call the hotel direct. The mansion has luxury rooms or you can get a room with a view of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I teetered between an Average to Very Good rating for this hotel. The location is excellent but the accommodations are dated. This is definitely not a chain hotel. You are near the water, across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado, and are walking distance to shops and restaurants. This is a prime location and décor is fine or dated, depending on your tastes and expectations.

This hotel has built up over the years around the central house, which is the lobby today. To me, the additions created the look of a 1970s-built apartment building I lived in during my 20s. The carpeting in the hotel room also reminded me of my apartment days including the carpet pile being too high, or the door being too long, causing the door to rub/drag along the carpet when being opened or closed. Also, if I remember correctly, there was artificial turf lining some of the walkways to the rooms adding even more to the apartment complex feel.

The breakfast in the mornings was terrific and there were touches of going above and beyond your standard continental breakfast. The outdoor seating area affords a view of the bay while eating, and this is definitely a treat!

Also, raves to customer service personnel for pleasant, patient and helpful demeanor.

Pros:
-Great location
-Terrific customer service personnel
-Pool (although small)
-Substantial continental breakfast offerings

Cons:
-Can see where parking could become a challenge
-Dated décor and architecture
-Hollow (and very SQUEAKY) bathroom door (the day we checked out, I left a polite note suggesting the hinges and pins on the door be greased)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel during your stay in Coronado. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, as well as our friendly guest services. We also wanted to thank you for your feedback of your hotel room experience. We wanted to let you know that we repaired the hinges on the door immediately after you checked out. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the furniture and decor, and have shared your comments with our Operations Team. We are in the planning stages of updating our furniture and will keep your comments in mind. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements. Please feel free to contact me directly to set up your reservations at kelsey@gloriettabayinn.com. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Every time we stay at the Glorietta Bay we come away feeling like we have just visited family who loves us. They have the best customer service in California! The Manager's presence is visible everywhere. You can tell she trains her staff well, gets to know her guests personally, and keeps an eye on every detail. Hope she is there for a long time to come so this property will never change!!

Room Tip: The mansion rooms are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.