We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We were originally booked at the Lowes but after we arrived and saw how far away it was from downtown, we decided to call Glorietta Bay Inn and we were lucky enough to get a great deal in one of the contemporary suites. We were in room 445 and although there was not a view of anything, the room was great! It is on the second floor so you have to walk up steps but there is a full kitchen, living room with a desk, table and chairs and a flat screen TV. The bedroom also has a flat screen TV. The location of the hotel is great - directly across from Hotel Del. We were able to walk to restaurants and shops. The hotel staff were very attentive and the breakfast had a good selection. The afternoon lemonade was so good! The pool area is small but it's a short walk to the beach and the hotel provides anything you need to go to the beach. My overall feeling of Coronado is that it is kind of boring. The restaurants are pretty overpriced. The beach is beautiful and the town is nice but I felt like 3 nights was a little long. We probably won't be staying in Coronado again, however if we did we would stay at this hotel. We really enjoyed La Jolla and downtown San Diego and will split our stay between there and maybe take a day trip to Coronado next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    158
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
161
246
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The customer service at this hotel is second to none! We were celebrating 35 years of marriage. Kelsey made sure it was perfect. She had a complimentary bottle of wine in our room upon arrival. She gave us a room with a view of the bay and offered to take our bags to our room. Check in time is 3:00 PM but we arrived early at 9:15 AM and our room was ready in 15 minutes! They told us to go have their complimentary breakfast while we waited even though we did not stay with them the night before. They were constantly giving us suggestions of things to do and providing maps. Every place they suggested to eat was fabulous. The beach is about 2 blocks away and the front desk provided beach chairs for our free use ($18 rental fee at the beach). Great location! I can't say enough good about Kelsey! She was great! We will be back!

Room Tip: Just call the hotel direct. The mansion has luxury rooms or you can get a room with a view of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I teetered between an Average to Very Good rating for this hotel. The location is excellent but the accommodations are dated. This is definitely not a chain hotel. You are near the water, across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado, and are walking distance to shops and restaurants. This is a prime location and décor is fine or dated, depending on your tastes and expectations.

This hotel has built up over the years around the central house, which is the lobby today. To me, the additions created the look of a 1970s-built apartment building I lived in during my 20s. The carpeting in the hotel room also reminded me of my apartment days including the carpet pile being too high, or the door being too long, causing the door to rub/drag along the carpet when being opened or closed. Also, if I remember correctly, there was artificial turf lining some of the walkways to the rooms adding even more to the apartment complex feel.

The breakfast in the mornings was terrific and there were touches of going above and beyond your standard continental breakfast. The outdoor seating area affords a view of the bay while eating, and this is definitely a treat!

Also, raves to customer service personnel for pleasant, patient and helpful demeanor.

Pros:
-Great location
-Terrific customer service personnel
-Pool (although small)
-Substantial continental breakfast offerings

Cons:
-Can see where parking could become a challenge
-Dated décor and architecture
-Hollow (and very SQUEAKY) bathroom door (the day we checked out, I left a polite note suggesting the hinges and pins on the door be greased)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel during your stay in Coronado. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, as well as our friendly guest services. We also wanted to thank you for your feedback of your hotel room experience. We wanted to let you know that we repaired the hinges on the door immediately after you checked out. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the furniture and decor, and have shared your comments with our Operations Team. We are in the planning stages of updating our furniture and will keep your comments in mind. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements. Please feel free to contact me directly to set up your reservations at kelsey@gloriettabayinn.com. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Every time we stay at the Glorietta Bay we come away feeling like we have just visited family who loves us. They have the best customer service in California! The Manager's presence is visible everywhere. You can tell she trains her staff well, gets to know her guests personally, and keeps an eye on every detail. Hope she is there for a long time to come so this property will never change!!

Room Tip: The mansion rooms are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful view, room and service. Breakfast brought to our room so we could eat out on our patio. Cookies and milk brought to our room at bedtime:). Within walking distance to numerous restaurants, bike rental and the beach. Chairs, umbrellas and beach towels provided free. Loved our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing your stay. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the mansion. The breakfast in bed and warm milk and cookies at bedtime is a special treat. We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is clean, has lots of history and is close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The staff is super friendly and so helpful. The hotel even has beach chairs, pales and shovels for the kids that you can use at the beach. Wonderful stay and we will be back....

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor next to the parking lot for convenience. It had a little patio area and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We decided to stay at GBI primarily because of it's location in the Coronado Village, it's proximity to the Beach and Hotel Del Coronado. It's a beautiful mansion-turned hotel with a number of on-site amenities. Where else in the world do they still offer FREE breakfast? I travel quite a bit and I know that's a rarity. None-the-less, GBI has a well-stocked breakfast buffet every morning that includes bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs and pancakes (on weekends). Unlimited coffee, tea and juices. At 3pm they serve more juice and cookies - again, it's FREE. There's a beautiful patio to enjoy eating outdoors and Coronado is basically bug-free. Or... you can eat inside in the Library. On site pool and hot tub are open from 8am-10pm. This is our new favorite place to stay in Coronado. The staff is super-accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. It seemed like Georgia was a favorite of many guests. The grounds are immaculately kept, colorful and picturesque. Like a semi-private garden. They have on-site laundry machines so we arrived home with no dirty clothes to wash (a real blessing). Take a look at all of the vintage pictures around the GBI - truly classic Coronado. We stayed on the island all week and visited just about every shop and restaurant in town - all excellent. Go to the Del at sunset and enjoy a cocktail and live music. The view is spectacular and the people-watching can't be beat. Glorietta Bay Inn was more than we expected - well worth the money and a bargain compared to similar lodging near-by.

Room Tip: The mansion rooms are well worth the splurge, but if you're on a budget (like we are) choose a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.